Customer Reviews for

Stardust

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

better than you think!

This movie is way better than you think! The acting is incredible! I had never heard of charlie cox, but he did an excellent job! The script was great. Very entertaining! The music really goes well and cues up at the perfect times. The whole plot about charlie cox do...
This movie is way better than you think! The acting is incredible! I had never heard of charlie cox, but he did an excellent job! The script was great. Very entertaining! The music really goes well and cues up at the perfect times. The whole plot about charlie cox doing all these things to get his one true love, this pretty prissy girl from home, while all along falling in love with the woman that he experiences this adventure with is great! Although, from what I described it sounds like a chick flick, it really isn't! Every guy that has seen it thought it was awesome! I think my most favorite thing about this movie is the fact that I can watch it over and over again and each time catch something I didn't the last time. The characters were all interesting and well acted.

posted by nattylight on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I love Robert de Niro.It was okay but not great.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enchanting epic adventure

    A young man, a king on his deathbed, three princes vying for the throne, a princess held captive, witches and pirates all have more in common than one might think. They are all seeking a fallen star.

    I completely enjoyed this movie the first time I saw it and still enjoy it every time I see it. It is wonderfully cast and very well acted. The special effects are amazing. The scenery is beautiful and suits the magical kingdom. The pace is very fast, and when you finally think you can catch your breath because you have finally seen every little twist possible, there is another. I enjoyed not only Tristan's adventure, but watching him transform from a sweet, naive and rather gawky young man into a still sweet, but now confident and heroic man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    better than you think!

    This movie is way better than you think! The acting is incredible! I had never heard of charlie cox, but he did an excellent job! The script was great. Very entertaining! The music really goes well and cues up at the perfect times. The whole plot about charlie cox doing all these things to get his one true love, this pretty prissy girl from home, while all along falling in love with the woman that he experiences this adventure with is great! Although, from what I described it sounds like a chick flick, it really isn't! Every guy that has seen it thought it was awesome! I think my most favorite thing about this movie is the fact that I can watch it over and over again and each time catch something I didn't the last time. The characters were all interesting and well acted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    One of my favorite movies. The score is amazing! I love all the

    One of my favorite movies. The score is amazing! I love all the characters both heroes and villains. I don't purchase many DVD's but this one I have to have

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun Like Princess Bride

    This is the next Princess Bride movie. Lots of action, comedy and romance. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A surprise at the theater

    We arrived late and indecisive. Not knowing a thing about Stardust we simply chose it because it was due to start in 10 minutes. What luck to chose a fantastic fairy tale with some big actors. Loved Robert De Niro's character, and Michelle Pfeiffer as the OLD witch. Simply was a fresh treat! I am always for a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More than a whiff of stardust! MAGIC!

    Films that depend heavily on special effects as created by computer generated graphics have never been too interesting for this viewer - and that, of late, covers a lot of territory from the Harry Potter series through the continuous glut of sci-fi films, vampire tales, and apocalyptic epics, etc. But there is something very different about STARDUST that brings it into a realm of solid storytelling simply enhanced by well-done special effects, and that difference is in the story itself, an unabashed fairy tale populated with wonderful characters played by some of our finest actors. And it all begins with a wall (according to the narrator, Ian McKellen) that separates the real world from an enchanted place and through that wall runs a young lad who starts the frolic. Flash forward and the child of the runaway lad, Tristan (a magnetically alive Charlie Cox), has groan to maturity and has fallen in love with the beautiful Victoria (Sienna Miller) who demands a star from Tristan to prove his love. The magic begins when that 'star' falls from the sky in the form of Yvaine (Claire Danes, radiant even without the halo that surrounds her). The foul witch Lamia (Michelle Pfeiffer) and her wicked sisters become aware and plan to cut out the heart of Yvaine in order to gain immortality. The little village is also under the stranglehold of the impending loss of their king (Peter O'Toole) and there is a struggle among the seven sons to ascend the throne: the seventh son Septimus (Mark Strong) defeats his now spirit brothers and sets off to gain the stone that Yvaine wears which will give him immortality. The on-the-run groups encounter a pirate, Captain Shakespeare (Robert DeNiro in a splendid role), who captures lightening in a marvelous flying ship manned by a swarthy crew. Of course Tristan and Yvaine become his 'captives', only to discover that the fey closet queen captain is on their side against the forces of evil. As the film progresses Tristan and Yvaine gradually fall in love, negating their past histories, and the ending is another act of pure magic: evil succumbs to good in the best of fairytale ways. The cast is uniformly excellent, from the true star turns by Pfeiffer, DeNiro, Danes, and Cox to the secondary roles equally well cast. The special effects are beautiful and very much in keeping with the story instead of simply breeding monsters to emerge from the bowels of the earth to destroy civilization. Everyone involved, from the director Matthew Vaughn to the writers Jane Goldman with Vaughn (and of course the creator of the novel Neil Gaiman) to the cast, seem to keep tongue in cheek and appear to be having as much fun as we the audience. It is a light, exceptionally beautiful fantasy that is pure joy! Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I love Robert de Niro.It was okay but not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A fresh and livly look into the world of fairy

    This movie is a breath of fresh air into the movie world it does not rely upon the special effects to present the story but the actors. The story had spectacular effects but only when it was physically impossible to create the action in real life. For example, over 90 percent of the top deck of the pirate ship is real. This is important in my mind because it lets the audience truly connect with the characters. I was blown away by the color and depth of the characters. The romance, action, fantasy, and reality all blend flawlessly into a coherent physical world. That world is so alive that I found myself so completely immersed in the story that I felt my own heart break when Yvaine thought Tristan had left her. This is a true fairy tail through and through with many of the same plot ideas and directions, maybe even a few cliché moments, remember though it is not the destination that maters it is the journey. Stardust is a truly breath taking world full of loveable and detestable characters, stunning magic, and death defying action a story that any fantasy lover will enjoy! Pick it up, it is worth the money and more importantly the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    This movie was really fun to watch. It had all the right elements in it, romance, comedy, adventure, and action. Michelle Pfeiffer and Robert De Niro were brilliant in their roles. I will definitely buy the DVD as soon as it is released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Book was unforgettable!!

    Sorry read the book first please, I thought the movie was cheesy. I know movies will never be like the books, but dang this was bad. I Love Neil Gaiman's books (alot) and Stardust ruled, but big NO to the movie. Sorry- Mat Burris

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great fantasy movie!!

    Great actors, great acting. Lots of fun. And a terrific story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enter into the world of Stardust

    A world hidden from the world on our world, where magic has a life of its own and if that magic enters into our world it will become regular everyday items. Filled with stunning visuals, great performances, and filled with humor, action and adventure - this film is great for the whole family. Part Peter Pan, part Macbeth, and all Neil Gaiman enter into the world of Stardust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Stellar!

    WOW! This movie reminded me of Eragon where the story seemed very promising, but the finished product just did not produce!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this movie

    I thought this was a great movie. I loved it when I saw it in theaters. It is about a boy trying to bring home a star"in the form of a girl" to his love, but along the way he discovers that he really likes Yvaine"the star". With excellent performances by Charlie Cox, Claire Danes, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Robert Di Niro, this is a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie is easily the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life (which is saying something given how picky I am about movies!). It's a shame not more people watched it. Let's just say that if you are one the people who hasn't seen it yet, you'll never regret having taken the time to do so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie is on of my favorites, it was sweet and fun. A classic fairy tale but with a modernish twist. And for those that like funny movies this has something for you too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfection

    LOVED this movie! I cannot wait to own it. They stayed true to the Neil Gaiman novel, but sweetened it the perfect amount. If you love fairy tales, this one is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5