BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spider-Man 2

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SPIDER-MAN 2: CERTIFIED FRESH!

    Rating: 94%

    An improvement on its predecessor, Spider-Man 2 scores high with its excellent characters, plot, and visuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Popcorn, Soda, and Spider-Man 2

    My honest opinion is that this movie is twenty times better than the first. It has action, romance, and a few little twists that make your heart stop--literally. Plus, there's the famous train scene where...well, I guess you'll just have to watch the movie, huh?

    So grab a buddy, stuff your face with popcorn, drink a liter of soda, and watch Spider-Man 2.1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best of the Spiderman movies

    Until the Dark Knight brought comic book movies to a new level, Spiderman 2 was THAT MOVIE. Excellent special effects and moreover, a down-to-earth script that really showed the growth and turmoil surrounding Peter Parker and his identity in contnuing being Spiderman. Also, the inner conflicts concerning his invlovement and remorse of his Uncle Ben's death. But the most surprising was his revealing of his superhero side to his long time love Mary Jane -- that was something I definetly did not expect to have happened so early in the series. All together a great film. With a most troublesome villian that has help from eight other "smart-arms". Certainly, a must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    spiderman 2, the adventure movie for all ages

    When I fisrt saw Spiderman 1, i thought it would be boring, I've seen the trailer of the first flick and it didn't catch my attention. The computer graphics are not so ok, and besides, I already know the history of Spiderman since childhood. But I still gave the movie a chance. It was fun though, I must admit, I enjoyed the flick and couldn't hardly wait foe the sequel. And then Spiderman 2 came. The movie was great! More sophisticated than the first one, the graphics are good, and the story was a blast! I love the second sequel the most, specially the part when Mary Jane discovered the truth about Peter Parker. The fight scenes were incredible, the director and his crew really did a good job on this one. The love story between Peter and MJ, the silent war between harry and Peter, and the mad scientist Doc Oc and Spiderman, it was amazing. I hope Spiderman 4 is on it's way..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    once again WELL DONE!

    Loved it and was surprised to love it! Being as how I didn¿t think they can make such a good part one and make a part 2 just as good. BUT THEY DID!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    spider man 2

    this was pretty good and liked it better than the first but the first was alright too equally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what are they talking about this was great!!

    This is the best super hero movie hands down, if you pay attenion you see that there's not one flaw.but it could have been more violent,the story is way better than the batman's.the cgi is soooo!!realalistic,the plot is great, tons of action is awesome ,and the train scene is on of the best action squince's ever!!!and on top of that the acting great it's a must have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GOOD MOVIE!!!!!

    I really liked this movie! This movie makes an effort to try to 'stick to the first' plot and storyline like the firt one did! I really liked that. The characters are more matured and have moved on with their lives, this none other than Peter Parker (Spidey) who tries to show everyone, especially MJ that he's "really changed." Everyone has changed, a huge benefit to the new plot and storyline, which in the first one had tried to portray them like teenage high school students. I really liked this movie...GOOD WORK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Comic-Book Movie

    Finally, Hollywood is starting to understand that the only way to have a comic book movie work is to treat the world of the comic book seriously. I enjoyed this movie so much more than I did the first Spider-Man. Don't get me wrong--it was a fun, cute, campy movie, but it didn't have the edge-of-the-seat tension this movie does. Spoiler Alert: I loved the scene where Spider-man saves the L-train. It had the heart of the movie: Spider-man is just a kid, sometimes a scared kid, who is trying to help. I loved the compassion the people showed to Peter, and I loved the fact that they tried to rescue him. Granted, they didn't stand a snowball's chance, but at least they tried. I also loved the fact that Doc Ack had elements of the heroic, even when he was in full villian mode. All in all, the movie had moments of humor, moments when the hero failed to be a hero, but never failed to treat the world of the hero as real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it was better than the first

    i saw it a couple of days after is came to theaters on july 5th i can say it was better then the first but i still didn't like it much it had way too much comedy and i don't like that in super hero movies but it was alright .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie sucked

    i really don't like both of the spider-man movies but this one was better than the first but i still don't like it at all i don't like movies like spider-man because they are all sorry i can say this too it had a better villian then the first one too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than the first movie

    i think i like SPiderman 2 more than Spiderman, the first movie. i recommend this movie. there's more action and the interaction with peter and mj is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than The Original and Very Moving

    I recently saw 'Spider-Man 2' and I agree: it's a lot better than the original.There's a more threating villian,improved effects,and(like in 'Harry Potter 3')a more emotional and mature hero.Peter's only immature act is when he decides to quit being Spider-Man and he starts ignoring people in need.(That just doesn't seem right since heroes are known for being brave and selfless.)But Peter realizes his mistake in the nick of time and returns to his do-gooder ways(whew!).As I said before, the special effects are much better. Peter really looks like he's soaring over skyscrapers and Doc Ock's tenecales are truly menacing.The best thing about the movie though is its heart.In the original 'Spider-Man' we saw Spidy's fans throwing garbage at the Green Goblin and sticking up for their hero(even if they didn't know who he was). Here Spidy is unmasked before Mary Jane,Doc Ock,and the people he saves on a runaway train.These are very moving scenes because they show that even though Spider-Man is a superhuman,he's still a human.In short,great movie,great story.See it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spider Man soars

    I so loved watching spider man 2 in theater.A brillant film to see with your family and friends. I give Spider Man 5 big stars to fly about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST SUPERHERO MOVIE

    THE FIRST SPIDERMAN WAS AWESOME, THIS ONE IS 1,000,000 TIMES BETTER, NO JOKE, EVEN IF YOU HATED THE FIRST ONE THIS ONE IS SOOO MUCH BETTER A GREAT GREAT MOVIE, THE STORYLINE IS SOOOO SMOOTH AND COMPELLING, AND THE GRAPHICS ARE TOO GOOD!!! BUY! BUY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    I did not really like the first Spiderman movie, but this one is, to date, the best of the super-hero movies. After watching it the only thing it leaves you wanting is for the sequel to be out sooner than 2007. There is only one scene that I think should have been done differently. When Octavius is in the hospital, what follows is somewhat brutal. Other than that it is a great show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Superhero movie!

    For me "both" Spiderman movies have hit the mark. I don't think either were perfect movies but still easily good enough to qualify as "outstanding" cinema. Fun comic bookish adventure abounds and director Sam Raimi should be commneded for his efforts in both installments of Spiderman. Good fun! Both films grade out as solid A- films for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The first one was a C+, this one's a A all the way

    I saw this in theatres with my friend and we both loved it. So much better than the first. Everyone did their parts very well and I'm looking foward to buying this on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spider-Man 2 is so cool!

    Its a great movie and I cant wait to get it on DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Certainly up there in Great Superhero movies

    Spider-man 2 is a film of all proportions. It opens up with a view of reality in that being a super-hero when you're not a billionaire, or a man from another planet (aka Superman), is very self-sacrificing, and that Peter realizes who he should really spend time with. So in a sense this where Parker becomes mature, and where the Spider-man series actually matures a bit as well. In fact each character matures- unlike any super-hero movie, the characters now live different lives as the aftermath of the first film. As the film's posters are titled, 'Sacrifice', 'Destiny', 'Choice'. These become the maturity themes throughout the film. The computer-graphics were improved though similar to the first motion picture (Spider-man). Though, in the second, Tobey Maguire is more on the set, and more in the air with the actors- instead of Kirsten screaming and holding onto objects before a blue screen, she is actually there with him. Then there are the puppet or muppet like arms of Octavius, each arm with its own personality. And of course Aunt Mae & Jonah-the abnoxious boss, the unique supporting characters that stay true to their comic form, as do most of the characters. Now the second film did not give me the same reaction as the first film, because it was set a different level. The first film was more of a fun and happy summer blast movie, especially during its time, in early 2002. But the second movie is more of a story movie, some who may have not seen the first movie, may think that this movie is a cheerful, yet underlying drama at first. Then comes the action, but it seemed more quiet then in the first movie, and much more quickly done. Spider-man 2 is very unique, besides being a direct part 2, the plotline displays some parallels that show who Peter was and who he has become. For example the two scenes of rescuing children from a burning apartment; and in both scenes he readily steps up to his fear, and shows that whether he's a super hero or not, he has the power to shield off fear. Now I could go on about the Philosophy of the Spider-man films, but that would take up a few pages of B&N's web property. I was however disappointed both by the fact it could have had more umf, and more bang. Now Danny Elfman had an amazing soundtrack in both movies- in fact all of the movies he's made pieces for. And in Spider-man 2 he pulled off a great display of music, but I think the sound editors could easily add more flow with the music. But still, Danny Elfman and John Williams are really the top king composers of the motion picture. Another disappointment was some random blanks in the movie, an example, the eating cake scene or the trying-to-close-the-door-to-the-cleaning-closet scene. Now Hopefully in sequel in 2006, the characters aren't over mature and are not played by older actors, because I do not know anyone else who can fit the exact characters that Mr. Marvel invented than this cast. Also Super Hero/ Comic book movies are booming in the not-too distant future: Man-thing Oct. 2004 Pixar's the Incredibles Nov. 2004 Fantastic Four June 2005 Batman Begins Summer 2005

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3