BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Trilogy (3-Disc Set)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I don't like the new changes!

It's the classic Star Wars trilogy everyone loves, but it has the new modifications to it. I'll admit some of the special FX are better, but the end of Return of the Jedi features the newer Anakin Skywalker. It was an interesting surprise (sorry I ruined it), but it too...
It's the classic Star Wars trilogy everyone loves, but it has the new modifications to it. I'll admit some of the special FX are better, but the end of Return of the Jedi features the newer Anakin Skywalker. It was an interesting surprise (sorry I ruined it), but it took from the originality.

posted by LT_JT on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't get this version!

There's a reason that movies are filmed in Panavision -- they are more interesting to watch that way. If you buy this DVD version of the Star Wars Trilogy, you will be missing 40% of the visuals that were put together. The sides of the movie will be cropped off to fit a...
There's a reason that movies are filmed in Panavision -- they are more interesting to watch that way. If you buy this DVD version of the Star Wars Trilogy, you will be missing 40% of the visuals that were put together. The sides of the movie will be cropped off to fit a square TV tube, and you will wind up with a severe case of tunnel vision.

The pan/scan process doesn't give you the total picture, and many important moments are completely lost, such as the puzzlement of C-3PO when Leia kisses Luke in "Empire," or the vastness of the Death Star landing bay in "Jedi."

Get the widescreen version of these movies, please!

posted by CarrieSue on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding series!

    Now that the saga is complete (for now), this brings the series to a close for this particular storyline. It will be interesting to see in the years to come after George Lucas passes away who be holding the reigns? And whether they will continue with SW movies in the Expanded Universe as the books that have been printed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    star wars

    Star Wars Rating Star wars is an epic adventure of a young man trying to find his place in life. A young Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) was raised by foster parents when he was separated from his birth parents because of the terrible war taking place in outer space. He met an old friend of his birth father Obi Wan (Alec Guinness) who was an old hermit. Obi Wan told Luke about his father and of the force and Luke began on his heroic adventure to become the greatest Jedi master to have ever lived. Along the way Luke encounters and accompanies a wide variety of friends that help him along the way. Luke gains great power through his training and must fight the lord of the dark side Darth Vader (James Earl Jones) which he find out is actually his father. This movie was a great portrayal of the heroic journey and a classic good verses evil plot. It was a great movie to watch and is appropriate for the whole family. Star Wars by director George Lucas is, and always will be a classic American movie and one of the greatest movies of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Of The Greatest Stories Ever Told

    I remember watching Star Wars Trilogy with my dad growing up. I watched it so much I wore out the VHS tapes. These movies were well written, had the best acting with actors who had great chemistry and some of the best dialogue around. The story kept changing revealing more and more but still leaving you wanting more. I would recommend these movies to any Science Fiction fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh my word,

    I remember watching Star Wars when I was just 7 years old and to watch the entire saga in one day. I would do it again with my kids just because these are the best in Sci-Fi I have seen of late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now This Is a Sega

    Best Trilogy Ever! Never Have I Seen a Movie Better Than This!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DONT HAVE TO SAY A THING

    this collection is the best. Threw away those useless baseball cards and get it now do so and enjoy!! may the force be with you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect

    I recommend this DVD set to anyone who wants a great 6 and a half hours of pure fun and imagination. The CGI enhancements were necessary to preserve the films and I think they make them truly spectacular and believable, a perfection of George Lucas's vision!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT SERIES!

    the star wars series was always excellent. i enjoy watching these movies. my bro. and i are the only ones who really like star wars in my family. i thought star wars was stupid at first, but, after seeing it, i loved it! star wars rules!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    These are the greatest movies of all time

    This trilogy looks better than ever in the DVD version. They made some nice changes and additions that made the movies even better. Also, the special features in the Bonus Material disc were pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must

    SW is a MUST this Christmas season. It is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU MUST BUY THIS TRILOGY

    Listen this is the set that I grew up with and I still say its the best. Everybody that has seen these after seeing the new would agree that the new ones suck. I mean sure the old one has some old effects but I rather that than ruin it entirely. I mean there are even animated characters. In the clone wars almost every clone was cg animated. So if your a true Star Wars fan you must buy this set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hurray!

    Having worn out two sets of VHS, I'm hopeful that DVDs will last longer. I will never forget the first time Darth Vader came breathing down that corridor! Wow! Even after the magic was dimmed by all the 'How they did it', the original 3 are still great entertainment. With Indy, Star Trek, the Lord of the Rings and this trilogy....who needs anything more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Wars Trilogy

    Enhanced effects and a few altered scenes that didn't work well (Han should always have fired first) won't change the fact that this trilogy still kicks some major booty. Many of the additions are welcome and were well done in my opinion. I didn't like them all and feel that Greedy George should have packed the orginal unaltered films in the set somewhere... but none the less the orginal trilogy on DVD in any form should never recieve one star. To do so... is sacralidge! They simply weren't changed that much to earn that much of a deduction. I will gladly welcome these films into my DVD family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Star Wars Trilogy

    Enhanced effects and a few altered scenes that didn't work well (Han should always have fired first) won't change the fact that this trilogy still kicks some major booty. Many of the additions are welcome and were well done in my opinion. Sure... I didn't like all the changes and feel that Greedy George should have packed the orginal unaltered films in the set somewhere... but none the less THE HOLY TRILOGY on DVD in any form should never recieve "one star". To do so... is sacralidge! They simply weren't changed that much to earn that much of a deduction. I will gladly welcome these films into my DVD family! So no need to cry about it people... George will not release the unaltered versions... so we might as well get used to it... or quite simply don't be a Star Wars fan anymore... your choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In the top 134 movies of all time

    Great set of movies. The effects are a little bit outdated but they work. The best part of the movies is Princess Leah. The part where she kisses Chewbacca kept me warm through many a lonely night. The fight scene with the Enterprise and the Borg are just great. Use your power of the forces of the Jedi ninjas and buy these movies or just be lame.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's About Time for DVD !!!

    Well, it's really about time that the 3 classic Sci-Fi films that defined the genre are availible on the pristine DVD format. Thanks to George Lucas for that. I've waited a long time for this, & w/ the DVD release of Episodes 1 & 2, I knew that it was close. This is what home theater was made for...I own 100's of DVDs, but none come close to using the maximum power of my DVD home theater system. The lasers, sound effects, & especially the lightsaber battles blew me off of the chair! There seems to be a difference of opinion as to Lucas' choice to use Hayden Christensen's image (as opposed to Shaw's) @ the end of Episode VI. I, for 1, thought it was a good choice...it brings continuity to the 5 (& soon 6) films. This is a must-have for ANYONE w/ a DVD player who cherishes filmaking masterpieces. The Bonous Disc has some great surprises ( for those eagerly awaiting a sneak peek @ the ultimate battle between Obi-Wan & Anakin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    At last I can enjoy it in DVD

    This a great classic movie from all time and after a long waiting we finaly have one of the greatest movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bow Down to Genius

    The best Sci-Fi movie of all time has not disapointed. THe characters and images are beautiful to look at and the sound is superb. If you still don't own a DVD player here is the excuse you've been waiting for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    George Notices Peter Jackson

    George finally get's it. The latest Star Wars films are blown away by the LOTR and so Old George finally listens to the fans and puts The original Star Wars trilogy on DVD. I sat on the sidewalk for 4 hours to get into the priemer of Star Wars at the Cinerama in Seattle and it was worth the wait. I was blown away by the special effects. I've seen the remakes in the theaters and have the remakes on VHS. Finally I can have the DVD verisions. George what took you so long? I know you're rich,rich...rich but you should never forget you got that way from FANS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More Updated Effects

    These films may be the 1997 Special Editions, but Lucas has even changed some visual effects in the trilogy. For instance, Ian McDiarmid who played Emperor Palpatine in Return of the Jedi replaces the Emperor in the Empire Strikes Back. Hayden Christian replaces Sebastian Shaw as Anakin Skywalker durin the final celebration in Return of the Jedi. Also in Return of the Jedi, Naboo is shown during the celebration at the end of the film. These are just a few of the changes made to the trilogy, there are many, many more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9