Customer Reviews for

Strictly Ballroom

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Top romantic comedy in the world!

    This is such a fun, uplifting, flowing enjoyable movie. The characters are spot-on and the music fits like a glove. The dance is part of the story, not a dance for the sake of dance. Absolutely loved this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love is in the air

    This is unquestionably my favorite movie. I'm not someone who can watch films over and over and over again, but I've seen this one at least 15 times and it never gets old. Part mockumentary, part romantic comedy, Strictly Ballroom never takes itself too seriously. Which means it comes on pretty strong the first time you see it---fairly standard Baz Luhrmann fare. But the dancing is always fun and occasionally even beautiful, the humor quirky and unpretentious, and the romance honest and fresh. Every time I watch it, I find something new, and I especially enjoy following the threads of love woven through every relationship, even the villain's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not just for ballroom dancers

    A wonderful story that tells the underdog tale in a fresh way. The dancing is wild, but my favorite scene is the true Spanish dancing on the porch of Fran's house...passion, drive, love, rhythm and dance all in one scene!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rocky Meets Cinderella

    The best dance movie in a very long time!! The cast was perfection and the intensely talented leads were electrifying!!!! It doesn't get better than this!! See it once, I suggest it won't be you last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love dancing

    I had never even heard of this movie before today. I was flipping channels and saw it come on and i got interested. I love dancing of any kind. Latin is wonderful. I have fallen in love with this movie. It is excellent;andit being a love story helps a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Strictly Delightful

    It is the greastest movie i have ever seen. I LOVE Paul Mercurio, and i LOVE dancing! It shows viewers how it's okay to follow what you know is right, and not just go along with what everyone else wants you to do. It also displays courage, self-esteem, and pride. Baz is the greatest director ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    U ROCK MY SOX BAZZY BOY!!!

    it is the most amazing film i have ever witnessed. it blows my mind. the pace and colour is exilarating! i cack my pants at the endless satirical aspects of australian people.i am addicted to baz and his creative film techniques. i want him, i need him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intensely Enjoyable

    I loved this movie. Rooting for the underdog and Ballroom dancing combined - what's not to like? I really do consider it a classic because it is enjoyable over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    strictly fabulous

    a great movie a classic of its time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I don't get tired of watching Strictly Ballroom

    I love it and I enjoyed it. I plan to vacation to Puerto Rico and I am taking the movie so my family can enjoy it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great film

    I wanted just-great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    123, 123, 123 and dip

    This movie rocks!! I love australians and there similarities to the americans. This is Baz Luhrman's first big hit and in my opinion his best. It stays true to his home land and the characters have real chemistry. I also love the song 'Love is in the Air'. Great theme song!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just One Good Movie!!!!

    Great dancing and good acting. A feel good movie that makes you want to get up and dance with the one you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    May I Have This Dance?

    This movie is an original. It was romantic, smart, and funny, how could anyone not love it? I loved this movie. It made me want to dance, to follow my dreams. And who wouldn't want to dance with such a great looking guy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A good ''quirky'' movie!

    I normally don't go for ''quirky'' as a genre, but I can honestly say I can almost quote lines from this movie. I first saw it on cable as an ''Import Special.'' I was floored and immediately started my search to find this wonderful movie. I even purchased the sound track that's how intrinsic the music is to this movie. This movie gets you so involved in Scott's (Paul Mercurio) and Fran's journey, you totally accept his over-the-top former ballroom queen mother, snotty dance partner, and his father's constant ''shuffling about.'' It also reminds me of how children can feel the responsibility of fulfilling dreams of parents. I love the way that relationship is handled and the ultimate understanding that only what your heart wants and fearlessness can shape who we become as people. I love, buy it, you'll love it. The music and dance sequences make you want to sign-up for lessons. My personal favorite sequence is performed to Doris Day's version of ''Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps.'' This movie has been on my shelf for years! I can not wait for the DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I laughed, I cried, etc... you know the drill

    I absolutely LOVED this movie. In the tradition of corny movies with heart, this is one movie you just can't stop watching. I've seen it over ten times (at least) by borrowing it and renting it, but now, at last, I will own it on DVD. It seems a little pricey at over twenty dollars, but I assure you, this movie is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2