Customer Reviews for

Star Trek

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very tal...
I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

posted by pinkrose on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended Unless You'll Watch Anything Called "Star Trek"

This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't s...
This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't simply put a propeller on the rear. Scotty beaming (accidentally) into a hydro-turbine makes as much sense on a starship powered by a matter-anti-matter reaction as a group of midshipmen madly pedaling stationary bicycle generators on board a modern nuclear submarine. The acting held only a few glimmers of appeal. The new "McCoy" and "Chekov" managed to prop up the film in that regard. Leonard Nimoy was a welcome addition, although he could be wheeled onto a Star Trek set and required only to wink at the camera to satisfy most fans of the original series. What is next, given this schlock approach to a once venerable Sci-fi franchise? Will the young Kirk's new five year mission be comprised of broadcasts of interplanetary cooking shows that he hosts from orbit from a professional kitchen on board the new Enterprise? (Somehow, Rodenberry knew how incompatible cooking is with good Sci-fi.) I wonder how long those who created this "Galaxy Quest with Star Trek Characters" will need to reintroduce hanging carcasses and meat cleavers. I do hope they find a better script for any future films in this series, and avoid more, ridiculous uniform changes and character additions.

posted by Not_Impressed on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek

    As a long-time Star Trek fan, starting in 1966, I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The casting was excellent and the characters well developed. It's not easy to portray characters that have been in the social psyche for so long, and associated with specific actors. Hope to see more Star Trek films with this group of actors. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Addition to Star Trek Universe

    Technically, watching this movie in an IMAX theater was a fantastic experience. Superb characterizations by the younger cast (Karl Urban as Bones was my favorite). The only disappointment for me is the alternate timeline (which probably was necessary for continuing the franchise). Future movies will not likely be able to incorporate many events from Gene Roddenberry's timeline. I wonder if we will ever see tribbles again?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Exceeded my expectations

    As a hard core Trekkie, I had my doubts, but was blown away by the perfect casting. May this new crew live long and prosper. It was great fun, and I have a horrible crush on Bones. Who would have thought?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Treker from the very begining

    J.J. Abrams hits a homerun with the re-imagined Star Trek. It is so good that this iconic franchise has revitalized. All aspects of this movie are well thought out and executed. The story is fresh and compelling. The casting is outstanding and believable. I am looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredibly mediocre

    I've been a big Star Trek fan for many years and was really looking forward to seeing this. But it wasn't nearly as good as I expected it would be. The elevation of Kirk from not even allowed on the flight (but sneaking on) to Captain was one of the most implausible elements of any Star Trek plot ever--and that's saying something since we are talking about interstellar missions and various aliens here. The highlight of the movie was the appearance of Leonard Nimoy. A digital copy came with the Blu Ray for me to install on my computer, but I probably won't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Got it Done

    To revive the "original" Star Trek storyline, Paramount needed to hit this one out of the park. They needed to find actors who could pick up the roles, a story that "reset" The timeline while respecting what had gone before, modern effects and pacing...and generally speaking this film delivers. The most attention has been paid to the Kirk and Spock characters as usual but there's a fine cast here all around. I really hope future installments give more time to the other primary characters - there's real talent behind Chekov, Sulu, Uhura and Scott. However Pine and Quinto do well in their roles and I think the new film series - which is what we all expect this to be - is off to a good start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek Movie

    Wonderful, simply wonderful!! I have seen all of the Star Trek films, but this one is absolutely the best. I won't tire of seeing this film over and over!! Thanks Barnes & Noble, great service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have-- especially in Blu-Ray

    The BEST movie of 2009-- hands-down. The special effects, acting, storyline and drama keep you thoroughly engaged! Without giving too much away, the writers did a wonderful job of cleverly interweaving the biographical background of the characters while throwing in some surprises! GET IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST TREK YET

    Actually I bought this as a gift, so I really shouldn't being doing a review. However, being an avid trekkie, I received it is a gift.

    Reason I didn't buy for myself is I couldn't see how they would pull this one off. Well, they did. In magnificent style, no less.

    Even my wife enjoyed it - amd she's not a trekkie! Wants to watch it again. Soon! As do I. It's a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A New Star Trek

    Those that expect an updated remake of the original Star Trek- The Movie will be surprised. This is Definitely not a remake. Without giving away the plot it gives a whole new twist to the Star Trek saga. It leaves open a whole new series of possibilities. Trekkes will enjoy this new take on the McCoy/Spock/Kirk triangle of freindship. Nimoy's Spock acts as the bridge between the old and new. I hope the studio will build on this new version. J.J. Abrams did Gene Roddenberry proud. This is a must have for your Star trek collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Live Long and Prosper

    Excellent movie for all! Soundtrack and visuals were done very well. A must see-even if you weren't a trekie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very satisfying experience for old fans and those new to the Star Trek universe.

    Great, great movie! this film adequately fills in the blanks concerning the beginning of Kirk's command and his first encounter with his lifelong friend and first officer, Mr. Spock. Well written, well performed and engaging storyline, this film is much more than just a showcase for state of the art special effects which is my main criticism of most of the films coming out of Hollywood these days. There is definitely a place of honor for this film in my permanent film collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED it

    I've watched Star Trek since I snuck down the hallway to creep around the corner and peek at the original on 10PM TV. I never thought I'd take to a new crew in the original roles. But it was great. Better, in fact, than the last few TOS films where the directors obviously didn't know the story.

    What I really liked were all the little tiny nods to old fans. This is the beginning of a fun new ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greatest film

    New verison of Star trek is a great see. Any Trekker would enjoy this along with Heroes fans. Watch this and Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where no movie has gone before!

    Or maybe not.... I've seen many prequels, but Star Trek takes the prequel where no movie has gone before! It's not your average Prequel. Not only does it give Star Trek fans the information they've always wanted to know (about the character's pasts), but, it stands that information on it's head by turning an-otherwise normal prequel into a stand alone movie! I don't want to ruin the plot for those who have not seen it, but let's put it this way.... The story starts a whole new possibility.... The possibility that another Star Trek (original) series could be born, without ever ruining or disturbing, or confusing the original... original series.... Does that make sense? You'll see what I mean when you watch the movie!This movie doesn't disappoint! The sound trek is descent, the visuals are amazing!This movie ties the whole Star Trek franchise together without ever ruining those series which have come before, or will follow in the future!
    Just finding out how the character's came to be WHO they are (and where they came from) was worth the price of admission! But, seeing where this all might go (and how Kirk get's his catch phrases), made it all that much better! I look forward to the next movie in this series.... Or maybe even the new television series!
    A whole new way of attracting a whole new generation of fans!!! Thank you Star Trek... for opening up the imaginations of generations of followers! For giving people (World Wide) something to dream about, to hold on to, and the ability to bring us all together with the hopes of a bright future for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek

    This is by far the best of all the Star Trek movies. It is a thrilling, well-done movies that is action packed. My husband and I loved it!!! Hope there are sequels in the works. The cast is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ST: THIS Generation... This Ain't Your Father's 'Star Trek'!

    Best case scenario: You have heard of the old Star Trek, you're a little bit intrigued, but you have never seen any of its many incarnations.


    Worst case scenario: You are an avid Trekker from way back in the Sixties.


    I provide this preface because, depending on which of these categories the viewer aligns, the latest film is either really flipping cool or really flipping annoying.


    Visually speaking, 'Star Trek' is further advanced than ANY of its predecessors -- televison series, movies, Next Generation, DS9, Voyager, Enterprise. This film wins --VISUALLY-- hands down. Well, after all, we have come a long way from the cardboard sets of the 1964 pilot ("The Cage" -- for the benefit of trivia-minded Trekkies out there -- of which, I am proudly one.)


    However...

    That is the only area where the film 'Star Trek' surpasses those that spawned this offspring. Star Trek the television series, ST:TNG, ST:DS9, ST:V, ST:E, and the motion pictures all worked (or did not work, as was the case in some of the offerings) because Star Trek is a science fiction that is story- and character-driven inspite of the special effects; not because of them. This is the very reason why we tolerated cardboard sets and paper mache' rocks because the plots and characters were rich enough to suspend disbelief. Despite being an imaginative space fantasy, Star Trek's appeal was a sense of familiarity with its cast. We knew the crews' names, ranks, backgrounds, hometowns, strengths, quirks, likes, dislikes, and sometimes about their families and friends. The captain and crew of the 1966 version USS Enterprise were, and are, like members of our extended family. The original characters were so well-defined, in fact, they were the inspiration for an animated series, four other television series, ten films and literally hundreds of novels and comicbooks.


    I must confess that, if not for the title bearing the franchise name, I would scarcely recognize the new 'Star Trek.' The crews' names are the same as they were 40 + years ago, and they read like a Star Fleet Hall of Fame roster: Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scott, Uhura, Sulu, Chekov. Yet we hardly know them at all. And it is not that they are now played by fresh, young actors; it's because a terrible thing has happened: The Romulans (remember them) have attacked Earth's history, and the crew lives in the present but theirs is now an alternate reality (uh, yeah,to be sure). Earth and the United Federation of Planets are in jeopary, and only the rakish (though slightly altered) James T. Kirk and cohorts can save day.


    And so back to the preface idea: If you are new to the Star Trek universe: Welcome aboard; you'll enjoy the show. If you are a middle-aged Trekker like me: Prepare for a transporter malfunction and the molecules of all known Star Trek matter being scattered from here to Antares. And it is this alternate-reality plot that is the most difficult gate for my mind to hurdle. Everything that I thought I understood about the storyline is now scrabbled up and pasted back together like...well...a tribble in a transporter beam. HOWEVER, I can look beyond the mess, and see a pretty fair film. Enjoy the movie; just don't think about the old days of the Twenty-third Century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8