Customer Reviews for

State Fair

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What a GREAT CLASSIC film!!! Love the songs!! The absolute allure of this film makes it a winner from generation to generation!!!
    Don't hesitate to buy this, it's worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    1945 version ROCKS!!!

    I first watched this 1945 movie 2 years ago on Christmas Day and fell in love with it. Charles Winniger is very comical as the dad, Jeanne Crain is charming, Dick Haymes has a very good singing voice, Vivian Blaine is wonderful as Emily. I was very touched at how happy they all seemed individually at the fair. This movie is wonderful and a delight to watch. But the 1962 version, stay away from. The only enjoyment in this movie for me was of course Ann Margret. The Frake family annoyed me immensley, especially the mother, after calling Emily 'trash.' Heck, she didn't even meet her yet! And Abel's tenderness to Blue Boy is wiped out by his meanness to him later. The breakup between Emily and Wayne was very acceptable in the '45 version, as Emily being already married. In this version, Emily gets all upset after she overhears Wayne's Mom calling her trash. She breaks up with Wayne, after they're already engaged. Now you have to wonder where it would have gone if Wayne's Mom didn't call her trash... I think all the charm of the 1945 version is wiped out here, and I just didn't find anything good about it, though I hate to be so negative. The 1945 version is the only good one. But it is very good, and it's worth it just for this version!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This is a fantastic movie, much better than anything that has come out of this genre in the last 10 years! Must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Re-watchable again and again, great relaxing date movie

    If you like relaxing movies or catchy songs that will stick in your head, this is one to own and watch over and over throughout the years. Really good family, or date movie, and a great fun movie. Received Best song award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have Musical

    State Fair is an amazing musical that I have grown up watching. The music and lyrics are beautifully written and the storyline is so fun to watch. This is a must have musical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best R&H available on DVD

    This second of three film versions of Philip Strong's novel about a farm family attending their state fair contains the only score Rodgers and Hammerstein wrote directly for the screen. A wonderful family entertainment, beautifully rendered in rich technicolor, the film not only features the wonderful R&H evergreens, but is a delightful showcase for the very lovely Jeanne Crain and 20th's 'cherry blonde', Vivian Blaine (a few years before she wowed audiences on Broadway as Adelaide in 'Guys and Dolls'). Crain's singing voice was supplied by Louanne Hogan, a classic example of perfect seamless dubbing. Her version of 'It Might as Well Be Spring' is lush, lovely and deeply moving. A grand film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderful Clasic

    This movie is a wonderful clasic that will warm and touch your hearts! I love this movie! It's truly magnificant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CLASSIC!

    I absolutely love this movie. I didn't actually see this movie for the first time until I was in college. The songs are great, and it just leaves you with a warm feeling. I would watch this movie when I was depressed and it always made me feel better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1