Customer Reviews for

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best.

    An amazing animated film - Disney at their best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love It!

    I have always loved it. It was my first Disney cartoon. The dwarf characters are funny & sweet. Snow white is a true fairy tale heroine. The witch is menacing but gets her come-uppance in the end, which is how all villians should end. And they all live happily ever after...which is the way of all true fairy tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My first movie

    I bought this for two grandchildren. It was the first movie that I ever saw. The teacher of the one room school I was attending took all of us to see this movie when it was being shown in the town near my grandparents farm. That was probably sometime in 1939.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My "Princess" Granddaughter adores this movie.

    My little princess is 6 and in love with the Disney princesses. It was wonderful to watch it with her, especially since I also loved this movie growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming and enchanting story for children

    Originally, I saw this movie at a drive-in theater with my parents and little sisters. We loved the story...all of us. I grew up with the songs "Whistle Will You Work" and "Hi Ho, Hi Ho" dancing in my head. I can remember singing them to my children. They loved it when I read the story to them. Later, they played a 45 rpm story record and followed along in a picture book. Now when my grandchildren visit, they beg me to play the DVD verson as soon as they shed their coats and boots. There are many applications that can be made about dealing with fear; being kind; changing your attitude; hard work can be satisfying; etc, etc. I appreciate that it looks and sounds just like it did when I saw it the first time. It doesn't need to be updated for children to fall in love with the story. They love it just the way it is. I recommend this DVD enthusiastically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very cute!

    This movie is one of my all time favorite Disney movies. If you collect Disney movies this is a must buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great buy!!

    My wife is very much into disney movies so this was an incredible BDay present. Great movie for the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautifully made movie

    I would recommend this to all ages and up. Personally, I watch it because I like the colors and the animation of it. I like the drawings of the characters, just nicely done for it's time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Always a pleasure to watch!

    This is a beautiful movie well suited to HD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Favorite Classic of Disney

    Love the music and all of the dwarfs and their relationship to Snow White.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A great classic, new and improved!

    This movie is one of my favorite movies, but when our family received this DVD as a gift, I was somewhat skeptical that it would live up to the "new and improved" hype. Fortunately, it does...and then some. The color and clarity of the picture and crispness of the sound is really a big change. If you are on the fence about buying this, it IS worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet movie

    I liked that this movie is sweet and is not overstimulating like all the other animated films out there now a days. I think if more movies were made like this, the world would be a better place. It is a movie that teaches that it is okay to be kind and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    This is a remarkable remake of the original movie. It brings back all the memories of watching it as a child. Everyone should own this classic movie. It is a wonderful addition to all DVD collections

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Snow White Diamond Edition is a real gem!

    This DVD combo pack was amazing! The regular DVD was great but the Blu-Ray DVD was remarkable! The picture quality and sound on both DVDs were unreal. We all really enjoyed the added extras that were included, too. This was one of my favorite Disney movies growing up so it was nice to be able to share this updated version with my kids. We really enjoyed our viewing experience and are VERY grateful to have added this combo pack to our collection. Definitely a timeless classic for people of all ages!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, great value

    I remember watching "Snow White" as a child and I was so excited that it was now on Blu-Ray and DVD so I could share it with my children. The movie was GREAT!! My younger children(ages 6 and 3) loved it and watched it over and over again. I would definitely recommend this movie. It's a great family night movie :) This movie was just as great as I remember it being when I was a child. I was so happy to be able to share it with my children. They loved the dwarfs, the music, the animals, and of course Snow White. Disney has managed to exceed my expectations again with the remastered version on Blu-Ray and DVD and it is a true value since you get 2 different formats for the cost of 1.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless Animation

    The one problem I have with this recent reissue is the fact that you can't just get the DVD set of Snow White but one must purchase the Diamond Edition that contains the Blu-Ray copy as well. You have to wait til Nov. 24th to be able to buy just the DVD copies. It forces consumers who lack a Blu-Ray player to have to buy a Blu-Ray edition.

    There is much to say about story Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs so I will mostly comment on this recent re-issue on DVD and Blu-Ray and its technical aspects

    The transfer quality is quite superior to other animations I've seen. Coloration has been perfected and will look great to viewers with HD quality televisions. On the other hand HD shows the small and slight imperfections that have occured in the film throughout the years but to me that adds a sense of character to the long history of the film.

    Like many old films and animations a rather flat sound coming from character voices is evident but Disney has seemed to make it sound more round and robust. The sound is brilliant especially in the mid ranges. Highs and Lows are normal to me (but perhaps a true audiofile can make a better assessment).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Still A Good Movie After More Than 70 Years!

    This has always been a good movie. I still love it.Everyone should buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Snow White Diamond Edition

    A few days ago I received an advance copy of Disney's Snow White Diamond Edition Combo Pack to review. Not only does it include a dvd of the original Disney masterpiece, but also a new Blue-ray version loaded with incredible features. Since my 18-month-old daughter has a sudden obsession with princesses, I couldn't wait to watch it with her. Before I could even get the package open she was screaming for princesses. While we haven't had time to explore all of the amazing extra features yet, watching the movie was just as magical as when I watched it as a kid. Plus, the picture quality is amazing considering the original is over 70 years old. I'm going to be singing "Heigh-Ho" in my head all week long! I loved getting to share a little part of my childhood with my kids and can't wait for more classic Disney releases to come out of the vault!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    an all time classic

    I have loved Snow White since I was a little girl and have been looking forward to sharing this movie with my soon to be 3year old daughter. What a perfect time for this edition to come out. It is so great, the colors and details are so clear and rich, while maintaining the integrity of this classic film. I can't say enough good things about it and consider myself very lucky to have been chosen to receive a sneek peek for this movie. This is a perfect movie for the young and the young at heart. Go ahead and buy it, you won't regret. It is well worth the money, just the movie alone, but all the extras make it even better. I heartily give it two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great updates to a classic Disney movie!

    I remember watching the movie as a kid. Now I watched it on Blu-Ray with my children. We all enjoyed it. The movie was great - picture quality, sound, color, animation....More impressive was the huge array of extras put out with this movie. Games you can play, upload a pic of your child to play as one of the dwarfs in the movie, a music video, karaoke sing along and more. It is great that it is a combo pack, one copy for home and one for the car. I have always been a fan of Disney and this is by far no disappointment. we loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3