Customer Reviews for

Something the Lord Made

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Beautifully told and inspirational movie.  Everyone should see t

    Beautifully told and inspirational movie.  Everyone should see this important film.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    This was the most interesting, superbly written and best movie I

    This was the most interesting, superbly written and best movie I have seen in years. Mos Def was wonderful as Dr. Vivian Thomas and Alan Rickman was brilliant as well. I would recommend this to everyone to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rickman!

    The story of the development of the revolutionary heart surgery that saved the "Blue Babies". Alan Rickman shows yet another aspect of his acting talent as the surgeon who pioneered the medical breakthrough and Mos Def is brilliant as the assistant who perfected the procedure. Two strong men of different races endure in a post-WWII society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a definite 5 star

    While this movie ísn't the light-hearted comedy...it is a truly inspirational movie that left me speechless. It is a movie one would want to watch again and again and is truly a beautiful story. While the story is about a great medical discovery the ruby lies within the relationship between a black man and a white man. It tells the tale of how black people were treated than and is truly inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well, What Can I Say?

    The previous reviews before mine are not understated. Don't delay. See it! And if you come away as I did, you will just love it and add it to your favorite list of the most pleasurable, educational, and inspirational films you have seen. Truly, an unforgettable film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See for America

    This should be required viewing for all of America. This movie provides a clear example of how the talent of those considered "less than" has been squandered and continues because of non-sensical racism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a wonderful movie

    This movie was of special interest to me as I have a congenital heart defect. I did not know the history of congenital heart repair and it was wonderful to watch how they, Dr. Blaylock and Mr. Thomas, put their heads together to figure out how to do the repair. And thank God they did for they saved many babies lives. The story was just so amazing, but it was sad to see how Mr. Thomas was treated during that time. I highly recommend this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Beautiful

    I thought this was an amazing story. It brought something intensly personal to me because I actually had open-heart surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital when I was a year old. I never realized how relatively new this procedure that saved my life was, and the sacrifices it took.I would definitely reccomend this movie to anyone looking for an important and moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Well Done! Bravo!

    I have worked for Johns Hopkins University for 17 years and saw the filming of the movie on the Homewood Campus. It was very intriguing to see the way the campus was 'dressed' up to look like the 50s and 60s, so different from today. Seeing all the Baltimore sites in the film, is deja vu for me when you see all the filming that is done in Baltimore, MD. I am familiar with Dr. Blalock but did not know he had an 'assistant' who worked for him. The movie was very well done and very interesting as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Story!!!

    I must say that Mos Def did an excellent job with this part. It really surprised me because I had not seen him play any serious parts. Eventhough this was based on a true story, he made it very believable. I recommend that everyone see this movie, especially if you are a Mos Def fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE!

    Mos Def just keeps getting better. A brilliant artist on the mic and silver screen...a rare find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1