BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Taxi Driver

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    alienation and urban

    Saw "Taxi Driver" once when it first came out. Remembered "gory". Little else.

    Lately, with a renewed interest in photography, noted the two included commentaries, decided on the purchase. Probably because it was the first time I saw De Niro and Scorsese. And because, the commentaries, done years later, interested me. A commentary separated in time and history has often led to more enjoyment of a film.

    After three times, w/out and with each commentary, I admire "Taxi Driver" much more. Yes, I also appreciate the integration of cinematography and music.

    Returning to my subject line 'alienation and urban', to me, "Taxi Driver" is an artful depiction.

    The editorial review mentioned "Godardian jump cuts", I had to look it up. I found the following enlightening -
    http://pov.imv.au.dk/Issue_06/section_1/artc10.html

    I suppose many viewers have felt differently after viewing "Taxi Driver". I remember my unease after first seeing it. Same now. But, the impressions and art remain valid. And after the commentaries, easier to handle because of the insights and articulation.

    I have a niece who loved "Pulp Fiction". I told her it made me uncomfortable, "It seemed too real." I don't think she accepted that. Well, I think "Taxi Driver" is parallel, but simpler and cleaner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Don't forget how young Mrs. Foster was. She was only 11 or 13. She had to actually get analyzed before she could do this movie, because they did not wasn't her becoming paranoid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "You Talkin' To Me"

    That would be the catch phrase for the paranoia and the disturbing portrayal of Travis Bickel, the angry Vietnam Vet who is hell bent on his own psychosis. Perhaps the best character acting job ever done, de Niro's performance is so jarring, so absolutely despicable that you it is unforgettable because it really started the film noir movement in this nation and showed the post-Vietnam American society unhinged as Travis feels like everything he sees is bad and corrupt and "he's going to do something about it." Like the Wild Bunch before it, the cinemotegraphy and violence of this movie will outlast that generation and this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Gem

    By no means am I a movie critic or have large expertise in cinematography but not too many pictures have struck me as much as "Taxi Driver". Thanks to great artists like De Niro, Foster, Shepherd, Boyle and Keitel and professionals like Scorcese and Schradder, people in the 21st century can see from a closer point of view life in 1970s America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Second Favorite Movie Of All Time!!

    This is my second favorite movie of all time, my favorite is the Godfather. This is probably the best movie that I have seen Robert De Nero in. The story is great, man verses society. The acting is awesome, and the directing is great. I recommend it to anybody who is a movie lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Number 1 Robert De Niro Film

    Just a brilliant movie on how some can go psycho over a chick. I have to say its the best psychological film ever made. The Best Martin Scorsese film next to Gangs of New York and Goodfellas. When I first watched it by the end of the film I could not beleve how this movie was so related to my life. Such as De Niro character and I both went psycho over a women and just didnt care about life anymore. We both just wanted vengence so bad and by one point we both feel hope in our lives. For those of you that love Robert De Niro should love this so I sugest to BUY IT NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lack Luster DVD Transfer of a Thoroughly Disturbing Film

    Travis Bickle (Robert DeNiro) has a big problem - and not just one. He's a seemingly ordinary New York cabbie who¿s stalking one woman, Betsy (Cybil Shepard) while playing savior to another, Iris (Jodie Foster). But ol' Trav' is just a few coins short of a full meter, a neurotic oversight that will allow him to turn vigilante, threaten the political reelection campaign of Senator Charles Palantine (Leonard Harris) and blow away Iris¿s pimp/drug dealer (Harvey Keitel). Suffice it to say, 'Taxi Driver' is not your feel good movie of the summer. It is a cinematic snapshot of 70s pop culture gone horribly awry, with its crack and whore infested streets, its unstable social setting for easy scores and cheap sex, and a seething underbelly of corruption and dismal isolation as its acrid palette for moral decay. Travis¿ slow spiral into becoming the loner with a purpose is predicated upon warping the old adage and precedent that one man can make a difference. But when that one man is touched by his own sexual and financial inadequacies, his psychotic inability to bond with another human being and his self delusion - that he is on par with a deity, above the rest of humanity and the law ¿ then the difference he can make is between destroying himself and bringing about the next apocalypse. Martin Scorsese directs adeptly enough, drawing the viewer into this dark world of unsettling realities. The irony of the ending seems somewhat strained and rather a bit like the happy ending tack on associated with conventional Hollywood wisdom, but there is the frightening prospect that with a return to normalcy, Travis¿ alter ego is, like many a volcano, merely dormant, not dead, and destined to erupt in the future. The transfer from Columbia is a rather disappointing remastering effort. There are moments when the color is bold, if dated, and moments when fine detail is generally realized to good effect. But the bulk of this video presentation is riddled with excessive grain ¿ both film and digital, a barrage of compression artifacts, a lot of aliasing, some tiling, and a considerable amount of edge enhancement. Night scenes break apart with pixelization and exhibit a very muddy color scheme. There's plenty of age related dirt and grit to further detract from your viewing experience. The audio has been remastered - but just barely - with low to no bass and a really screechy high end that betrays the original mono elements. Extras include a 70 minute making of documentary with interviews featuring the director and principle cast, a photo montage, still gallery, theatrical trailer and storyboard sequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    U Can Relate

    This movie is one of the greatest films of all time because you can relate to Travis in one way or another. He's a lonely, confused, disgusted, and a wannabe do-gooder, which makes him likeable even when he's killing people. That's the other thing. People complained that this film set a bad example, but it does the exact opposite. It shows that no one's perfect, whether you're a taxi driver, a campaign worker, or a 12 year old. This is probably the greatest film he's ever starred in which is saying a lot, considering he's been in so many classics. The main point is this film is very good and Travis is a good guy most of the time; a confused person who just wants to be heard and accepted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Different Movie

    I'm giving it 5 stars because like everybody else said it is totally different from anything i've ever seen in my life. DeNiro should have won the oscar for this. The way he portrays this character is amazing. This is one of Scorese's best along with Raging Bull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A realistic look into a psycho

    This film is one of the greatest films ever made. Scorsese provides flawless direction and Robert De niro is so realistic, there's no comparable talent to him. This film is so different from anything I've ever watched. Everything from the visual style to the acting is so unique. Scorsese does a terrific job and it's great to see a director that makes films on a artistic level rather then selling out to use films as a product for money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could you help me?

    Excuse me. I am a senior student in university, and I am going to write an essay on Taxi Driver. I want to discuss whether Travis Bickle is a hero or not. Could anybody give me some suggestion? Or tell me some information about the movie. Thank you very much. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A DEMENTED,GRITTY MOVIE.5 STARS!

    Martin Scorsese is the best director ever.No other director can capture the streets like Scorsese did in this excellent piece of cinematic perfection.Wait to see what happens about 3/4 of the way through the movie.This is one of Scorsese's first pictures,and when are we going to see more Martin?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Genius

    Between Taxi Driver and Last Temptation of Christ, Scorsese has shown himself to be one of the most important artists in American history. He isn't afraid to show the world what most find uncomfortable and therefore unacceptable. His work is what film should be about, not the mind-numbing feel-good movies that Hollywood produces, like a factory that makes cars with no engines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2