Customer Reviews for

Star Trek

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very tal...
I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

posted by pinkrose on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended Unless You'll Watch Anything Called "Star Trek"

This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't s...
This movie was a disappointment. The reasons? Kirk as a boy made me shudder. Scotty's new "space monkey" sidekick made me wonder when the chief engineer was going to break out an organ grinder and a tin cup. Spock's "futuristic" ship made me wonder why they didn't simply put a propeller on the rear. Scotty beaming (accidentally) into a hydro-turbine makes as much sense on a starship powered by a matter-anti-matter reaction as a group of midshipmen madly pedaling stationary bicycle generators on board a modern nuclear submarine. The acting held only a few glimmers of appeal. The new "McCoy" and "Chekov" managed to prop up the film in that regard. Leonard Nimoy was a welcome addition, although he could be wheeled onto a Star Trek set and required only to wink at the camera to satisfy most fans of the original series. What is next, given this schlock approach to a once venerable Sci-fi franchise? Will the young Kirk's new five year mission be comprised of broadcasts of interplanetary cooking shows that he hosts from orbit from a professional kitchen on board the new Enterprise? (Somehow, Rodenberry knew how incompatible cooking is with good Sci-fi.) I wonder how long those who created this "Galaxy Quest with Star Trek Characters" will need to reintroduce hanging carcasses and meat cleavers. I do hope they find a better script for any future films in this series, and avoid more, ridiculous uniform changes and character additions.

posted by Not_Impressed on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Newest Star Trek Movie Awesome Five Stars!!!!!

    I am a Star Trek fan since the original series with Shatner and Nimoy. I've watched most of the movies and knew this one was reprising the original roles with new young actors I was afraid they could not fill the formidible shoes of the original cast. They were very talented actors and made the roles their own. Kudo's to the new Spock. His performance stood out. All the cast was great. I liked the way it showed the early lives of the main characters till they got on the Starship Enterprise. There was also a new romance that added some spice. I recommend this to all Trekies and sc-fi fans and yes the special effects were better than expected. I hope for more sequels soon and some Tribbles!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unreal!

    I was lucky to win tickets to this movie through a radio station. Was I ever grateful! I would have definitely paid to see this no questions asked! I absolutely loved this movie. I even saw it at an IMAX theater, which made the experience even more amazing. I will absolutely purchase this movie and watch it a few more times!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding!

    I, like many other people I knew, were a bit skeptical about this new Star Trek movie at first. We liked the concept of the start of the Enterprise and it's crew, and the fact that somehow, Leonard Nimoy was going to be in it, so we decided that it was definitely worth a shot, to see how they did with it. Obviously, J.J. Abrahms was behind it too, so it couldn't be all that bad. I walked out of the theatre after this absolutely blown away. I simply loved it...so much so that I saw it another 2 times in the theatre overtime as well. They could not have chosen a better cast to play the roles of the young starfleet in this, and the action was amazing. The incorporation of the old Spock was really cool too. I liked what they did with that. The whole cast did great, and the movie was absolutely stellar! I am definitely going to be picking this up when it comes out on DVD, and I would hope that and I would hope that any self respecting sci fi and Star Trek lover will too. Even if you're not that big of a fan of the original Star Trek series, but still enjoy a good sci fi flick here and there, trust me...definitely do give this a watch. It's awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Summer Movie of 2009!!!

    This is an exciting, visually stunning movie. It moves along at a very crisp pace, and seems shorter than its 2hr, 6 min. The plot and script are very inclusive of Trekkies and non-Trekkies alike. Hopefully, there will be at least 2 more sequels. I can't wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See!

    I am a die hard Star Trek fan, and was extremely nervous the closer it came to the movie's release date. The more I heard about the film, the more I was sure that Abrams missed the mark. I enjoy Abrams' work, I just wasn't sure that an admitted Star Wars fan could understand Star Trek.
    I was wrong.
    The storyline sets the action and characters up for more freedom than I though possible, but even though a wide range of liberties is allowed by the opening plot device, Abrams, Pine, and the others manage to hit the mark with their characters. I LOVED this movie, and think that it has breathed new life into the series. Simply put - it was fantastic, and I cannot wait for another entry.
    A must see!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING MOVIE!!!!

    Though having been a sci-fi fan my entire life, I had never really had much interest in Star Trek until I saw this movie. This movie is phenomenal! It really plays off of actual scientific theories and human psychology, not to mention the incredibly gifted cast and unique plot. Star Trek will have you on the edge of your seat from the beginning and leave you wanting more at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Impressed

    Finally, a Star Trek film par excellent! I loved the original episode, really liked The Next Generation, but the quality somehow began dwindling after that . . . and the movies. <sigh> With the exception of The Wrath of Khan, the movies have lacked (usually a plot), until this gem. I was thrilled that the actors chosen looked and acted true to the original characters, and with the exception of that Spock/Uhura thing (What the heck was THAT?) the entire movie experience was wonderful. I also liked that they stayed true to the look of the original series. I took my daughter with me, who has never watched anything Star Trek, and she became an instant fan. They could so easily follow this movie up with another series (using the same actors, I would hope) because the history of the original series has been changed dramatically. Or another movie like this one - I'd definitely would be there! I've been to every one, but I would be excited this time. "Spock" and "McCoy" were especially great, though Uhura's character could use a little professionalism and keep her lips to herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST SEE MOVIE

    For Not_Impressed dude you need to get a grip. They remade the series for the younger generation at the same time trying to keep with the old. I am a trekkie at heart. I love the way the younger versions of the original characters stayed true to the old characters personality. Plus the update in costumes stayed very close to the original, along with the sounds of the ship, but giving it a high teck look. Over all this was one of the best movies I have ever seen in a while and stays very close and true to the original version of Star Trek. Its got action, comedy, and romance plus it has a few surprises for the original Trekkies out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME MOVIE

    I loved this movie... I have watched every Star Trek Movie that has come out and every episode of every show... ok ok im a fan... but this movie is so good its fantastic.. Its like the original series with its fast action and interpersonal drama. It changes the way things were in the original... making it a new experience. Reviving an old friend into something freash .. new.. and exiciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one seriously amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is one of the greatest star trek movies ever made cant wait till j j abrams directs the sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Pleasantly surprised

    My husband received this movie as a Christmas gift on bluray. He never got to see it on the big screen. One night we sat down to watch it. I got my book and turned on the light, because I have never been a big fan. Within the first 5 min, I turned off the light and shut my book. I couldn't look away, I was hooked. This movie was filled with excitement, action, and great effects. The story line was great. I told my friends at work that they had to watch it, even if they didn't follow Star trek. One of my friends asked if star trek was the show that had Princess Leigha in it (she still would like it). The actors were talented and had a great resemblance to the original cast. I was very impressed. we have watched it 2 times since and I'm sure we will watch it again. I would recommend it to anyone-- even those who aren't trekkies..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original Star Trek crew-I LOVED IT! A 5-Star+++++

    I was so worried about new actors portraying the young (original) crew of the Enterprise. To me there is, and always has been, only the original crew of Star Trek. But my fears were put aside as soon as this "E" ticket ride began. The pace is frenetic, cinematography is outstanding, the special effects are amazing and realistic, the soundtrack is fitting, the script is well written and the cast is stellar. I don't know how these young actors pulled off portraying these larger than life characters without becoming parodies. It all flowed and meshed so well. Quinto's portrayal of Spock was especially incredible. I had to do a couple of double-takes. I love the scenes of outer space in this film. They are like the old science fiction works of art. They make for an interesting contrast to all the action going on in this film. This is one of those films I can watch over and over and not get tired of. I Want MORE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome take on how the whole thing started!

    I was very impressed, the special effects and soundtrack are great. I have not been on the edge of my seat since The Matrix. A great movie for Trekkies...old and new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can't Believe They Pulled It Off

    I'm a Star Trek fan going way back and I thought Enterprise a disgrace. I felt in that show they were trying to reset, erase the original with no affection or respect toward that material and I stopped watching after the first season. After that I had little fate in any reboot project, and I was dubious about one set in the academy, since that conflicts with what we knew. Well, without giving you spoilers, lets just say they pull that off with style, that this had many moments and homages an old fan would enjoy, while I know quite a few non-Trekkies who became fans after viewing this--ones that bought this DVD and watch it again and again with pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek

    Excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely fantastic!

    The makers of this film were spot on in their casting. Karl Urban, as Dr McCoy, and Simon Pegg, as Mr Scott, were the best, but the casting truly is stellar overall. Chris Pine as James Kirk is strikingly handsome, self-depriciatingly funny, and has amazing timing with Zachary Quinto (Mr Spock), who is introspective with a biting wit--the humor and their timing is evident in the "gag reel" that is included in the DVD when they do an entire scene improv with an accent. Basically, the story takes off when Eric Bana's character of Nero alters things a bit. This allows all of the characters to have a new life, and it also breathes life into this series as we are able to go on a new adventure with some amazing characters. This film is a blast from start to finish, and has some fabulous humor and tributes to the original characters. It's awesome--enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ^_^

    Brilliant. A very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6