Customer Reviews for

Step Up

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good dance flick

    Not an exceptional film in the grand skeem of things, but if you are looking for a light fluffy way to spend an hour and a half, it's perfect. The dancing is fantastic! The dance routines are amazing! The story is good, although it has been done before, and the acting is really pretty good. The soundtrack rocks! Channing Tatum really does something different in doing this movie, vs. the tough guy film parts he usually takes. Some of the supporting cast are the funniest and best parts of the film. Recommended for any one looking for a fun dance filled time with good music and great dancing. Fun times!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a super movie!!!

    I have college age, high school age, middle school age, and elememtary age grandchildren and, I must say, that this is one movie that every age child enjoyed. They all sat with it and enjoyed it very much. I might add, that I, the grandmother, enjoyed it along with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad

    wow Step Up is not bad at all its a cool dance movie two charcters that are parterners fall in love Channing Tatum is real cute pretty nice movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    step up....

    i truely luv movies about dance cuz i take dance... they r sooooooo awesome!!!!! omg channing tatum is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo hott!!! haha........ well watch the movie it is really great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie! I love it!

    this movie is one of the best dance movies i have seen EVER! i love the music and dancing and "love" haha! this is one movie that i NEVER get sick of!! I love everything about this movie. this movie makes me happy its one of my Faves!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    cool romantic movie

    A girl needs a new dance parnter she ends up with a guy Tyler Her name is Nora Now Nora and Tyler are falling in love with eachother He helps her with dancing My cousin looks just like the guy in this movie Its an amazing movie The guy is so hot the girl is pretty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable Dance Movie!

    This movie was great! I must admit, after having watched Center Stage countless times, it was difficult not to notice the lack of turn-out (in the scenes involving ballet dancers) and other such dance-related details, but at the end of the day, dance is supposed to be fun, and this movie certainly achieved that. (To paraphrase Tyler: "Y'all talk about dance as if it's rocket science or something.") The opening scene juxtaposing the street dancers and the ballet students was surprisingly enjoyable, and worth seeing again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Step Up is what it simply needs.

    I thought this film was decent. I will agree with some of the complaints I've seen about the acting in the movie. The script is filled with every cliché under the sun, and just when you thought that something unpredictable might happen, it doesn't. Right from the beginning, when a character's younger brother is introduced, I said to myself, "Please don't make him be the lesson learned". Let's just say that every teen romance and ghetto flick plot line is rehashed to the exact detail, without a whiff of originality. Channing Tatum performance was okay and not bad for someone who had worked for the Public Defender's Office specifically in juvenile court and plays his role as Tyler knowingly. In this movie he seems so insecure with himself until he hits the dance floor. At that moment he becomes the most confident person in the room because he has some serious skills. Nora (Jenna Darwin) just seems like your typical ballerina princess until she finally opens up about her life. The story is interesting enough to keep you in your seat until another dance scene. But, although the acting wasn't top notch I will say that the movie had an incredible moral lesson/theme if you will--about different 'worlds' coming together and how the view issues in life so differently. It also spends a lot of time on understanding differences in daily life and issues between both 'worlds.' In addition to this it teaches us about choices and accountability for our action. I also did enjoy the booming soundtrack. This may be the first film that would work better as a 90 minute music video, and save us from either uninspired dialogue, or mis-delivered dialogue. Sadly, even the dancing doesn't compare to previous dance films like "Center Stage", "You Got Served", and probably "Honey" but even that is stretching it. But at any rate, it’s one to see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    love it!!

    i love this movie! everyone i know is in love with channing tatum after seeing step up.the movie was aboslutely amazing.channing is drop dead gorgeous =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i love this movie.... it teaches you how to live good, make good decisions, go for the gold, follow your dreams. I LOVE DANCING..... ESPECIALLY HIP-HOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 33333

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CHANNING TATUM-I LOVE YOU

    The movie is great.It is like dirty dancing of our time.I like dancing soi find myself in movie.Also channing tatum is so hot and sexy.I could say:he make my day better and i was,and i am happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CHANNING TATUM IS SO SEXXY!!!

    this movie was great for everybody i loved the dancing it was amazing and plus channing tataum is GEORGOUS!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!!

    This movie is absolutley amazing! It was probably my fave movie! This movie is so worth the money people! WATCH IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Channing Tatum!

    Essentially, anything with Channing Tatum in it is amazing (abs!), but my friends and I loved it. The story line was amazing, and the characters are awesome. It also has its sad parts, so a Kleenex maybe necessary. But all the music makes me want to 'Step Up' and dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies of all times

    OMG! It's finally out on DVD! I saw this movie with my friend in August and I totally fell in love with it. The music was good, the dancing was good, and the leading male was hottttttt! If they make more movies like this, this world would be a better place. Buy this movie! You don't know what you're missing! They're are gorgus guys in this movie! That and alot of dancing and chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A surprise hit!

    The best dance movie I've ever seen so far.SURPRISING, because I am not even familiar w/ this film until a friend told me to check it out because it is a dance film.I did.BREAK A LEG, as what I can say happened to me inside the theater.I don't have any expectations then yet when the film was about to start. When the film started, a soundtract was played.No signs of what the story would be like.But undeniable,just that soundtract itself,made me feel excited.Check out my review on their OST.The story was simple but made very clear to everyone.It did not focused on the dance alone, w/c is the good part of it, but it has a story that stressed how dancing could change lives.That dancing is not just for fun or gigs.It is something.CHEMISTRY, I watched this film because I am so into checking out how good or bad the dance moves would be,and lovestory was a bit away from my expectations. There may be, I thought but not that much.But I was delighted w/ the chemistry Jenna and Channing showed in this film. Channing was great.I love how he delivered his acting naturally .Like the one where Nora's mom(Jenna) saw her and Tyler(Channing) kissing. His reaction was so natural, like that would be the exact "on the spot" reaction of a guy once caught. Funny.No wonder why both of them ended up bein' together in real life. WHOA DANCE GROOVES,I haven't seen those dance steps from other movies yet. Aside from the fact that it is not so heavy-like steps where only professionals can do, but even non-prof can imitate.I even did one. The one from the party scene where Drew Sidora performed.That was the best part of the film, next is the parking lot scene.Cool.A nice twist was present in this film, too. The one where Skinny died. Too bad.Unexpected.And of course, what was the ending like? The finale dance presentation was the fruit of the characters efforts.Huh, impressive!!!Great!!! Like everything was so good.So much I loved the film, I watched it twice in a row.I give this film five stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3