BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Trilogy (3-Disc Set)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I don't like the new changes!

It's the classic Star Wars trilogy everyone loves, but it has the new modifications to it. I'll admit some of the special FX are better, but the end of Return of the Jedi features the newer Anakin Skywalker. It was an interesting surprise (sorry I ruined it), but it too...
It's the classic Star Wars trilogy everyone loves, but it has the new modifications to it. I'll admit some of the special FX are better, but the end of Return of the Jedi features the newer Anakin Skywalker. It was an interesting surprise (sorry I ruined it), but it took from the originality.

posted by LT_JT on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't get this version!

There's a reason that movies are filmed in Panavision -- they are more interesting to watch that way. If you buy this DVD version of the Star Wars Trilogy, you will be missing 40% of the visuals that were put together. The sides of the movie will be cropped off to fit a...
There's a reason that movies are filmed in Panavision -- they are more interesting to watch that way. If you buy this DVD version of the Star Wars Trilogy, you will be missing 40% of the visuals that were put together. The sides of the movie will be cropped off to fit a square TV tube, and you will wind up with a severe case of tunnel vision.

The pan/scan process doesn't give you the total picture, and many important moments are completely lost, such as the puzzlement of C-3PO when Leia kisses Luke in "Empire," or the vastness of the Death Star landing bay in "Jedi."

Get the widescreen version of these movies, please!

posted by CarrieSue on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I don't like the new changes!

    It's the classic Star Wars trilogy everyone loves, but it has the new modifications to it. I'll admit some of the special FX are better, but the end of Return of the Jedi features the newer Anakin Skywalker. It was an interesting surprise (sorry I ruined it), but it took from the originality.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Poor Sebastian Shaw

    I really have to voice my disdain over Lucasfilm's decision to splice in a new Anakin for the DVD release. It might make sense, but the only time we get to see what Sebastian Shaw looked like was at the end of REturn of the Jedi. There are other mistakes too. Anakin never wore the light colored robes and he looks like he is strung out on drugs. I still love the films, but am keeping my VHS tapes too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great, However A lot of Voilence

    Star Wars Trilogy is great. The movies are very interesting to watch, however the movies could encourage voilence in some kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    At last!

    It's been a long wait for these movies to appear on DVD--and there was a time when George Lucas publicly stated that the day would never come. I'm a "Star Wars" fan from way back, although not so rabid that I feel as though Lucas is some sort of Antichrist for choosing to release on DVD only the "Special Edition" versions of the 1977-1983 trilogy, with their digitally enhanced special effects and new footage (which have been further amended for DVD). I'd go so far as to say that with a couple of exceptions (e.g., there wasn't a crying need to alter the confrontation between bounty hunter Greedo and Han Solo so that Han no longer shoots first), the revisions are valid and in many cases represent improvements. In any case, while specific details of a few scenes have been changed compared to the original theatrical releases, the essentials of what made fans love these movies in the first place have not. They tell the same stories that they did when first released to theatres over 20 years ago. And original versions or not, these space operas have never looked or sounded better than they do on DVD. I'm not alone in thinking that Lucas will relent eventually and give the disappointed "Star Wars" purists what they want--DVDs of the original trilogy as released to theatres in the late '70s and early '80s. But at the same time, I'm beginning to come around to Lucas' belief that the original versions are now superseded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well worth the wait, but it had it's price.

    Having the Star Wars Trilogy on dvd is great, but the thing that bothers me is that they are the Special Edition. The remastered originals without the new scenes(greedo shoots first...please,george.) were much classier and showed a sense of style that reflected the age. It is one thing to reintergrate the deleted scenes, but to change classic scenes. That seems wrong in a way. I give this a 4 stars, simply because it's Star Wars. True to the originals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Han Solo SHOULD Shoot First

    Although I'll be more than happy to finally have the 'originals' on DVD, couldn't Mr. Lucas have done what Spielberg did with 'ET?' Have the original on one side, and the updated on the B side? Or is this just a clever marketing ploy to make us buy ANOTHER trilogy in two or three years?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    ''Let's destroy the classic Star Wars trilogy''

    Well I'm a Star Wars collector, & I love the clasic Trilogy, & when in the lates 90's Lucas & his team start the process to add new materials was cool & everybody went to the premiers & was kind of excitement, but when you watch the movies again, you'll say c'mon ''George'' Don't destroy our cool Star Wars memories...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    I agree, but give the guy a break!

    I agree that I'm just dying to have the trilogy on DVD, but give the guy a break. He's in the middle of making not one but TWO more movies. I'm willing to wait if he's going to make them the cool thing he wants them to be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2