Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: The Complete Saga

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    The newest release!

    I have been awaiting a complete collection box set release. Although I had hoped it would take the form of an anniversary kit I am glad that have decided to create the release.

    The only great disappointment is that they still refuse to provide copies of the original films in the collections. I would love to watch the films in the forms I grew up with and continue to love. The additional scenes are nice, but it would be great to watch the originals once in a while.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    these movies are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    star wars is my favorite movie saga due to my favorite charecters being in all the films even a charecter in a minor role wedge antilles obi wan han luke leia chewbecca yoda etc etc etc etc etc this box set is worth buying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Star Wars - Blu Ray

    I wanted to base this review purely off what you get in this boxed set. To start I am in my forties and have been a fan of the franchise since the beginning, I am not a purist snob, but I do have an affection for these films beyond the celluloid they are printed on.

    First, the box. I have no idea why companies keep making non-standard boxes. They think I want a collector's item, but what I really want is something that looks uniform with the rest of my collection. The inside box is tight and it is hard to get in and out of - plus the "sleeves" make it impossible to remove discs without getting fingerprints on them.

    Second the artwork on the box is all original and new for this release. One question... why? With so much vintage art available from the archives - why on earth commission new pieces? Lucas seems to think the fans want "new" stuff, but the reality is - we want the old stuff! In addition this "new" artwork - is horrible. Some of it looks like it was done by High School students for a county faire.

    Third - bonus disks. Even though there is enough material in the archives to make a boxed set for each movie (like Lord of the Rings did) Lucas has put the special features for 3 films together on one disk. Each movie is broken down into "planets" but the features are not always directly related to the planets - it's all very haphazard.

    A typical special feature disk would include interviews with the costume designers, set designers, script writers, location scouts, the director and actors. Surprisingly, those features are sparse to non-existent. The vast majority of interviews and features are about the model builders and special effects team members. For episodes 4-6 the features are almost 90% the same 4 model builders. Again, with so many vintage interviews and archives - why give us new material?

    The third special feature disk are Star Wars vignettes not even put together by Lucas - most of these are independent or have been on television already. From all of my past Star Wars discs, I have a slew of shows that COULD have been included - but were not - not to mention the hard to find Holiday Episode.

    The movies themselves are gorgeous! I have a high def player, showing 1080p and I have no idea why so many reviewers say that these prints look bad. Admittedly there are some scenes which look darker than others, and there are fractions of moments that look grainy, but I have several copies of these films (including the lazer disk burns) and these are by and far the best.

    As a star wars fan, I own them, I have to. Do I wish they were better? Of course, but perhaps as a fan boy, nothing will ever live up to my expectations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    What.....Special Editions?!?!?!?!?

    I'm really excited to see this come out, but I wish they would have left the SE's out and put the originals back in. To me, the 3 movies I saw in '77, '80 & '83 in the theaters too many times to count, are the REAL versions.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    i love this movie series

    this saga is amazing im buying this box set for my friends for christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2