Customer Reviews for

Smallville - The Complete First Season

Average Rating 5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this show!

    Smallville season 1 is the best out of the whole series.It has a great cast,action,and cool story lines.I love to take my time on watching a show and this was worth the time I watched it.If you love the superman story and love the movies then this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LEX LUTHER--MAJOR HOTTIE

    I ABOUSLATLY LOVE LEX! HE IS REALLY HOTT!!!! ITS REALLY SAD HOW HELEN TRYS TO KILL HIM IN THE THIRD SEASON. I THINK HE IS THE BEST CHARECTER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clarks Sister Clare

    there should be an episode where clark is doing his chores and a kid falls from the sky in a ship similar to clarks and i want to be the kid that comes out of the ship even though im asian. then the ship lands on the kents farm and i come out of the ship and i fall on the ground and clark comes up and picks me up in his arms then puts me on the couch and calls his mom and dad. then Martha says oh my goodness. Who is she? Then Clark says " she came out of a ship similars to mines". "And its outside of the farm". Then Jonathan say to me,"Hi. My name is Jonathan Kent and this is my wife Martha Kent and this is my son.." then right when he was about to say clarks name i say "I knoe who he is...because im from Krypton" Then Clark becomes shocked. And i tell clark that i have the same weakness and powers he does because he's my brother and again even though im asian. and Clark asks me "So whats your name?" And i say "Clare." As you can see my name is like Clarks not in reality but in the show. Then Clark starts to say to Martha and Jonathan"Mom. Dad.Where is she going to stay?" and Martha Says to both clark and jonathan."You can stay with us Clare"And then Clark become happy and starts to smile."And clarks says "mom dad can i speak with you for a moment?" Then they both say "Sure". Then Clark say" Can we adopt her please." Then Martha looks at Jonathan. and Jonathan says "Martha what do you think?" And she says "YES". and then Clark looks at Jonathan and Jonathan says "Why not". And they told me that they are going to adopt me and i start to smile. Then Clark tells Martha and Jonathan that he is goin to the Talon to go and see Lana. and I say "Can I come with you Clark?" And Clark says sure. Then Clark and I drove to the Talon. And Lana says " Hi Clark". and Clark says "hey Lana". Then Clark says "there's someone I want you to meet". "This is my sister Clare". and Lana becomes shocked and looks at me shocked and begins to say "Hi. My name is Lana Lang." and I say "Hi. my name is Clare Kent." Then Lana says" Its nice to meet you Clare" then we shake hands. And Clarks ask lana "Can you bring me a cup of your new shake." and I say "Can you bring me the same as clarks too please." and Lana says "Sure.Of course." and as i look at clark stare at Lana and I ask him " Clark do you like her." And clark says "Yes" "But when i was with her it didnt go well so yeah.." And Lana comes with a cup of shake on one hand and another cup of shake in the other. and Clark say to Lana "Have you seen Chloe"? and Chloe walks into the Talon and says "Hi Clark. Hey Lana." and she ask Clark "who's she?" and Clark says "this's my sister Clare." And Chloe says "Hi. my name is chloe sullivan." and I say "Hi. My name is Clare Kent." but right when clark and I drank our shakes we fall on the ground then lana and chloe say oh my god clark,clare are you guys ok. then clark and i found out that the shake had some meteor rocks in it and as we struggle in pain clark says "sorrie you guys, but Clare and I have to get back to the barn to do some chores. and then Lana and Chloe says but you guys are hurt and i think that you guys should rest and as the meteor rocks goes through clarks and i bodys we ripp out our shirts and there was the kryptonian sign on clarks chest and a kryptonian sign on my stomach. and as lana and chloe sees the sign they looked shocked, then clark said clare lets go. so clark and i got up in pain and left without saying good bye to lana or chloe. But right when Clark and I are getting up to leave, two guys wearing a ski mask comes in the Talon with a bag in one of the robbers hand along with a gun a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST SHOW EVER!!!!!!!!

    this is my favorite show ever!!!!!! i can't stand it when i miss it!!!! i love the way superman is played by a person like everyone else!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SMALLVILLE IS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am a big superman fan. I have watched the movies, Lois and Clark and now SMALLVILLE!! It is a great show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LEX IS AWESOME!

    HE'S SO VERY SEXY AND HE'S THE ONLY ONE THAT CAN PULL OF THE BALD HEAD AND HIS SO COOL MANLY PERSONALITY. DON'T CHANGE A THING BUT JUST ONE-MAKE MORE PARTS FOR HIM. LOVE THAT HE IS SO MANLY AND SO SEXY AND WHAT ADDS MORE TO THAT IS HIS PERSONALITY ON THE SHOW OF KNOWING HOW TO GET BACK AS HIS FATHER IN A SNEAKING BUSSINESS WAYS AND THAT HE IS ALWAYS HELPING HIS TRUE FRIENDS. HE'S PERFECT. dON'T CHANGE HIM PLEASE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Addictive

    Smallville brings a side of Superman revealed as a young man, going through the average teenage dramas, but with the weight of many people's lives on his shoulders. Each episode is connected in a way to each other, but with a new chilling plot. A definite keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you have to see it

    It is great to finally have the complete first season in your own house without commercials!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome 1st Season

    If the 2nd season comes out as nice as this one we will be in for a real treat. From the minute I put it in my player and heard Remy Zero singing 'Save Me' right to the closing credits of the season finale I was glued to this incredible first season. Clark, Lex, Lana, Chloe, Lionel, Pete, Jonathan and Martha.....could it get any better? The WB hit a grand slam with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It´s a new look for Superman

    In my opinion this Tv series is fantastic and really exciting, offer us a new look to see the hero as a teenager that fight to understand and discover who he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it

    i love smallville...ive never missed a episode for both seasons its been on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Like the Bible's lost years

    What happened to Jesus between the age of 12 and 30? Well, Smallville is WONDERFUL it its attempt to unveil the Clark Kent mystery that's similar to the mystery of Jesus' youth and young adult years. I watched Superman and wondered what happened during all his growing years. I wonder no more and only wait in anticipation and excitement as Smallville reveals itself like hidden treasure. A must buy !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love smallville

    great show..... a must buy on my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have for the Smallville Fan

    Having never been a Superman fan, I wasn't expecting much when I first watched ''Smallville'' on the WB. My mind was quickly changed. This is by far the most fun-to-watch show I've ever seen. Clark coping with his newly-found powers, not to mention the unattainable girl of his dreams. Lex's epic struggle with his father, which we can all relate to on some level. On a scale of 1-10, I give the Smallville: Season One DVD an 11! Buy it now...seriously, stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Super!

    Ah, Smallville...how do I love thee? Let me count the ways... Smallville is a superb update origin story of Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster's iconic Superman comic book superhero, and with great writing, acting, and special effects, manages to be better than any incarnation of the Man of Steel that came before it (even the comic). I do love Smallville, yes, but this first season did have a problem: Formulaic episodes. Most of the episodes consisted of ''Hey, those meteor rocks turned this guy into a monster, let's go beat him up!'', and it took me a while to actually like the show. But when I did...I loved it, and eventually became fanatical about it. Season 2 is even better! I can't wait for it to come out! (By the way, as I write this, it's about 35 minutes until the premiere of season 3!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SMALLVILLE ROCKS!!!

    I STARTED WATCHING SMALLVILLE NEAR THE END OF SEASON ONE. AT FIRST WHEN WHEN IT PREMIRED IN OCTOBER OF 2001, I DIDN'T THINK IT WAS GOING TO LAST AND OF COURSE I WAS WRONG. I THINK SEASON ONE WAS GREAT, I CAN'T WAIT FOR SEASON TWO TO COME OUT. THERE ARE LOT OF PEOPLE THAT I KNOW THAT LOVE SMALLVILLE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST

    As good as it gets!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular TV Incarnation!

    This is one of the most well-constructed super-hero shows I've ever seen. Tom Welling portrays Clark Kent just as good as Christopher Reeve did in ''Superman: The Movie.'' Every episode is well-thought out with each villian being effected by Kryptonite meteor rocks. Lex Luthor's portrayal by Michael Rosenbaum is brilliant. His relationship with his father, Lionel Luthor, is a great mix to the show. Clark's foster parents Jonathan and Martha Kent are written perfectly. Basically, this is a must-see for any fan of Superman in general. Also, I really dig the original Superman score whenever Superman-like happens in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Probably the Best Show on Television in YEARS!

    As a longtime comic reader and fan of the DC archives, I can truly say this is one of, if not THE, best adaptation of Superman as a teen. One of the best titles I had ever read and enjoyed in my youth was ''The New Adventures of Superboy.'' This show has not only captured the essence of that title, but put some new spin into it. Seeing Clark (Tom Welling) learn about his powers and developing the sense to control them while dealing with all the issues of being a teenager are more than enough to drag me in front of the television week after week. It's the first show in years that has kept me as enthused! You can't go wrong with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best show since buffy (seasons 1-5 anyway)

    This series is extremely great Granted the second season is much better, this season should stil not be missed. Now the only show that needs to be on DVD is everwood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2