Customer Reviews for

Starship Troopers

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

This is one of the best movies I've ever seen and highly reccomend it to any one who likes Sci-Fi movies.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great movie in it's own right, but not Starship Troopers

Sure, we all know that movies based on books will look nothing like the books they're based on. But this takes the cake. I really enjoyed Heinlein's ST, namely because it's not just sci-fi, it's also very politically and sociologically charged. As a generic sci-fi mo...
Sure, we all know that movies based on books will look nothing like the books they're based on. But this takes the cake. I really enjoyed Heinlein's ST, namely because it's not just sci-fi, it's also very politically and sociologically charged. As a generic sci-fi movie, this is pretty great stuff. The special effects are amazing and the plot is pretty wild. But aside from some of the character's names happening to be the same, it's just not Starship Troopers. Not in the least.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen and highly reccomend it to any one who likes Sci-Fi movies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Problems, problems, problems

    My experience with this Blu-Ray is most disappointing. I had gone through about 10 different copies of this DVD, from another source as well as B&N, and the disc did not play. This was after I had updated my Blu-Ray player with the most current update of the hardware/software from Sony. I'd love to see this DVD but the disc will not load at all. Certainly a disc manufacturing problem. I hope they get it straightened out, because I'm anxious to see this movie in Blu-Ray HD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    DVD doesn't play on my new Blu-ray player

    Have new Blu-ray player, which plays all of my other Blu-ray and non Blu-ray discs as well as CD's. Returned the DVD for a replacement and it didn't play as well, so it was returned for a refund. I gave up because I have no time for analyzing why this occurred - it should just play like everything else!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    As good as the classic 'Alien' movies!

    This movie is loaded with action and riddled with special effects, and a farely good plot. The film maker has made such movies as 'robocop', not a personal favorite, and 'total recall', again not the best film. but this movie outshines those last two by a long shot. The graphics are worth five stars themselves, but the action is also great, and the hidden political satire is awsome. A great film for action lovers, or people who are in for entertainment. (If you watch it, you will like it)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Stuff

    History has a habit of repeating itself, if we haven'd learned what has come before. Those who have seen 'Triumph of the Will' will begin to see where this movie is going. Think irony. Think 'campy'. Anyway, the special effects are great and Starship Troopers is very fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dudetacular

    Dude, this movie rox. Its hardcore to da max in an x-tream way. A super solid movie, might be a window to da future. Keep yo eyes on da sky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT!

    Beautifully done! A beautiful story about war, growing up, and people, but with an unrealistic war machine. Then again I guess we can't blame it for that, it is based on a 1959 book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2003

    KILL THEM,KILL THEM ALL!

    Starship troopers rocked.Its so gorey and bloody and captures the horrors of man vs beast warfare.I have to admit it was the best si-fi film I have ever seen.In the middle of all the bloodshed there is a love story but I dont want to talk about that right now.Im getting tired of typing so i'll just say if your a si-fi fan buy this film now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie in it's own right, but not Starship Troopers

    Sure, we all know that movies based on books will look nothing like the books they're based on. But this takes the cake. I really enjoyed Heinlein's ST, namely because it's not just sci-fi, it's also very politically and sociologically charged. As a generic sci-fi movie, this is pretty great stuff. The special effects are amazing and the plot is pretty wild. But aside from some of the character's names happening to be the same, it's just not Starship Troopers. Not in the least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SCI FI DELUXE

    THIS MOVIES GIVES YOU ALL THE THINGS NECESSARY TO ENJOY SPACE DRAMA'S. THE BUGS VERSE'S THE HUMAN'S MAKE FOR A GREAT PLOT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Comic book plot but still spectacular

    STAR WARS fans will surely love this film. The visual effects are truly awesum, from majestic space panoramas to creature animations it is just about perfect for this genre. The plot does, however, require some suspension-of-disbelief by the viewer. I wondered WHY, for instance, in an era of super high-technology are ground based infantry troops even needed when the enemy bugs could simply be nuked from orbit or by some other advanced technique instead of an old-fashioned WWII search-and-destroy mission. Of course, face to face with the enemy insects is the theme so you need to overlook questions like that. The film is also a bit too long and could have been edited better. On balance, it is visually stunning and deserving of 5 stars for that alone. Highly recommended for SF fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect.

    If your into Si-Fi movies this is the one. Its got everything, Special FX, Big Guns, gore, and Aliens. Thats all I can say, its perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Special affects wonderful, characters terrible.

    Special affects wonderful, characters terrible.

    This film has space battle and alien insects that are a joy to watch, the only reason to watch this.

    The military and soldiers however are completely absurd. The military has space ship and stations, yet still fight with weapons and armor no more advanced than it has now - hard to believe. This has a coed military, coed infantry. Coed showers where the soldiers don't even notice or care that they naked with members of the opposite sex - Yeah Right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deceptively Bad

    This movie has all the ingredients of a bad machismo movie-pretty girls, big guns, and plenty of violence. It is however deceptively smart in how it deals with war. The movie on the surface is a masculine movie with an all-too-simple plot. But in fact, the movie is quite more than that-even though it is that. It goes to the heart of the all-too-real possiblity of a fascistic, militaristic society that bases its government with "us" (humans) vs. "them" (aarachnids).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Starship Troopers

    This is an excellent title for sci-fi fans. It's special effects and story line can make even the most stubborn a sci-fi fan. This movie should have an edited version with out nudity in it:(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Read a book

    If you want a highly implausible and gore for the sake of being gore plot, with the same amount of character developement that you could get out of the average episode of Jamie Foxx, then you're in for a great time, for the rest of us that don't want to be considered amongst the lowest common denominator, we'll just read the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2