Customer Reviews for

Stage Beauty

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An overlooked gem!

    If you liked SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE, and most especially if you like well-written and well-acted comedy-dramas, get thee to the nearest shoppe and purchase this DVD. Claire Danes is a revelation and Billy Crudup a wonder as Ned Knayston, the leading female impersonator during the Restoration in England. Rupert Everett and a talented,attractive cast highlight this investigation into what it is to be a man and what it is to be a woman. All this and OTHELLO, too! Highest Recommendation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    POWERFUL!

    One of the most powerful films i have seen, Great acting and realistic in everyway. Captivating, Compelling, And Covincing. This Film I have seen, A CLassic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    I love period movies, and this one did not disappoint. I had known that Billy Crudup was an amazing actor, but his performance in this movie blew my mind. I was teetering at the edge of my seat by the end of it, it was all so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Most Amazing Beauty !

    This has become one of my all time favorites and I can't say enough good about it. I was first attracted to it by the subject and setting, Shakespearean theater and Restoration England. But then I was completely overwhelmed by the craft of the film from the lighting to the music to the actors. I was not very familiar with either Claire Danes or Billy Crudup but becames an instant fan of both. Rupert Everett, Tom Wilkinson, and Hugh Bonneville are always tremendous and shine exceptionally well in this. The script is perfect. Every word, scene, and nuance are fitted together seamlessly. There is no wasted action. The humor is subtle, not as broad as in Shakespeare in Love. The love scenes are modest. Everything flows toward a most surprising ending. I was as much on the edge of my seat as the people in the movie during the last scenes of Othello. We have shown the DVD to many friends who all enjoyed it as much as we, and we've yet to tire of seeing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very engaging film...

    I love period pieces and wasn't quite sure if I was interested enough in the story to view it, but I took a chance and was so taken by the film that I watched it 3 more times! Stage Beauty is not only about men playing theatrical female roles in the 17th century, but more importantly, it also addresses poignant and complex issues about human sexuality. Billy Crudup (Ned Kynaston) gives a convincing performance as an actor who dedicated most of his life perfecting all the mannerisms of a woman and Claire Danes (Mrs. Hughes) is the catalyst who forces him to explore and come to terms with his own sexuality. The physical and emotional chemistry between these two are incredibly breathtaking. Their performances were so moving and believable that you never want the film to end! Ben Chaplin,Rupert Everett, Tom Wilkinson and Richard Griffiths gave equally resilient performances. The story line provided its audience with a very clever twist and even some surprising scenes. This is an outstanding movie and one that should have been considered for an academy award. I wish Hollywood would make more quality movies like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Very good movie

    This is an outstanding movie that puts you right into the time period right away.This is an incredible realistic movie about the time period, and the turmoil that went on in the theater during the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Film

    I first saw this film at the Gala Premier at the Tribeca Film Festival. This film shows not only a critical analysis of Shakespeare but the history of theater. I was in awe! Great film! Daines is extremely underrated as an actress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting...

    I was incredibly shocked at how good this movie was. Although some parts are disturbing to say the least, the message in the movie is very poignant and interesting to think about. I recommend this for anyone who loves Shakespeare and/or period pieces and just well written stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    an really awesome movie and good movie about shakespeare and theater.

    I checked this movie out it was so awesome from the start i enjoyed all the stuff about shakespeare's plays and the time period it's exciting from start to finish and claire danes does a good job and to get the feeling of shakespeare's time and plays in the time period and the feeling of the time period is so awesome i am a big shakespeare fan and want to do shakespeare on stage in the theater and i will cause i am a huge shakespeare fan movie is really awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1