Customer Reviews for

Somewhere in Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is one of my top three favourite movies

    I only had to watch this once to become drawn in by its superb plot and stunning filming. Christopher Reeve is wonderful in the role of Richard Collier. On the eve of the premiere of one of his plays, an old lady approaches him, puts a gold watch in his hand, and says ''Come back to me''. He can't recall ever having seen her before. Eight years later, he stops in at the Grand Hotel for a little break, and sees a picture on the wall of Elise McKenna, a brilliant actress who suddenly left the stage in 1912. With the help of Arthur who has been at the hotel since he was a five year old boy in 1912 and the local library, Collier manages to find out more about the beautiful actress. He becomes obsessed with her and determines to go back in time through the removal of all things modern about his room. He acquires a proper haircut and suit for the time to which he is returning, even stocks himself with 1912 coins. Then through the hypnosis recommended by his physics teacher at college, he wakes up on June 27th, 1912. He finds McKenna, but he also has to deal with her peculiarly possessive manager, William Fawcett Robinson. Despite all odds, Collier and McKenna manage to fall in love, and after the company leaves, she runs away from it to come back to him. The next morning, while he displays to her all the lovely little pockets in his suit, he finds a 1979 penny there and he is pulled away from his love by the forces of Time. The movie has a truly sad but very sweet and sentimental ending that always makes me either cry or nearly so. I absolutely adore this movie and would recommend it to nearly anybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! Every time I watch this movie I cry, it's

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! Every time I watch this movie I cry, it's soooo good. Jane Seymour is so beautiful and is definitely the person to pllay a woman in that era. I especially enjoyed Christopher Reeve and actually forgot he played Superman.The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and on my list of places to go before I die and the music, well what can I say? So haunting yet beautiful. I wish we had more movies like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    This story is haunting though I realize it is fantasy. I so lov

    This story is haunting though I realize it is fantasy. I so loved the movie and the sound track that I have a CD I very often play
    in my car and have locked up 2 copies in my strongbox. I've asked my children to hook me up with this soundtrack
    as I am dying. I want the last sounds I hear when I die to be this amazing music. It touches my soul as no other music
    has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Recommended~~!

    This is a classic love story. The scenery is fantastic. I bought the DVD after a few friends went to the Hotel in Michigan where this movie was filmed; they try to keep it just the way it was in this movie!! AMAZING! The music is captivating. I especially enjoyed the options at the end of the DVD... I watched "Back to Somewhere in Time" and heard first hand from the main actors their recollections of the movie and how it was made. Definitely a GREAT rainy Saturday night favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Story line reminds me . . . .

    Though I haven't yet seen this movie, the synopsis sounds quite reminiscent of "Portrait of Jennie" the best-known of Robert Nathan's books. A recurrent theme of Nathan is love being eternal and crossing all sorts of time barriers. "Jennie" isn't the only book of this genre that Nathan wrote. A movie was made from "Jennie" also. Book and movie each end differently, but both are GOOD. Good option if you like this type of story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Somewhere In Time - DVD

    Great acting, location was beautiful, the possibility of time travel is an interesting concept.

    The location meant more as I have visited the area previously

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remember next Valentines Day

    Best V-Day gift in 20 years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Some Where in Time was an Excellant Movie

    This movie, made you use your ability to think back in time, you transported yourself along with the characters, trying to figure out what the out come would be, only to find an ending, you wish you could have changed. Excellant performances by all, made it believeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite of all times, timeless.

    Saw it on TV first, then bought it in VHS, now have to have it in DVD. Many reviews didn't say much good about this one but I think it is modern thinking and a good movie to fantasize about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forever

    I saw this movie so many years ago and it has stayed within my heart and soul ever since. It is a movie of true love and hope. The soundtrack is haunting and exquisite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I'll admit I like romance movies....

    and this one certainly fills the bill. Although Christopher Reeves could do a bit better, Jane Seymour and Christopher Plummer are excellent. This is one of those movies that makes you realise that perhaps time is just a circle, and if it is, could we keep going backwards, but never forwards?

    If you like a good tear jerker, this is it. I bought it to replace my video tape, which is worn out. Great sound track also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A romantic tale that moves at a sedate pace

    This may be a film that a lot of viewers will not be able to sit through if they expect movies to equal non-stop action and deliberate emotional stimulation throughout. A lot of the story is intellectual and concerns one question: what does success matter if one does not have love? The twist for this story is that the lovers are separated by a couple of generations and Richard Collier (hero) has to figure out how to get back in time to be with his ladylove, played by Jane Seymour. The script was nicely written and the story follows a somewhat predictable line from first meeting to the hero's tragic death due to a broken heart. Sets and costumes are well-done. A stylish piece, probably most appealing to women. Just as an aside there is quite a large fan base for this film; some fo the groups hold large events and there are web sites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhere in Time

    What a wonderful movie! I love the plot it is somewhat 80ish, but the romance was wonderful! Worth watching over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite movie of all time...and beyond

    please just do yourself a favor and watch it.You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies Ever

    This movie is very powerful. I cry every time I see it. It will make you believe that love really isn't confinded to the here and now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE MOST ROMANTIC MOVIE IN TIME TRAVEL!

    I have always been a huge fan of time travel books and movies, but add a beautiful romance and a perfect cast to the mix, and you have superb cinema. I have watched this movie countless times and the when I hear the music, I always think of Richard and Elise. The breathtaking hotel and its location, the costumes and gorgeous lead actors - everything is perfect for a truly great love story. It is the same caliber as Gone With the Wind, which is a favorite love story of many. Although the end seems somewhat sad, it is really happy -two lovers who finally reunite for all time - what could be more romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie Greatness

    This is my all time favorite movie. I saw it in the theater (actually because the other show was full) and fell in love with it. I have read the book, Bid Time Return, and own it and the book, Somewhere In Time. I have the VHS and the DVD and the soundtrack. My five children could all can recognize the music for years. A wonderful romance and just a nice movie to get away from the everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DON'T MISS THIS!!

    I saw this movie in the theatre when it first came out, and it has been one of my favorite films ever since. Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour are wonderful together. The film gets it all just right...the romance, the time travel, the locations, the supporting characters, everything. If you enjoy a great romance between beautiful people, with a little fantasy thrown in, you don't want to miss this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most Romantic Movie of ALL time!

    I rate this movie right up there with Gone With the Wind for breathtaking romance. Seymour has never been lovelier and Chris is a knockout as her Beau. I cry EACH time I see it! I have known the kind of Love Chris has for Jane and it is OUT of this World!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Somewhere In time: Macknaw island magic

    This is my wife's and mine favorite place and favorite movie of all time. We have been many places with my employment with a major airline but Mackinaw Island because of this movie is our favorite place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3