Customer Reviews for

Spirited Away

Average Rating 5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for Hayao Miyazaki fans - add to your collection!

    My 11 year old son is a big fan of director Hayao Miyazaki, and this was the first of his films he ever saw. Not your run of the mill animated movie, but if you enjoy Hayao Miyazaki, you will love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Everyone

    "Spirited Away" is an amazing creation. This movie (which by the way has great and creative characters) has a unique and interesting story. There are moments in this movie that are just random and you can't help but laugh. There are moments where your at the edge of your seat. This movie never gets old. If you haven't seen it... YOU HAVE TO! not seeing it isn't an option.The story is about Chihiro and when her curious parents wonder into a town where they eat all of the spirits food they get turned into pigs. Chihiro has to then find a way to get her parents back although she has to overcome many (some being unusual) obstacles. This is by far my favorite movie and i hope you enjoy it as much as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Miyazaki's Spirited Away is spell binding

    The mystical world that Chihiro is drawn into has her leaning on the strengths she didn't know she had in order to save her mother and father. It makes her grow as a young person who thinks only about her self - to care not only what happens to her parent but about others.
    It's a movie to see more than once - Miyakaki's a genius I've watch this movie four or five times and I've seen something new each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It is so touching and amazing.

    I love it! What else is there to say? It just is so good! Yubaba and Zeniba are voiced by the same person. LOL. It is such a great movie. Get it if you haven't. It is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful piece of work

    The art in Miyasaki's films is always gorgeous, and Spirited Away is no exception. The music is lovely, and the story is very good. Anime fans will probably like this, although the average film goer may need to pay extra attention to understand the film. This is a Japanese film and as such incorporates their ideas, myths and thought processes. My whole family loves this film, it is one we watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!!!

    I remember when this movie first came out! I took my little sister to see it, and we both fell completely in love with it! I never saw a movie like it. It was so different, so unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I watched this movie about two days ago and as always it blew my mind away. You see every year I watch it at my japanese grandmothers house and it always touches my heart. This movie is briliant, creative, and outstanding, but it always makes me sad at the end. It is a wonderful adventure of a little girl who goes to another world of spirits and works for a bath house, and well you'll just have to see it to find out! But all-in-all it is deffinately one of the best movies you WILL ever see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies I've ever seen!

    Spirited away is a spectacular, enchanting movie anyone would love to see. You just can't find it anywhere anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fan of hayao

    I've seen most of Hayao's work. you know what? He is briliant,and his story line awesome!!!! you can't improve on it. Hayao does what he does best- taking full advantage of the what anime can, where CG and other SFX can fail on. ( oh don't take me wrong that does not mean this anime does not have CG) He does take charge of full story line, plot, sub plot, graphics.... and illustrate images down to the minute detail. a must see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best ever!

    When I first saw this movie, it made me feel that true friendship is the best thing you could ever have. It makes me want to be a part of that world. The best part is when the girl(forget the name) sits on the boardwalk, missing her parents. It makes you want to be in the movie, too. It's a must see!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spirited Away

    Spirited Away is a wonderfully fun movie. Oringinal story line, great characters, and beautiful art design makes this a must buy movie for any one of any age. Miyazaki-san is a genius, creating one of the best animated movies of all time. The story begins with Chihiro, the main character, and her parents, moving to a new town. The movie really picks up when Chihiro's parents, are transformed into pigs by the witch yubbaba, and is forced to work at her bath house to save them. There she meets Haku, a young boy who works for yubbaba, and he can transform into a white dragon. This movie does not count on blood, gore, bad language, or sex to be good. A simple family movie that touches the hearts of all who watch, I highly reccommend this delightful movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Amazing!

    Its a very beautiful movie, that captivated me and everyone else from begining to end! definately one you should watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    must see by the end of the week!!!

    Spirited Away is the greatest film in the history of animation. Hayao Miyazaki expresses the film outstandingly. Must see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Opened my eyes to what Animation is about

    This movie is in a category of its own. I heard it won an oscar against one of my other favorite films,and even though I had not seen it yet at that time I thought this film was overated . But now that I have seen it, I understand completely why it won. Spirited Away takes you inside the film, inside the world of Chihiro. The setting and the screenplay is unlike any other I have ever seen or listened to and it stands out from the modern genre of animation today. The characters are complex and adds to the movies sequence. This is what an animated movie is supposed to be. I wish it was nominated for more than just animation, I rank it with Beauty and the Beast and the Lion King. It has openned my eyes to the longetivity and elegance of Japanese Animation. Hail to Hayao Miyazaki may he live for ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spirited Away is amazing!

    This inchanting tale will blow your socks off!This story is about a girl named Chihiro, who goes though a series of adventures to save her parents from being turned into baccon by an evil witch . Yubba(the witch)gives Chihiro a job at her bathouse to work for her name back and her parents!People,this movie rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Life Changing

    The best anime of all time. A movie like this comes around once in a lifetime. The storyline is one of the best (though confusing at parts) I've ever seen. With more twists and turns, it deserves the best. Your eyes will be glued to the screen for the next two hours if you buy, rent or see this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most touching anime film I've ever seen!

    Spirited Away had every possible thing you'd ever want in an animated film. It had adventure, drama, suspense, mystery, tear-jerking moments, courage, love, etc. This movie has a message that everyone should pay attention to. For those who like Daveigh Chase, who provides the voice of Chehero, I also recommend Lilo and Stitch 1 & 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Five stars don't cover even half of this Anime!!!!

    I just watched this movie today and it was awesome. If I had a choice there would be a part two to this movie. If you have yet to discover this anime, then you are missing out on a awesome movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Miazaki Does It Again!

    I saw this in the movie and bought it on DVD. This is yet another gem of a movie form Hayao Miazaki, and it is so freaking BEAUTIFUL just like all other Miazaki films. The story of this one is as original as ever, telling the story of a girl who after a string of events, has to work at a spirit bath house. My favorite characters are by far No-Face and Haku. This movie never ceases to give me chills, and it is a MUST SEE for any anime fan not matter how young or old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie!!!

    I've never seen a movie like this before. I absolutely love it and I encourage everyone to see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10