BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sons of Anarchy - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sons of Anarchy Fans - What a Deal!

    I was delighted to find the Sons of Anarchy Season One DVD's here at B&N since my adult son is a huge fan. He received it for his birthday and I got to free up some time on my DVR!

    If you've not seen the show, you may want to check into it before making your purchase -- it's certainly an adult series.

    Since B&N offered the set at a discount, I got it for less money than it was in the local mass-merchandise stores in this area. I love B&N for offering products that are sometimes hard to find, at great pricing. Ease of ordering is also a bonus. Thanks B&N!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sons of Anarchy Rocks

    This show, which i had reservations about, absolutely is awesome. Not only does give well known, but names not remembered character actors to shine, but it pulls no punches and has no black and white. Everyone is grey, with some darker than others. It has black humor, sex, violence, sex, bikes, smoking, drinking, sex, and great acting. the two standouts are katie segal as a bada** biker momma (and clearly relishing the role) and charlie hunnam, who got his start on the british tv show queer as folk, then went on to some supporting roles in both memorable and unmemorable flics. ron perlman is great as always and the elvis impersonating biker darn near steals the show more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I started out just checking out the first few episodes of the fi

    I started out just checking out the first few episodes of the first season just to see what this show was about, well just 2 weeks later I have now seen all 5 seasons. This is just a well written adult drama with compelling characters and some of the most amazing plot twists. I am so looking forward to the 6th season. If you like shows like Breaking Bad and Lost this would be a great series to get involved with. I am happy to give it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Copy Quality

    Just a heads-up; the first disk on my copy of Season Two is just junk, unreadable by my DVD player, Mac, PC, or my kid's game machine. At least one of the Season One disks had some serious dropouts. The Season One problems were right while Tara is killing the Fed, so I missed that entire part of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Show!

    I don't have cable or anything, so I don't really get FX, but I had heard of this show before and was very interested in seeing it. A close friend of mine, being that this is one of his favorite shows, next to Sopranos and Weeds, bought up both season 1 and 2 of this show after they had come out...and after he had his fill of em for a little while, he passed em off to me to watch. I watched through season 1 here within about 5 days. I was hooked! The end was pretty shocking and intense too! I can't wait to start season 2, which I will be very soon. If you like good gangster/outlaw dramas, or plain just like good drama or comedrama, (cause there are funny parts too), I definitely recommend giving this show a watch! I think I will be investing in this show soon myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great gift for a guy that's into the bike scene.

    Especially if he's into watching season 2. Great cast and acting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What an amazing tv show! A must purchase!

    Truly one of my top two television programs. You must buy this. You will become such a fan of this show. Once you start watching the episodes, you cannot stop. I cannot wait to buy season two on dvd. This show is so awesome. In an age of silly reality programs; it is truly wonderful to watch great acting. Hats of to the show creator: Kurt Sutter. I assure you--even though this show is about a motorcycle club--you don't have to be a biker to be a devoted fan. The storylines, the acting, the directing, it is all outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    You don't have to be a biker to like this series

    Regardless if you are a biker or not, understand the biker culture or not, you will get drawn into SAMCRO. It has the makings of a "Robin Hood" of sorts, so yes there is mayhem and bloodshed, but the actors, all of which my wife and I consider excellent, make you overlook it and see within the story. Katy Segal is great as the mother-figure, not only to Jax(her son) but also to all the members of the club ( and remember it's not a biker gang, it's a "club" ) . Weekly there are stories within the main topic of the week which, by the end of the show, want you to not miss the next episode. I've never been much of a TV viewer, especially of a series, but this has definitely captured my attention. I have to give it 5 stars and look forward to purchasing season 2. I also hope they release a soundtrack because the background music is excellent as well, with Segal doing a few tracks ( Didn't know she could sing....what a surprise! ) . Enjoy !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS SHOW

    I LOVE THIS SHOW SOO MUCH I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THE NEW SEASON. MY HUSBAND AND I STARTED WATCHING THIS SHOW IN THE SECOND SEASON AND WE LOVE IT! WE ARE GONNA CATCH UP ON THE FIRST SEASON THIS THANKSGIVING WEEKEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Since losing the "Prison Break" series on TV....this came up and it is great...not as great as "Prison Break" but on a seperate level!!

    I have to say that a friend of mine told me about this series and I thought "what the heck"....it was on FX and had never really watched anything on that so tried.
    I was very upset when they took "Prison Break" of the air....so then I watched "Sons of Anarchy" and WOW!!!.....I started 2 shows into the second season so of course I HAD to find out what lead up to it. So here it is.....FABULOUS.
    Everyone I have told about it have become hooked. Try it...you'll like it!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sons of Anarchy

    I love this show and season one is excellent. The plot lines draw you in and the characters are all well developed and interesting. I watched all of the episodes in two days because it is so hard to stop watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sons of Anarchy Season 1

    Awesome, my husband and I love the series, so I bought Season 1 as an anniversary present and he was thrilled! He stayed up 3 nights in a row to watch all of it! We'll do the same with Season 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    .

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Whoa! What a ride.

    One of the most compelling series on TV. The first episodes sets its hooks and does not let go through to the last minute of the last show of the year, at which time you are most assuredly hooked for the second season. Each episode is action-packed, well-acted and leaves you waiting to see what the writers/directors/producers/actors will throw at you the next week. A must see for anyone tired of the same old-same old that most networks put out each year. This is the only TV program I watch every week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Son's Of Anarchy

    What more is there to say? If you like this show, you will love it, if it isn't your thing you won't understand. This is the best show they have had on TV in YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2