BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Trek

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very tal...
I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

posted by pinkrose on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended Unless You'll Watch Anything Called "Star Trek"

This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't s...
This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't simply put a propeller on the rear. Scotty beaming (accidentally) into a hydro-turbine makes as much sense on a starship powered by a matter-anti-matter reaction as a group of midshipmen madly pedaling stationary bicycle generators on board a modern nuclear submarine. The acting held only a few glimmers of appeal. The new "McCoy" and "Chekov" managed to prop up the film in that regard. Leonard Nimoy was a welcome addition, although he could be wheeled onto a Star Trek set and required only to wink at the camera to satisfy most fans of the original series. What is next, given this schlock approach to a once venerable Sci-fi franchise? Will the young Kirk's new five year mission be comprised of broadcasts of interplanetary cooking shows that he hosts from orbit from a professional kitchen on board the new Enterprise? (Somehow, Rodenberry knew how incompatible cooking is with good Sci-fi.) I wonder how long those who created this "Galaxy Quest with Star Trek Characters" will need to reintroduce hanging carcasses and meat cleavers. I do hope they find a better script for any future films in this series, and avoid more, ridiculous uniform changes and character additions.

posted by Not_Impressed on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Star Trek

    In a Pulp Fiction deleted scene Mia asks Vincent if he's an Elvis or Beatles man. The idea is that while you can enjoy both bands, you're always going to be bigger fan of one than you are of the other. I find this to be a true assessment (and this will probably not be the last time I use this reference), and explains the way I feel about Star Trek and Star Wars. I have always been a bigger fan of Star Wars, although this is kind of a faulty assessment considering that Star Wars is more fantasy, and Star Trek is more science fiction. Having said that, I had no intention of seeing Star Trek when it was first announced. That was before I heard that TV mogul JJ Abrams (Lost, Alias, Fringe, etc.) was going to be directing the film. Only his second feature film as director, JJ Abrams cut his teeth by making the best film in the Mission Impossible franchise (Mission Impossible III) and was then handed the keys to one of the biggest and most loved TV/ Movie franchises in history. So how does a TV mogul do when given a franchise of this magnitude to reboot?
    With Mission Impossible III, JJ Abrams might have created the best film in the franchise, but you could still tell that he stuck in the world of the hour long TV drama. While amazing, Mission still felt almost like it would be more at home on the small screen rather than on the big screen. With Star Trek you never get that feeling. Abrams builds a world that feels lived in, while using a somewhat shaky cam, not nearly as shaky as Cloverfield which he produced, but shaky in a way that makes you feel as though you are there with the crew as you watch it.
    Writers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci (Mission Impossible III, Transformer 1 and 2, Legend of Zorro, etc.) also create the best feature screenplay of their careers. Taking cues from back Star Trek stories to add in an effort to give references to past Trek stories. They also build fully realized characters from off the page rather than just expecting the characters to build them themselves like they've done in past screenplays (here's looking at you Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen).
    The truth is, this all wouldn't be effective without the proper people to play the roles. I honestly thought it was impossible to replace the original actors, was I wrong! Chris Pine (taking his cues from Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones rather than from William Shatner's portrayal of James T. Kirk) shines as Kirk, making him rebellious, brilliant, and fun. Karl Urban (Lord of the Rings) creates a Bones that is hard, hilarious, and funny. Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead) is hilarious as always. But, besides Chris Pine, the real star here is Zachary Quinto (Heroes). Zachary Quinto really shines showing the turmoil brewing beneath the logical exterior of Spock. We really feel his issues of coming to terms with being half human/ half Vulcan while also dealing with his romanticism towards Uhura (Zoe Saldana) and being bested in the program he created, the Kobayashi Maru, by James T. Kirk.
    I would highly recommend this addition to the Star Trek series and this part has also gotten me interested in the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Pleasantly surprised

    My husband received this movie as a Christmas gift on bluray. He never got to see it on the big screen. One night we sat down to watch it. I got my book and turned on the light, because I have never been a big fan. Within the first 5 min, I turned off the light and shut my book. I couldn't look away, I was hooked. This movie was filled with excitement, action, and great effects. The story line was great. I told my friends at work that they had to watch it, even if they didn't follow Star trek. One of my friends asked if star trek was the show that had Princess Leigha in it (she still would like it). The actors were talented and had a great resemblance to the original cast. I was very impressed. we have watched it 2 times since and I'm sure we will watch it again. I would recommend it to anyone-- even those who aren't trekkies..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original Star Trek crew-I LOVED IT! A 5-Star+++++

    I was so worried about new actors portraying the young (original) crew of the Enterprise. To me there is, and always has been, only the original crew of Star Trek. But my fears were put aside as soon as this "E" ticket ride began. The pace is frenetic, cinematography is outstanding, the special effects are amazing and realistic, the soundtrack is fitting, the script is well written and the cast is stellar. I don't know how these young actors pulled off portraying these larger than life characters without becoming parodies. It all flowed and meshed so well. Quinto's portrayal of Spock was especially incredible. I had to do a couple of double-takes. I love the scenes of outer space in this film. They are like the old science fiction works of art. They make for an interesting contrast to all the action going on in this film. This is one of those films I can watch over and over and not get tired of. I Want MORE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome take on how the whole thing started!

    I was very impressed, the special effects and soundtrack are great. I have not been on the edge of my seat since The Matrix. A great movie for Trekkies...old and new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can't Believe They Pulled It Off

    I'm a Star Trek fan going way back and I thought Enterprise a disgrace. I felt in that show they were trying to reset, erase the original with no affection or respect toward that material and I stopped watching after the first season. After that I had little fate in any reboot project, and I was dubious about one set in the academy, since that conflicts with what we knew. Well, without giving you spoilers, lets just say they pull that off with style, that this had many moments and homages an old fan would enjoy, while I know quite a few non-Trekkies who became fans after viewing this--ones that bought this DVD and watch it again and again with pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek

    Excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely fantastic!

    The makers of this film were spot on in their casting. Karl Urban, as Dr McCoy, and Simon Pegg, as Mr Scott, were the best, but the casting truly is stellar overall. Chris Pine as James Kirk is strikingly handsome, self-depriciatingly funny, and has amazing timing with Zachary Quinto (Mr Spock), who is introspective with a biting wit--the humor and their timing is evident in the "gag reel" that is included in the DVD when they do an entire scene improv with an accent. Basically, the story takes off when Eric Bana's character of Nero alters things a bit. This allows all of the characters to have a new life, and it also breathes life into this series as we are able to go on a new adventure with some amazing characters. This film is a blast from start to finish, and has some fabulous humor and tributes to the original characters. It's awesome--enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ^_^

    Brilliant. A very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great film for remake

    I absolutely loved the way this movie was wriiten. Ilove the original Star Trek, and really not fond of any other Star Trek series, so I didn't think I would really like this movie, but I was very surprised cause after watching it from rental, I then realized this movie was one I had to have for the collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Believe it or not, I got this for my wife

    This is a great restart of the series, eschewing pointless nostalgia while retaining enough of the characters to be recognizable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    Fantastic if you are a Star Trek fan, and a great movie even if you aren't a Trekkie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie has done the series justice

    I grew up watching the Star Trek t.v. series, and I must say that this movie has done the series justice. You don't have to know anything about the series to enjoy and understand the movie. It explains the plot and characters in such a way, that they become more dimensional. My favorite part is the beginning of the movie. It moved me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great fun

    Fans of Star Trek will not be disappointed by this "prequel" to the original series, and many of those unfamiliar with the series will find it highly enjoyable as well.

    It is a good rousing action adventure story that is well told, well acted and beautifully visualized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT SINCE STAR TREK VI "THE UNDISCOVERED COUNTRY" HAS THE TREKIES WORLD BEEN THE SAME!!!! To quote 'Spacebunny' Star Trek is...boldly going on!!!!! THE BEST 2 HOURS & 06 MINUTES YOU CAN SPEND, BAR NONE...MAY WANT TO WATCH IT THREE TIME

    Sad that William Shattner was not part of this film :-( >While using Nimoy of the future & Zachary Quinto as the young Spock was awesome as Mr. Spock was my favorite among elite characters!!! >My mother, who loved Shatner, would have loved Chris Pine as the young W. T. Kirk! >Karl Urban was a perfect complaining young Dr. McCoy!!! >The 'affair' between the young Mr. Spock & Lt. Uhura (Zoe Saldana) caught me off guard and I don't see the physical looks between the young Uhura & the ORIGINAL ONE, sorry. >>THANKS for the truth on how Cadet Kirk, the only one to beat "Kobayashi Maru" and how young Mr. Spock had a hand in it. >The history of how Scotty (Simon Pegg) came into 'the family' was different & awesome as well!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I was worried. I'm a fan of the original. We're talking sacred adolescent memory. I loved this 21st Century Star Trek!

    What's not to love?
    The actors nailed the characters.
    The story was classic Trek!
    The images alone could beam you up.
    Star Trek is...boldly going on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek-the Prequel

    I am a Trekkie from the 60s so I know the plots, details and personages pretty well. This movie did a good job of tieing things together. In fact there are so many details worked through that it takes repeated veiwings to catch them all.

    It was good to see Leonard Nimoy in the story. It is a shame that William Shatner could not cameo somehow. He got a bad rap for his acting but given the 60s and the production environment he did his best. The actors all do a great job of portraying their subsequent selves. I think Dr. McCoy's likeness was the best done of them all. A lot of the character nuances were captured. Chris Pine did a good Kirk but doesn't always have the flair one expects but at the point in the story, Kirk was a work in progress. Some of the sex stuff was not needed but for the marketing needs it was put in there I feel.

    I recommend the movie to Trekkies and casuals alike. Enjoyable movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Exciting and Rip-Roaring Fun

    This is one of the most entertaining, fast-paced and fun movies I've seen in many years.

    My perspective is admittedly influenced by being a fan of the original Star Trek T.V. series because one of the most endearing parts of the movie is seeing how characters I came to know and love (i.e. Kirk, Spock, Bones, Scotty, Uhura, Sulu and Chekov) became crew members on the U.S.S. Enterprise. But for viewers unfamiliar with the original show there's still plenty of entertainment, humor and fun here that does not require pre-knowledge. (This fact was validated by my son, 21, daughter, 17, and their friends that knew nothing about the original series but thoroughly enjoyed the film.)

    The pace is quick, the special effects are compelling, the actors very well cast and there's plenty of humor and emotional tension.

    The only two negatives for me in the film are:
    1. The plot revolves around messing with the "time/space continuum," which works well in this film but is a formula that has been overused in Star Trek shows and movies.
    2. Nero (the "bad-guy") comes across like an angry, juvenile delinquent so he's more irritating than frightening.

    These two negatives take little away from the film, which is why I would still give it 5 stars. It's great escapism, satisfying and even inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trek Is Back

    For a franchise that had previously been sliding towards pop culture insignificance, this film is an effective and satisfying reboot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    An original Star Trek fan I loved how this one told the back story. And has opened some doors for future movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    Loved this movie at the theaters and couldn't wait for the release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8