Customer Reviews for

Stephen King's Rose Red

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    The scariest film I have seen in years!

    This is an amazing film that scared me quite a bit the first time i saw it a few years ago. It is a must have for horror fans. As a writer myself, i found the plot to be quite entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my FAV movie ever!!!

    this movie was so awesome and freaky and the way people died was really cool. Especially the one where the person's head was cracked. and i loved how everyone was psychic. I seriously recomend this movie!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie in 2002!!!

    I have read the reviews on this movie before mine, and it seems that no one knows that this movie is a sequel to the book, 'The Diary of Ellen Rimbaugher'. The movie gives riveting insight to the world the book opens up for you. Everything that happens in the mansion, as far as the book goes, are true accounts lived on through a diary, and Stephen King does an excellent job giving the viewer details of the story. It is extremely pleasing to see that the movie follows the storyline of the book exactly, And that the events that happen in the movie are supposed to be true as well. I would recommend this movie (and book) to ANYONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    geat read!

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Rose Red Stephen King
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5):

    Introduction
    This book is about and old house that these people decide to take a tore of. The house is over taken by ghosts that use to leave there and some of the workers that were building on to the house but the tourists didn't know that. When the people arrived to it they thought it was the amazing place they had ever seen. The little girl that went on the trip could since that there was something not right about it.

    Description and summary of main points
    Stephen King has a history of writing really good books and movies. This book has attracted a lot of people. I also think this a great book I think all of his books and movies are.

    Evaluation

    It's a great book. A lot of excitement and breath takers. It has sold almost 6,000 copies and is a five star book. This book has a lot more selling's than most of the other ones that Stephen King has wrote
    Conclusion
    Stephan King is a great other and is well known to most people. Kind of a long book but its worth it because its really exciting.
    Your final review
    I liked this book the most because I love scary books and movies and that's basically that's all he writes or does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    This movie was amazing! And not to mention very entertaining. I loved the concept of it and I liked the acting skills of the cast. Good music, which doesn't ruin the good parts of the movie either. A fun movie to watch to mess with your head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    i am a horror movie junkie and rose red is by far the best i have ever seen- it's so creepy, and i think it was an unusual haunted house story-the movie wasn't predictable, a nice change-it was absolutly brilliant- great suspense! i'd recommend it to anyone-*also the place it was filmed at is reported to be haunted*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Stephen King Movies Ever.

    This movie is one of the best Stephen King movies ever!!! I loved this movie from beginning to end. There is nothing bad to say about it. Everyone can relate to some aspect of all the characters. These characters are so real that I felt like I was there with all of them at many times. This movie takes a twist on the haunted house that 'The Haunting' and 'House on Haunted Hill' could never imagine. It also incorportated the feel of the Winchester Mystery House into it (the doors and stairways that go nowhere). It also envokes a scene from the 'Posiden Adventure' (the upside down office'). All I can say is that Kimbery J. Brown played Annie Wheaton so well. As did Matt Keesler, Nancy Travis, Melaine Lynsky, Matt Ross, Emily Deschnel, Kevin Tyghe,Julian Sands, and of course who could forget Judith Ivey! They all gave the greatest performances ever! Stephen King really did make the 'Moby Dick' of haunted houses!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie RULES!

    This movie is the most and horrorif movie ever.In the beganing the woman tells the story of how ROSE RED got its name you have to see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of My Favorite Movies!!!!!!!!!!

    A really good movie.Anyone who watches it will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Such a greate movie

    Hello, my name is Ashleigh The movie Rose Red was one of the best movies I've ever seen. The movie has keeped me out of my seat through the the hole thing. My boyfriend is 7yrs older than I am and it had him just freaked out and it did not help him for me tring to scare him like every ten minutes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    I thought that this was a really great movie. It keeps you wanting to keep watching and stuck on the movie. The only thing that I wish was that The diary of Ellen Rimbauer should have came out first. That movie helps you understand Rose Red better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    The best damn movie to ever ben written thourought history!

    I totally loved this movie, the diary AND the movie about the diary. And I assure you, that this spooky story is indeed true. I've researched rose red now for 3 years and i strongly concure with the fact that its true.I am watching it tonight infact. Oh, and didnt anyone else notice that in the diary mpvie thats Sukeens and Ellen were just a bit TOOOOOO close? Let me leave you with this, The only certainty with dealing with the paranormal is hat there is no certainty. -Matt Keeslar 2002 Rose Red

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A TRUE STORY OR WHAT

    I THOUGHT THE MOVIE WAS GREAT I REALLY ENJOYED STEPHEN KINGS MOVIE AND STORIES ALOT I WOULD BE VERY HAPPY IF I HAD A CHANCE TO WORK IN ONE OF HIS MOVIE. ROSE RED WAS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES AND BOOKS I RED AND I WANTED TO KNOW IF IT WAS A TRUE STORY BECAUSE IT WAS GRATE I AM 13 YEARS OLD AND I LOVED IT ALOT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bravo and Huzzah

    This movie was reccomended to me by my friend, and by God I loved it. The characters were molded expertly. From eerie part one to errie part (does anyone have an accurate count?), I had the hair on the back of my neck on end. I had a family of shivers sprinting up my spine. I don't think this movie was predictable at all ('cept maybe the ending, but even then there were some parts I couldn't believe happened). I have read about people complaining about the authenticity of the Diary, which is the prologue to the movie, and I have something to say about that: You people take offense way too easily (offense probably isn't the word). The whole fun part of the movie and Diary is getting into it and believing it, and finding out it was fictional just opened my imagination to possibilties even more. Apparently it did not for some. Next to Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow, Rose Red is my all-time favorite movie. Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MOVIE!!

    Stephen King's Rose Red is an awesome movie. I love horror, and I also like the realistic special effects. I recomend this movie to anyone who likes a great scare. I am also looking forward to reading The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer: My Life at Rose Red.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best!

    Okay, first of all let me just say that I'm not to big on Stephen king movies, but this is one you've got to see! It's great how they made everything come together and it wasnt just one of those horror after horror things. This movie was awesome! and kept my friends and me up all night. I couldn't sleep for 3 days! Stephen King really out did himself in this movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BOMB JIGGITY MOVIE EVER SEEN.......

    How can I start? The movie was so intrigying and as well interesting. When i first saw it i was crazed i couldnt believe the way the story was plotted. Actually believing that this was such a thing that happen in reality ...but it wasnt but it seem like it was. It catched my attention. I loved it. I mean if u into horror and fiction then you got a good combination there. so i would reccommend it to others to see, Its good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best of Stephen King's!!!!

    It was awesome!! The first time I saw it was on ABC and me and my friends were scared to death!! It was soo good and pretty darn scary!! The cast was wonderful and did an excellent performance!! I love a lot of movies by Stephen King and this is one of his best and one of my favorites!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scared The Hell Out Of Me

    The First Time I Saw Rose Red Was On The USA Channel, & I Watched It With My Older Sister And My Mother And We Got Really Into It. It's Like You're Really There And You Are Experiencing The Things Happening To These People As They Happen To Them. Great Movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stephen King is the Best!

    I've read alot of Stephen's work and I have all his movies. Rose Red surpasses into the supernatural and he brings it to life in the book as well as the movie. With an all star cast of the known and unknown. This movie is one piece of great work. Stephen you the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2