Customer Reviews for

That Thing You Do!

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Director's Cut Is The One To Own

    "That Thing You Do" - for me anyway - is one of those movies that can be seen multiple times. This is an engaging story of a mythical, but highly believable, one-hit wonder band from the 1960's. Tom Hanks' direction is excellent and the actors were well-chosen and well-rehearsed by Hanks. If you're a fan of the movie at all, you really must own this Director's Extended Cut - it seems like a more complete story with some great added scenes. I can't believe what they left on the cutting room floor in the theatrical release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Fun, Fun!!

    The reviews on this thread prove that 9 (not including myself) out of 10 people absolutely LOVE this movie. And the one guy that said didn't like it still admitted it was okay and that was about as negative as he got. Two, possibly three, people said this movie is addicting. So I mean it literally when I say don't take my word for it. It's like the Italian Job in the sense that the only way to describe it is just plain fun for everyone. I'd really like to see Tom Hanks behind the camera again because he brings such dry humor to the screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Oneders are onederful!

    This movie and its music is addictive. Every time the movie is on TV I will watch it. I bought the soundtrack because I love the music. It is just a good, fun movie to watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Addicting!!

    Okay, the very first time I saw this movie it was on HBO and that was back in '97 or '98 and every time it was on I would watch it, but I was still young enough not to pay much attention to it. Well recently it's been on TV and I've been watching it. I have become addicted to it. honestly! The music is actually really good. I sing it all the time and even make family and friends listen to it. It's a must see film! No, it's not an all time "great", but i promise you that you'll remember it! As Tom Hanks Directorial Debut he did a fantastic job and for his wonderful writing skills ... KUDOS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    The movie was funny and cool, and I loved it when Faye was running down the street screaming in joy and running into Pattersons where they danced around the machines. If you want a feel good movie, I strongly suggest you watch this movie that is full of laughter, hope, fun, and happiness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brings back memories

    I though this film only gave us the first glimpse into the genius of Tom Hanks. It brings back memories of my being in a similar situation in the late 60's to early 70's. Great fun and music were had in those times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever!

    This movie is great! The band was awesome! Its a movie you and your friends can watch. Its the BEST!!!!!!!!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    I have a band, and this movie was a great inspiration. The soundtrack is great, and it's the kind of music I like, so I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That music and movie you'll love!

    If you love music, and have ever been in a band... you'll find yourself wiping away tears of laughter at this group of guys, Tom Everett Scott, Johnathon Schaech, Steve Zahn,Ethan Embry and the one girl friend along for the adventure, Liv Tyler. The standalone soundtrack is as likable as the movie. The songs are so snappy and fun my 5th grader enjoys them--even though he chose not to be interviewed for this review. Make sure you don't miss this movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An ''ok'' movie

    It's a good movie, entretaining, but not the best one I've seen. The cast is ok, only with an excepcional Tom Hanks (but not his best film at all) It's a simple story and that's it. I enjoyed it, but it's a one-time movie. No brilliance at all in the plot. Very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That movie you love

    This is the best movie ever. It tells all about what you go through in the music business. if you ever want to be a music star, you have to see this movie. they picked the best cast they could. Tom Everett Scott plays ''Shades'' wonderfully. Johnathan Schaech is the best man to play Jimmy. They give the funny touch on Steve Zahn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!

    This movie is fun, and has a great soundtrack to listen to! It'll make you laugh and sing the whole way through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1