Customer Reviews for

Spaceballs

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Another great Mel Brooks feature.  Not as good as Young Frankens

    Another great Mel Brooks feature.  Not as good as Young Frankenstein or Blazing Saddles, but still has some great zany scenes.  Mel and Rick M are great in this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Except for lovely Daphne Zuniga to leer at, this stupid, written

    Except for lovely Daphne Zuniga to leer at, this stupid,
    written-for-5-year-olds, Star Wars rip off "satire" is stomach
    turning. Another crude inept mess from the meat grinder Mel Brooks, who
    thinks he's funny appearing in his own pathetic movies. Plain
    "Yogurt" indeed, with the flavor of an 8mm flick made by Jr.
    High Schoolers, and is past its expiration date. (I look forward to
    meeting his hit man at my door.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    You must buy this!!!

    After watching the movie Spaceballs I can honestly say that it puts the comedy in comedy. This spoof/comedy version of the original Star Wars is a masterpiece. The director of this movie is Mel Brooks, not only is he the director but he also acts in the movie. Mel Brooks is mainly known for his work in movies such as The Electric Company, The Producers, and Blazing Saddles. The movie Spaceballs was based off of the novel Spaceballs. The author of the book Spaceballs is also Mel Brooks and the book is said to be as funny if not funnier than the movie. The movie as well as the book really targets mature audiences mainly because of all the profanity used. Another reason that the book and the movie really targets mature audiences is the fact that it is a spoof film therefore it makes a lot of comical references to other movies that younger individuals may not pick up on. If you liked movies like Galaxy Quest, Men In Black, and Back to the Future then you will absolutely love this movie for it shares the same classical comedy that the rest of these movies do. For those people who love musical artist such as Van Halen or Bon Jovi this movie have musical selections from both of the talented artists. In the movie you can here the song "Good Enough" by Van Halen and the song "Raise Your hands" by Bon Jovi and many other songs from various artists. After my first time watching the movie it really made me have a different perspective on the way I view comedy. My favorite scene by far is when Lord Dark Helmet decides to send the ship into Ludicrous Speed, having no idea exactly how fast it is he ends up holding on for dear life begging for the emergency brakes to be pulled and ends up going air born headfirst into the front of the ship. By far my favorite idea used in the movie was the huge spaceship named Spaceball One. The one aspect that I really enjoyed about it was all the different speeds it had. It has a "sub-light" speed, "ridiculous speed," and "ludicrous speed." When traveling at Ludicrous Speed it is essential that all crewmembers use a seat belt for safety. Ludicrous speed leaves a trail of plaid. The main actors/actresses in the movie are Mel Brooks, John Candy, Rick Moranis, Bill Pullman, Daphne Zuniga, Dick Van Patten, and Joan Rivers, the main characters in this movie are Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga), King Roland (Dick Van Patten), Lone Star (Bill Pullman), Barf (John Candy), Lord Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis), Yogurt (Mel Brooks), and President Skroob (Mel Brooks). Customers that have previously purchased this movie they gave it 4 ½ stars and I personally give it 5 stars but it really depends on your take towards comedy movies. They say that the movie is unforgettable, funny, and the performances were stellar, I couldn't agree more. If you enjoyed this then it is definitely worth your time to invest in the movie and watch it. Personally I really wish they would have sequels to this movie mocking the rest of the Star Wars collection. Although it borrows most of its plot from the Star Wars series, Spaceballs also pokes fun at Star Trek, Snow White, and Planet of the Apes. This is definitely a laughter-filled video that will keep you coming back for more, don't miss out on a classic comedy. Just like the world's greatest monuments this movie is just something that you have to see for yourself. Purchase this movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stupidly Funny in Space

    This is one of those stupid movies Mel Brooks does based off of a movie. Stupid, but funny. This movie is Mel Brooks's take on Star Wars. It has Darth Vader, Han Solo, Chewbacca, and princess Leia. Their names are almost the same, Dark Helmet, Lone Star, Barf and Princess Vespa. The movie is funny, and weird. If you love stupid comedies, then you have to watch it. This is one of my favorite 80's comedy movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing x ten

    When i saw this movie i laughed and laughed. I wouldn't show this to little kids even tough it is a PG rated movie because of some suggestive scenes. (the scenes that are suggestive to me but it will take your own judgment to let your kids watch it. You can alos watch it before you show it to kids.)
    I like this because its got a mixture of STAR TREK and STARWARS its got both in them! Over all i like the movie and it will knock your socks off! if you like a bit of humor and all the shows or movies you will like this very much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mel Brooks!

    My favorite Mel Brooks Spoof! Just know this will be stupidly hilarious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another must have

    If you haven't seen this, crawl out from under your rock and get ready to laugh. This movie is aboslutely a must in the collection of anyone with a funny bone. It is a relentless mocking of Star Wars and Star Trek.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ROLL ON THE FLOOR HILARIOUS (ok maybe not)

    This movie is so funny... Its a hilarious spoof of Star Wars! It had one Wizard of Oz element when the group goes to see 'yogurt' but thats the only other bit from other movies that i recognized. Sure to entertain teens and adults alike!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    "Evil will always triumph, because good is dumb." -Dark Helmet- Watch this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good, Better than Robin Hood

    I generally concur with all the previous kind remarks about this, but I was appalled that the reviewer from All Movie Guide missed the word-for-word dialogue homage, in and prior to the marriage scene, from "It Happened One Night," the mid-30s Oscar-winning comedy with Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert. That made the scene for me and cracked me up totally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious!

    I'm a huge fan of Mel Brooks, and I have found most of his movies to be very funny and Spaceballs is definitely one of his funniest movies. It is a hilarious spoof of sci-fi that spoofs Star Wars, Star Trek, 2001 A Space Oddyssey, The Plane of The Apes, etc and I find it to be a great movie to watch when you are sick or just feeling a little stressed and need some hilarious humour to cheer you up! The While cast is great but I especially like Bill Pullman, John Candy, Mel Brooks Rick Moranis and Daphne Zuniga and besides that there are alot of great scenes with some of the supporting cast like there is a very funny scene with Michael Winslow from the Police Academy movies and there are lots of other funny scenes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you'll just laugh, and laugh and....

    this movie is pure comedy. whether you're obsessed with starwars or not, this movie is HILARIOUS!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hahaha...

    spaceballs is a total rip-off of star wars, but in a hilarious way! omg! this movie cracks me up from start to finish.... not to mention that ugly looking chewbaca there!!! lol. i love this movie. it's great. you'll definentally laugh!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spaceballs

    This movie is simply hilarious of the way they make fun of Star Wars. Entertaining too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is the best creation ever done that involves schwartz

    This was incredible! any that says that says other wise is a fool who doesn't know their movies. This is a star wars spoof that was extremely funny and had me laughing for days!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FFUUNNNNYY! HA HA HA

    this movie is so funny!I almost laughed at every scene especialy when the robot goes its either the forth of july or someone is trying to kill us!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spaceballs Is the Best Movie ever

    I have seen Spaceballs so many times I lost track of how many times its been. I'll put it to you this way I have seen it so many times when I watch the movie I can say every line in it. I love this movie and I would reccomend it to anybody how is a MEl Brooks fan ( Brooks=Skoorb)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Once you see this movie you will laugh for the rest of your life!!!

    I think it has a bit 2-much dirty words, but other than that it is a realy realy funny movie with a great sense-of-humor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You got to see this movie

    I like this movie. And sees this movie so many time. Every time see this movie I love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Want to watch is again and again

    This movie is absolutely awsome, full of entertainment. I hope they come out with Space Balls - 2 :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3