Customer Reviews for

Star Trek

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very tal...
I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

posted by pinkrose on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended Unless You'll Watch Anything Called "Star Trek"

This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't s...
This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't simply put a propeller on the rear. Scotty beaming (accidentally) into a hydro-turbine makes as much sense on a starship powered by a matter-anti-matter reaction as a group of midshipmen madly pedaling stationary bicycle generators on board a modern nuclear submarine. The acting held only a few glimmers of appeal. The new "McCoy" and "Chekov" managed to prop up the film in that regard. Leonard Nimoy was a welcome addition, although he could be wheeled onto a Star Trek set and required only to wink at the camera to satisfy most fans of the original series. What is next, given this schlock approach to a once venerable Sci-fi franchise? Will the young Kirk's new five year mission be comprised of broadcasts of interplanetary cooking shows that he hosts from orbit from a professional kitchen on board the new Enterprise? (Somehow, Rodenberry knew how incompatible cooking is with good Sci-fi.) I wonder how long those who created this "Galaxy Quest with Star Trek Characters" will need to reintroduce hanging carcasses and meat cleavers. I do hope they find a better script for any future films in this series, and avoid more, ridiculous uniform changes and character additions.

posted by Not_Impressed on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

    I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unreal!

    I was lucky to win tickets to this movie through a radio station. Was I ever grateful! I would have definitely paid to see this no questions asked! I absolutely loved this movie. I even saw it at an IMAX theater, which made the experience even more amazing. I will absolutely purchase this movie and watch it a few more times!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Recommended Unless You'll Watch Anything Called "Star Trek"

    This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't simply put a propeller on the rear. Scotty beaming (accidentally) into a hydro-turbine makes as much sense on a starship powered by a matter-anti-matter reaction as a group of midshipmen madly pedaling stationary bicycle generators on board a modern nuclear submarine. The acting held only a few glimmers of appeal. The new "McCoy" and "Chekov" managed to prop up the film in that regard. Leonard Nimoy was a welcome addition, although he could be wheeled onto a Star Trek set and required only to wink at the camera to satisfy most fans of the original series. What is next, given this schlock approach to a once venerable Sci-fi franchise? Will the young Kirk's new five year mission be comprised of broadcasts of interplanetary cooking shows that he hosts from orbit from a professional kitchen on board the new Enterprise? (Somehow, Rodenberry knew how incompatible cooking is with good Sci-fi.) I wonder how long those who created this "Galaxy Quest with Star Trek Characters" will need to reintroduce hanging carcasses and meat cleavers. I do hope they find a better script for any future films in this series, and avoid more, ridiculous uniform changes and character additions.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding!

    I, like many other people I knew, were a bit skeptical about this new Star Trek movie at first. We liked the concept of the start of the Enterprise and it's crew, and the fact that somehow, Leonard Nimoy was going to be in it, so we decided that it was definitely worth a shot, to see how they did with it. Obviously, J.J. Abrahms was behind it too, so it couldn't be all that bad. I walked out of the theatre after this absolutely blown away. I simply loved it...so much so that I saw it another 2 times in the theatre overtime as well. They could not have chosen a better cast to play the roles of the young starfleet in this, and the action was amazing. The incorporation of the old Spock was really cool too. I liked what they did with that. The whole cast did great, and the movie was absolutely stellar! I am definitely going to be picking this up when it comes out on DVD, and I would hope that and I would hope that any self respecting sci fi and Star Trek lover will too. Even if you're not that big of a fan of the original Star Trek series, but still enjoy a good sci fi flick here and there, trust me...definitely do give this a watch. It's awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Summer Movie of 2009!!!

    This is an exciting, visually stunning movie. It moves along at a very crisp pace, and seems shorter than its 2hr, 6 min. The plot and script are very inclusive of Trekkies and non-Trekkies alike. Hopefully, there will be at least 2 more sequels. I can't wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See!

    I am a die hard Star Trek fan, and was extremely nervous the closer it came to the movie's release date. The more I heard about the film, the more I was sure that Abrams missed the mark. I enjoy Abrams' work, I just wasn't sure that an admitted Star Wars fan could understand Star Trek.
    I was wrong.
    The storyline sets the action and characters up for more freedom than I though possible, but even though a wide range of liberties is allowed by the opening plot device, Abrams, Pine, and the others manage to hit the mark with their characters. I LOVED this movie, and think that it has breathed new life into the series. Simply put - it was fantastic, and I cannot wait for another entry.
    A must see!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING MOVIE!!!!

    Though having been a sci-fi fan my entire life, I had never really had much interest in Star Trek until I saw this movie. This movie is phenomenal! It really plays off of actual scientific theories and human psychology, not to mention the incredibly gifted cast and unique plot. Star Trek will have you on the edge of your seat from the beginning and leave you wanting more at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected.

    I am in no way shape or form a Trekkie. In fact, I must admit that I shy away from most science fiction movies. I was expecting to be bored while I watched this movie with a friend. However, I found this movie enjoyable. I was pleasantly surprised by the movie. It was entertaining; there were hardly any obligatory sex scenes or cussing. The special effects were believable and the storyline was surprisingly humorous. There are a lot of one liners. The blooper reel was pretty great also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From a die-hard Trekkie

    I thoroughly enjoyed this altered universe into which these characters were cast. I have seen every episode of every series and all the movies and I will add this one to my collection. These actors do an excellent job of recreating the original charzcters while giving a bit of themselves. The special effects are tremendous. As long as you realize this is not Mom's Star Trek - I think you will do fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Impressed

    Finally, a Star Trek film par excellent! I loved the original episode, really liked The Next Generation, but the quality somehow began dwindling after that . . . and the movies. <sigh> With the exception of The Wrath of Khan, the movies have lacked (usually a plot), until this gem. I was thrilled that the actors chosen looked and acted true to the original characters, and with the exception of that Spock/Uhura thing (What the heck was THAT?) the entire movie experience was wonderful. I also liked that they stayed true to the look of the original series. I took my daughter with me, who has never watched anything Star Trek, and she became an instant fan. They could so easily follow this movie up with another series (using the same actors, I would hope) because the history of the original series has been changed dramatically. Or another movie like this one - I'd definitely would be there! I've been to every one, but I would be excited this time. "Spock" and "McCoy" were especially great, though Uhura's character could use a little professionalism and keep her lips to herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST SEE MOVIE

    For Not_Impressed dude you need to get a grip. They remade the series for the younger generation at the same time trying to keep with the old. I am a trekkie at heart. I love the way the younger versions of the original characters stayed true to the old characters personality. Plus the update in costumes stayed very close to the original, along with the sounds of the ship, but giving it a high teck look. Over all this was one of the best movies I have ever seen in a while and stays very close and true to the original version of Star Trek. Its got action, comedy, and romance plus it has a few surprises for the original Trekkies out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME MOVIE

    I loved this movie... I have watched every Star Trek Movie that has come out and every episode of every show... ok ok im a fan... but this movie is so good its fantastic.. Its like the original series with its fast action and interpersonal drama. It changes the way things were in the original... making it a new experience. Reviving an old friend into something freash .. new.. and exiciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Pretty good with a good cast and effects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one seriously amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is one of the greatest star trek movies ever made cant wait till j j abrams directs the sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Worst Trek Ever!!!

    They decided to throw away everything we ever knew and loved about Star Trek for this reboot by creating a totally different timeline. It relies on action and sex instead of good writing and a meaningful plot And is not as intelligent or thought provoking as ANY of the previous movies. No meat just fillers - No science just fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Star Trek

    In a Pulp Fiction deleted scene Mia asks Vincent if he's an Elvis or Beatles man. The idea is that while you can enjoy both bands, you're always going to be bigger fan of one than you are of the other. I find this to be a true assessment (and this will probably not be the last time I use this reference), and explains the way I feel about Star Trek and Star Wars. I have always been a bigger fan of Star Wars, although this is kind of a faulty assessment considering that Star Wars is more fantasy, and Star Trek is more science fiction. Having said that, I had no intention of seeing Star Trek when it was first announced. That was before I heard that TV mogul JJ Abrams (Lost, Alias, Fringe, etc.) was going to be directing the film. Only his second feature film as director, JJ Abrams cut his teeth by making the best film in the Mission Impossible franchise (Mission Impossible III) and was then handed the keys to one of the biggest and most loved TV/ Movie franchises in history. So how does a TV mogul do when given a franchise of this magnitude to reboot?
    With Mission Impossible III, JJ Abrams might have created the best film in the franchise, but you could still tell that he stuck in the world of the hour long TV drama. While amazing, Mission still felt almost like it would be more at home on the small screen rather than on the big screen. With Star Trek you never get that feeling. Abrams builds a world that feels lived in, while using a somewhat shaky cam, not nearly as shaky as Cloverfield which he produced, but shaky in a way that makes you feel as though you are there with the crew as you watch it.
    Writers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci (Mission Impossible III, Transformer 1 and 2, Legend of Zorro, etc.) also create the best feature screenplay of their careers. Taking cues from back Star Trek stories to add in an effort to give references to past Trek stories. They also build fully realized characters from off the page rather than just expecting the characters to build them themselves like they've done in past screenplays (here's looking at you Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen).
    The truth is, this all wouldn't be effective without the proper people to play the roles. I honestly thought it was impossible to replace the original actors, was I wrong! Chris Pine (taking his cues from Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones rather than from William Shatner's portrayal of James T. Kirk) shines as Kirk, making him rebellious, brilliant, and fun. Karl Urban (Lord of the Rings) creates a Bones that is hard, hilarious, and funny. Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead) is hilarious as always. But, besides Chris Pine, the real star here is Zachary Quinto (Heroes). Zachary Quinto really shines showing the turmoil brewing beneath the logical exterior of Spock. We really feel his issues of coming to terms with being half human/ half Vulcan while also dealing with his romanticism towards Uhura (Zoe Saldana) and being bested in the program he created, the Kobayashi Maru, by James T. Kirk.
    I would highly recommend this addition to the Star Trek series and this part has also gotten me interested in the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8