Customer Reviews for

Spirited Away

Average Rating 5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Super-Awesome

    I love this movie. In general I like animes. I think it wasn't really comfusing, but kind of weird. But for me I didn't really have too many questions at the end. If you read through most of the reviews you might have read one that gave it a 2 star rating and said it was long and confusing. Don't listen to them. It was a very wonderful movie and you won't regrett watching it!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Most Incredible Movie EVER!

    Spirited Away is one of the best movies your whole family will ever watch together again and again. Little kids will enjoy the fantastical creatures, older kids will enjoy the whole movie and get good life lessons, and the adults will never have to worry about covering little eyes or ears--there's no reason to, and you'll be too busy having fun. This is a Disney release of a Studio Ghibli film by Hayao Miyazaki (buy everything he's ever made; you won't ever go wrong). It starts with a family (father, mother and 10-year-old daughter) moving to their new house. They go off the main road and get lost. (Guys never ask for directions.) Eventually they find what appears to be an abandoned theme park, and the three go exploring. (Dad's idea.) They find mounds and heaps of delicious food. The parents dig in and turn into (literal) pigs. The girl has to go to work to rescue them. She ends up working in a bathhouse for spirits and creatures. They're very fantastical but not scary. Sha makes friends with and helps many different spirits throughout the movie. Life lessons for kids of all ages here: She makes these friends by always being kind, courteous, respectful and nice to everyone, no matter how strange they look or act. One very beautiful scene is with an extremely dirty, smelly, sludgy being. She finds he's actually polluted and, with lost of help, pulls all the junk and trash out of him, transforming him into a river god. He's very happy and grateful. More life lessons: This works for real rivers too. (Miyazaki even says in one of the special features that this scene was inspired by his experience cleaning up an actual river.) This is one of the two best by Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli; the other is Kiki's Delivery Service. Buy this movie; let your kids watch it with their friends; watch it with them and talk about it. Have lots of fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting Tale of Personal Transformation

    SPIRITED AWAY is a movie you can watch again and again -- because it's art work is first-rate, the story is refreshingly original, and the characters are engaging. The story takes place in modern-day Japan, when a ten-year-old girl explores a strange place with her parents and finds herself ''spirited away''. The spirits in this story are an exotic mix of frogs, humanoids, and river spirits. When her parents are transformed into pigs, our young heroine must rely on inner strength, hard work, and newfound friends to make the best of a very challenging situation. Parents and children alike will be enchanted by this film -- it's awesome! ----------------------------------------------------- Cynthia Sue Larson, author of KAREN KIMBALL & The Dream Weaver's Web

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Movie You Will Ever See

    There are not enough stars in the heavens to properly rate this movie. Spirited Away defines the concept of a magical adventure. It is sweeping, encompassing, charming and original; it is utterly transportive and enchanting. This is a film that should be in everyone's collection - it is a masterpiece. Even if you don't like anime, give this a try. It transcends what animation commonly is and reminds us what a truly classic film is all about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Spirited Away is......

    ........one of my favorite anime film. Miyazaki-san did an excellent job on it. This si fit for children and adults alike. It has a really good plot and great charactors to go along with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT MOVIE <3

    When I saw this movie for the frist time I fell in love with it the names are cool and the story base is cool.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must See!

    You porobably have heard of this movie but never saw it because you didnt know if it was good. Well it is. I would recommened this movie to anyone! Hayao Miyazaki is an amzing story teller and all of his movies are worth seeing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!! =] =]

    This Movie is Probably Miyazaki's best!!! This and Princess mononoke!! the scenery is beautifully drawn, the charcters are very creative, and its a great film for the whole family!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie puts all the animated films I've seen advertised recently to shame. It doesn't rely on lame gag humor to be entertaining...the story and the beautiful animation are what make this memorable. Spirited Away is the tale of a young girl, Chihiro, whose family is moving to a new house away from the city. On the way, they stop at an abandoned carnival and Chihiro finds herself separated from her parents and trapped as a worker in a bath house for spirits and demons. With the help of some new friends, Chihiro must try to save her parents and return to her normal life. Spirited Away is a great coming of age story. It leaves and impression on the viewer about the importance of keeping your own identity, the dangers of selfishness, and the power of friendship. This movie can be appreciated by children and adults alike.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT MOVIE!

    I love this movie! It is one I never get tired of watching. Hayao Miyazaki is incredible and I've enjoyed all of his work that I've seen so far. The worlds that he creates are beautiful, mysterious, and completely original. "Spirited Away" really takes the viewer to a whole new place, and can capture the imagination.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Awesome 

    Awesome 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Love this movie!!

    Love this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Spoiler Alert! Compared to some of the other movies by Miyazaki

    Spoiler Alert!
    Compared to some of the other movies by Miyazaki I have to admit that this one is a little more scary in some aspects. Having said that I by no means dislike the movie. It does tend to be a little confusion at times and I agree that it got a little weird but you still get a happy ending. Since this is a review i will say what it was that made me take a step back at first. During the movie a demon named No Face enters the bathhouse and tries to make friends with the human girl there by giving her gifts. She refuses them while other employees in the bathhouse take them out of greed. Then, because I believe No Face is unable to speak, No Face tricks a worker into approaching him and then he eats the worker. After that he is able to speak to the others but then he begins to lose his mind.
    I also was slightly turned off when No Face is chasing the girl out of the bathhouse and due to some medacine she gave him to help him get his mind back he begin to throw up and there was a lot of images of that.
    All together I still would call this a good movie but I would not show it to children under a certian age myself. I will leave that up to the parents though to decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    ¿Spirited Away¿ involves the journey that a young girl named Chi

    “Spirited Away” involves the journey that a young girl named Chihiro embarks on after finding her parents transformed into pigs. She also travels through an even more unusual spirit world and dealing with the witch who was responsible for what happened to her parents. “Spirited Away” reminds me of “Howl’s Moving Castle” (which is also a good film).“Spirited Away” is a great anime movie with supernatural/spiritual themes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    This is a wonderful tale! Miyazaki is a master storyteller and a

    This is a wonderful tale! Miyazaki is a master storyteller and a film craftsman of the highest degree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the best Anime and Animation movie/TV show i have EVER s

    This is the best Anime and Animation movie/TV show i have EVER seen and i am probably THE most anime freak in the world. But this one stands out. I mean the animation, acting, effects, set, story line, everything about this movie is AMAZING. you don't have to like anime just have to like action, adventure, fantasy and everything in-between!

    If you say you didn't even like it... there's something maturely wrong with you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Breath Taking

    I have watched this movie, "Howl's Moving Castle." and many other movies made by Hayao Miyazaki. I am a big animation fan and i am always moved by this film and films made by Hayao Miyazaki.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie ever hands down

    I fell in love with this movie the moment i pressed play. I could watch this movie over and over again. The story line , the characters, and the whole thing is unforgettable. From the first minute to the last second you will be enthralled and be wanting to watch this until your eyes explode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorites

    Wonderful movie that I love to watch over and over. I find the English Dub voices a little strange as I have only ever watched it in Japanese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now this is imagination and creativity at it's best

    The artwork is beautiful, what a story and the characters! Had to add to our collection. Bizarre, almost over the top..not for little kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10