Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

blows whos your caddy out of the water!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ThrillerReturns on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

this movie stinks

this movie stinks

posted by 11559981 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    blows whos your caddy out of the water!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one totally awesome movie it rocks from the very begining to the very end

    one totally awesome movie it rocks from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic

    George Lucas has done more then enrich the minds of young kids who dream of space battles, aliens, other worlds, laser guns, flying cars, spaceships, and Jedi Knights. He has also embedded ancient mythology and symbolism in a modern format that is easier to identify with and alot more fun. Further more he has shown how gentle a thing Democracy is and how greed and the pursuit of power can easily destroy everything the people hope to build. More so its easy to draw parallels between the Clone Wars and the American Civil War. But to focus on the important part is to focus on the characters... never has a science fiction film put so much depth in characters as george lucas does. This Episode 3 is mindless in its constant pace towards its heart wrenching conclusion which sees the rise to power of Emperor Palpatine, the death of Anakin Skywalker who would be reborn in the end as Darth Vader, the death of Padme and from her sacrifice the birth of Anakin and Leia. The romance in the movie is tragic to watch and the genocide of the Jedi Order is even worse. A contemporary classic and masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Destiny is Fulfilled, A Galaxy Plunged in Darkness

    Star Wars is the most momentous creation ever developed chronicling the histories and perils of humankind, when it is forced to look within itself and determine the divergance between good and evil. The culmination of this struggle reigns within the Jedi Order, and the culmination of this saga within Revenge of the Sith. Here, within a single episode, in merely two hours, hopes are shattered, dreams desolated, heroes perish, and a journey begins that will extend as long as the Force shall bind and penetrate the galaxy. Revenge of the Sith is a magnificant film, with breathtaking action, superb acting, and a heart-shattering ending that will bring tears to your eyes. Although some persist that Hayden Christensen's acting is monotone and dry, they fail to grasp the deliberate calousness and pain he places in every word, and the fact that he can radiate such emotion and emptyness at times. The PG-13 rating should not be too much of a concern, although the tension and emotion which are a substantial portion of the story do become unbearable for younger viewers. I must say that the only other film that pervades such emotion is Planet of the Apes. Undoubtedly, the Force is still with us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Anakin Skywalker's tragic story!

    From beggining to end this, this is a totally awsome movie.About Anakin's turn to the dark side.But the Mustafar batttle between Anakin Skywalker and his former master, Obi Wan Kenobi has got be the most remebered battle in the Star Wars saga. Hayden Christensen has defenently outdone himself in this one.That declares Star Wars Episode III Revenge of the Sith the best movie ever for the Star Wars saga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best of the Prequels

    The movie was great. George Lucas knows how to tell an outstanding story. I reccommend this movie to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best- The Only

    I really loved this movie. This is very close to being my favorite- my first is Attack of the Clones- because of the whole Dark-Side feeling to it. The Anakin VS Obi-Wan scene is absolutely extraordinary, and to truly enjoy it you need to take in the music playing during that scene and the awesome choreography of the lightsaber moves, which completely captivates me. I really cannot stand people who think that the prequels are terrible- the graphics are great, the characters are as they should be, and the dialogue is exactly what I had expected. Watch this movie, but don't watch the movies out of order. It is a great flick and the greatest conclusion to the saga and a great movie for conversation. The music- Battle of the Heroes- completely rocks as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie of the whole saga!!

    I think this movie was the best out of all six. The storyline and plot were very well done. Ewan Mcgregor and Hayden Christensen did an outstanding job together. This was also a great setup for the next three movies which we all love. George Lucas finally got it right on this movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best of all Star Wars movies

    Ok I know all you sentimentalists will think that is sacriledge, but face it, it is the truth. Revenge of the Sith is the most action packed of all six Star Wars movies, It has the best one on one light sabre fight and the acting is better than the original. If you don't believe me, then watch this movie and then watch episode four.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Prequel

    This completely outdoes the other 2 prequels. Its great to see Chewbacca, Vader, and all those other old guys again. Though the acting gets a little rough at times, it is a major improvement to the last two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    George Lucas intended the prequel trilogy to be about Anakin, A

    George Lucas intended the prequel trilogy to be about Anakin, Amidala and Obi-wan. In many ways it turned out to be Palpatine's trilogy, a Sith trilogy.

    At the beginning Sidious had staged his own capture. Let the Separatists believe they had captured Chancellor Palpatine. Only Dooku knew that Sidious and Palpatine were the same man. Not even Grievous knew the truth.

    Anakin and Obi-wan were sent to rescue the Chancellor. As far as Dooku knew the plan was for him to kill Obi-wan and then stage his own capture by Anakin. He believed that the plan was for him push Anakin to the edge of the dark side and for his grief over Obi-wan to push him over the edge.

    Sidious watched as the 3 of them dueled. Obi-wan thrown across the room and knocked cold. Then Dooku did indeed push Anakin. The result was Dooku loosing both his hands, and being at Anakins mercy.

    Laughing with delight Palpatine commanded Anakin to kill Dooku. Sidious watch as Dooku realized, in the few seconds that Anakin hesitated, that he'd never really been the Sith Apprentice - realized he'd just been temporarily holding that place. Then Sidious's chosen apprentice decapitated him.

    Anakin then freed the Chancellor, then went to revive Obi-wan. Palpatine commanded Anakin to leave him behind while the 2 of them escaped, he refused. Killing Dooku had made Anakin vulnerable to the Dark Side, but not enough - not yet.

    Sidious's next step was to send Obi-wan to battle Grievous. He knew that Anakin had recently had a vision of Amidala's death and that only Obi-wan's influence could keep Anakin's attachment to her under control. With Obi-wan absent Palpatine revealed who and what he really was to Anakin.

    Anakin didn't immediately accept the offer of becoming the Sith Apprentice, even with Sidious's promise that he had the power to protect Amidala. Anakin revealed Palpatine's true identity to the Jedi. Who immediately went to arrest Palpatine. Which was exactly what he wanted.

    Sidious dueled several Jedi and killed most. However Master Windu reflected Sidious's own Sith lightning back at him. How and why Sidious's face changed during that battle is unclear, perhaps even he didn't fully understand it. Whatever the reason his face became corrupted, a manifestation of his inner darkness.

    The duel got Sidious what he wanted. By trying to arrest the legal Chancellor the Jedi technically became traitors. Also Anakin had finally given in to Darkness that had been swelling in him since he murdered Dooku, together he and Sidious killed Windu. Immediately afterward Sidious renamed his knew apprentice Darth Vader.

    Order 66 was just one of many contingency plans the clone trooper had been trained with. It was hidden among so many others, unnoticed. With the Jedi legally traitors Palpatine was free to issue order 66. That had been the entire reason for the clone wars. Because the clone troops would take the Jedi completely by surprise. All over the galaxy thousands of Jedi perished, almost at once.

    An assault on the Jedi temple was lead by Vader, on Sidious's order. Afterwards Sidious sent Vader to kill the Separatist leaders - to officially end the clone wars.

    Palpatine already controlled the senate. In essence he'd been an emperor for some time. With the Jedi dead he simply declared that officially true. Democracy died with Thunderous applause, and an empire was born.

    Afterward Yoda came to kill Sidious. The Jedi Grand Master and the Sith Master dueled in the Senate -in the very heart of what Palpatine had spend his life trying to destroy. They were deciding the fate of the galaxy right there. They'd become the embodiment of the Force, they were Light vs. Darkness, winner take all. Sidious proved stronger.

    Once Yoda was defeated, once Sidious was no longer in immediate danger, he quickly sensed that Lord Vader once in danger - mortal danger, and went to save him.

    For all his power and knowledge not even Sidious had been prepared for Vader's defeat on Mustafar. Was dismayed to find Vader dismembered and horribly burned.

    Some Force users believe the loss of so much of his body would weaken his Force connection, other believe it would only limit the ways he could express that power. Either way artificial hands and legs would prevent him from casting lightning, and leaping about as the Jedi often did. Vader would be physically maimed and his power restricted.

    Even with all that Sidious knew Vader would still be stronger than any other. Surgeon droids replaced limbs with prosthetics and sealed Vader in a life support suit. Vader would be imprisoned in the suit for the rest of his years.

    Then Sidious informed Vader of his wife's death. Leaving Vader with nothing but the Dark Side and his Master. Sidious believed beyond any doubt that Anakin was dead and only Vader remained.

    At the end Sidious and Vader were looking at the skeletal structure of a, still unnamed, moon sized space station. A space station who's power core, internal structure, and primary weapon were still completely theoretical. It would take nearly 2 decades to turn theory into application.

    Sidious's plans were complete. The Jedi order was destroyed and republic was no more. His apprentice was his at last - even if Vader wasn't precisely what he'd bargained for originally. The galaxy was his to rule as he saw fit.

    But there were a few things Sidious was unaware of. Things Yoda and Obi-wan had concealed from him. That Amidala had lived long enough to give birth. That on Tatooine and Alderon the Skywalker Twins lived. That once grown and reunited those Twins would play key roles in the destruction of that space station. That the twins were fated bring about the redemption of their father and the end of Sidious & the Sith line he ruled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Revenge of the Sith has to be the best Star Wars movie I have ever seen.Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now that some time has passed...

    I would put this fourth best ... the original trilogy is timeless ... this is merely excellent! Can't wait for the conclusion of Indiana Jones, in Part Four. George Lucas is Mainstream Movies' only storyteller. A man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    9 Years!

    I waited 9 years for this movie. When I heard they were making a prequel trilogy, I knew we would get to finally see how Anakin became Darth Vader. After Episode I, I was almost afraid for the trilogy. Episode II brought my hopes up. Could I wait another 3 years? Then, finally, Episode III. It was so much better than the other two. Infact, it might be the best one yet. It had more of a story than Episodes I and II, and the special effects improved by leaps and bounds! I saw the movie four times in theaters, and I bought it the day it came out on DVD. Do the same. But it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whew...

    Out of the 20 years I've been alive, I've spent more than half of them waiting for each of the three titles belonging to the prequel of a movie that started before I was born. The first two were entertaining for nearly any audience, but (the first one especially) was less than impressive for true Star Wars fans. All of our hopes fell on Revenge of the Sith. Will George cap it off with a bang, or will adding Spielburg only help to grab a new audience without laying Star Wars disciples' fears to rest. Well my friends, I can breathe a sigh of relief. I watched Episode III three times in the theaters. Each time I caught myself on the edge of my seat. Not only did George answer every question left by the 5 previous movies, and in a way that left me awe-stricken, but he did so with Spielburg's movie magic. Outstanding acting, suspenseful progression, ...and a Gangland-style hit on the council. I got chills when Vader rose and began that ominous breathing that we know so well. The only issues even worth mentioning would be the anti-climatic ending with Padme' giving birth through excruciating pain, then naming the kids off like nothing was wrong, and an incredibly fast paced progression after Anakin fell. While this is masterful scripting and directing...damn I just wished it were an hour or two longer. He did it my friends, he really did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sith Is The Best of all the Trilogy

    I loved this movie it has surpassed all the others by far. But one disappointment was at the end of the movie, when Anikan asked about Padmae and it was James Earl Jones's voice instead of Hayden's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite possibly the 3rd best Star Wars ever

    Lets face it, nothing can trump Empire or Return of the Jedi. But this episode is probably better than a New Hope. It returned to basics, except for some scenes: smart dialog, technology to enhance the story not for the WOW! factor, and a good story. Although, there were some stupid scenes. Like Padme's birth scenes. Confusing and very anti-climatic. And R2-D2 did some very ... strange ... stuff at times. Still, a lot of things were done right. When Anakin went on the dark side, the atmosphere was perfect. Obi-Wan's roles were great. Definately not a movie for children, but definately a winner for Lucas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    breathtaking

    Words cannot describe this movie...it's just that awe-inspiring. I think it was just so awesome how when those infamous words "A long time ago In a galaxy far far away" came up on the screen how dead silent the theatre was...and then when the music began and "Episode III REVENEGE OF THE SITH" came scrolling up how the theatre EXPLODED into applause with shouts and whistles. This was the moment we had all been waiting SO LONG for. 3 words...MY NEW FAVORITE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4