Customer Reviews for

Star Trek - First Contact

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Only for the Die Hard Fan

    I'm a Star Trek purist - I like Kirk, Spock, and the original characters. If you look at the TNG series, the attempt at updated special effects, etc just don't hold up as well today - things look cheesy (in a really bad way) as they weren't as lovingly made as the original series episodes with Kirk. When the series lost steam and ratings dwindled, they started making films with bigger budgets - none of which broke any financial or critical records to be certain. While the Borg are menacing at first in the series, Patrick Stewart et al simply fail to create characters with any enduring attractiveness - perhaps we got the "thinking mans Kirk" but we also got fairly lame writing and bland "mail it in & cash the check" acting - the plot is essentially Terminator remade with Borgs going back in time instead of Schwarzenegger - fans are fans and many will disagree, but this side-pool of the Trek Universe is best left untouched - stick to the main ocean of Kirkdom if you truly are a fan - and if you want robots going back in time to stop the future of humanity - go with Terminator.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Trek - First Contact

    I thought I was ordering the latest Star Trek movie which was sensational. I ordered this one by mistake. I never liked this iteration of Star Trek, so I donated it to the library at the College where I work. My husband watched it. He was bored to tears. I guess we're just Star Trek purists - we like Kirk, Spock, and the original characters who were campy, funny, talented, and witty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My bestest Star Trek

    In 1966, The first episode called Star trek. In 1996, When watched a movie called Star Trek First Contact. Because he loves Star Trek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome!!!!!!!

    This movie very awsome, it had me on my toes for woundering what would happpen next!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best next generation movie ever

    definitely the strongest of the tng films, the action and story are awesome, and the borg kicked so much butt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies Ever!

    This is the second best Star Trek Movie ever. The best is Star Trek Nemisis(I'm not exactly sure how it's spelled,but it is the BEST). First Contact has action and adventure and a storyline trekkies and non-trekkies alike will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Golden age of trek

    The power of tng cast waxes in this film, and frakes' directional flair, though plagaristic, is sublime. from the very first opening sequence, seeing picard's eye, panning back to see the enormity of the borg vessel is truly mind numbing. the drama is never let up until the enterprise enters the temporal vortex, following the borg sphere back to the 21st century. seeing the enterprise-e for the first time was a joy, and picard's voice over cemented the emotion of the scene. this film, stood alone, would be a classic, but when joined with tng episodes ''q who?'' and ''best of both worlds pts 1 and 2'' makes a most satisfying epic. the only gripe i may have would be that the space battle was too short, and the promo poster of the enterprise fleeing a borg cube led me to expect something different than the film offered, but with respect to budget and time scales, i guess i'm asking a little too much. if for some reason you like star trek and you haven't seen this film, run like a maniac to the nearest store that sells films and watch it. twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fun to watch!

    I have this film on VHS and I have watched it so much that I will have to evetually buy the DVD for it. I am a BIG Star Trek fan, especially the Next Generation. I really enjoy this one because of the time travel. It was interesting to see how the Next Generation and the Borg were incorperated into the beginning of warp travel. I also enjoy seeing how Data becomes more human with each movie/show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ST First Contact

    The best ST ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Trek film.

    When I saw the trailers, I knew that this was going to be a great film and I was correct. I like that fact that this film has able to show that this crew are able to do a film without TOS crew. Seeing the Borg especially the Borg Queen was scary. It showed why is she a very deadly adversary for Picard and Company. Other than that, this film also inspired Enterprise. See it this movie, I rank it as the best Trek film along with 2,4,6,and 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That right mix of melodrama, action and adventure.

    Star Trek Generations (1994) was the first movie to feature the Next Generation crew, but it was not a true Next Generation movie. Generations was a passing of the baton, a few leftovers from the Original Series, passing on the franchise to the Next Generation crew. Kirk (Shatner) would have been much better served to have retired and had his character go out on a high note in Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country. Thus Star Trek: First Contact (1996) was indeed the first full fledged Next Generation movie, and the best effort in the series since Wrath of Khan as far as finding that right mix of melodrama, action and adventure. Much like Wrath of Khan we have the cat and mouse mind games, in this one it's Pickard outwitting the Borg. Much like the Voyage Home we have a trip back to Earth to try to set the record straight and make sure history isn't distorted. Because of the nature of the Borg story line, it is definitely a little creepier, and a little darker than any other Trek movie, but the darkness is offset by having two very different story lines going on during the movie. The one story line deals with Pickard and the Borg, and for the most part is a pretty typical starship captain outwits the villain story line. In some respects this story line may be a little too Trek for the average movie viewer. You really need to have an appreciation of Next Generation Trek to fully understand this subplot. The other more light hearted story line deals with the crew making sure the history of earth's first contact with an alien race doesn't get distorted. A very interesting look at the post World War III human race and one mad scientist's experiment which causes the world to make contact with an extraterrestrial race. The Borg story line by itself may have made this movie a little to dark and a little too Trek to have been successful, but mixed with the first contact story and the interesting tie in to both human history and Trek history, the movie pulls it all together nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best Star Trek of them all

    This is the film that is most exciting, has the best special effects, the best sets, and one of the best stories of them all. The borg are by far the most thrilling enemy in the Star Trek franchise. Patrick Stewart is absoloutely superb, giving his best performance as Captain Jean-Luc Picard. If you have never seen a Star Trek film, or a Star Trek episode, this is definitely the one to start with. It's the best of them all. Just incase you didn't know - Jonathan Frakes (who plays Commander Riker) directs this movie along with the next, Star Trek Insurrection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie without the orignal cast

    ''First Contact'' ranks equal to the second ''Star Trek'' movie ''The Wrath of Khan''. Like ''Khan''. ''First Contact'' is based on one of the tv shows. It's well acted and quite enjoyable. Even non Star Trek fans will enjoy this movie. Also, the Borg queen was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2