Customer Reviews for

The 10th Kingdom

Average Rating 5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love this movie!

I read the book before I watched the movie (actually, the book led me to the movie though I don't know which came first). I loved the book so I decided to see if the movie was even remotely good. Well, books are always better but this movie is still really good. I fell ...
I read the book before I watched the movie (actually, the book led me to the movie though I don't know which came first). I loved the book so I decided to see if the movie was even remotely good. Well, books are always better but this movie is still really good. I fell in love with Wolf and his romance with Virginia. The idea is that there are 10 Kingdoms - 9 in the realm of fairy tales (ie Cinderella, Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood) and then there is the 10th kingdom - New York City. The 9 are connected to the 10th through a traveling mirror. Prince Wendell, descendant of Snow White, is about to be crowned king of his kingdom but the evil step-mother changes him into a dog. He escapes into the 10th Kingdom, finds Virginia and her father who return back with him and the story goes from there.

I really enjoy this movie. It's long, which is nice because it is completely unhurried and they take the time to explore things. I also recommend the book which was brilliant.

posted by Fancy_free on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not for Young Children

This movie was not rated, and marketed itself as "enchanting for all ages". As a parent, I was less than enchanted at the many violent scenes, including a mother who tries to drown her daughter and a descendent of Bo-Peep who is murdered by her grandfather - plus many ...
This movie was not rated, and marketed itself as "enchanting for all ages". As a parent, I was less than enchanted at the many violent scenes, including a mother who tries to drown her daughter and a descendent of Bo-Peep who is murdered by her grandfather - plus many other acts of bloodshed. It looks like a kid's movie, which could make it all the more frightening for younger children. The movie also includes a number of adult themes, which may pass over their heads, and a few off-color remarks you won't want them to repeat to their grade school teacher (i.e. "Go suck an elf!"). It did have some good laughs, but it was way too long. Whether or not you have kids, don't pay full price and keep your thumb on "Fast Forward."

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie!

    I read the book before I watched the movie (actually, the book led me to the movie though I don't know which came first). I loved the book so I decided to see if the movie was even remotely good. Well, books are always better but this movie is still really good. I fell in love with Wolf and his romance with Virginia. The idea is that there are 10 Kingdoms - 9 in the realm of fairy tales (ie Cinderella, Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood) and then there is the 10th kingdom - New York City. The 9 are connected to the 10th through a traveling mirror. Prince Wendell, descendant of Snow White, is about to be crowned king of his kingdom but the evil step-mother changes him into a dog. He escapes into the 10th Kingdom, finds Virginia and her father who return back with him and the story goes from there.

    I really enjoy this movie. It's long, which is nice because it is completely unhurried and they take the time to explore things. I also recommend the book which was brilliant.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting Story

    I watched this when I was very little at a sleepover with my friends. We watched the whole thing at once and I remember it was soooo long. The story was very interesting and captivating and the characters were great. I don't remember that much about the story, but I'm hoping to buy it sometime for myself and watch it again. It is definitely a fantasy, and came out before Harry Potter or Twilight or anything. It is a classic fantasy and very worth watching. I would recommend it for younger kids but also for adults. I can't wait to watch it again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantasy for All Ages

    I first watched the 10th Kingdom on ABC. I loved the mini-series. I got excited to when I found it for a great price. I think the series was created for all ages, and has a moral that children can learn from too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for Young Children

    This movie was not rated, and marketed itself as "enchanting for all ages". As a parent, I was less than enchanted at the many violent scenes, including a mother who tries to drown her daughter and a descendent of Bo-Peep who is murdered by her grandfather - plus many other acts of bloodshed. It looks like a kid's movie, which could make it all the more frightening for younger children. The movie also includes a number of adult themes, which may pass over their heads, and a few off-color remarks you won't want them to repeat to their grade school teacher (i.e. "Go suck an elf!"). It did have some good laughs, but it was way too long. Whether or not you have kids, don't pay full price and keep your thumb on "Fast Forward."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Incorporating nearly every big fairy tale, The 10th Kingdom puts a fun twist on the familiar stories. Plus, at nearly 7 hours long, it's a good value for the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny

    This movie is very funny and interesting. What I recomend is watching it during and off day or start watching it at about 3pm because it is about 6 hours long.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best made for tv movie ever!

    very imaginative! really keeps you in your seat. but however, i would reccomend the dvd version, sice they cut out some really funny scenes in the vhs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    10th Kingdom is a LONG but good

    The 10th kingdom is fun, imaginative, and colorful, but the acting isn't fabulous and it's really, really long!!! This fun fariytale is still one to watch. There are some neat computer special effects and the set is cool too. The plot starts out slow, but you get wrapped up in it. (If you have eight hours). Overall, the 10th Kingdom is pretty cool.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun for all who love Fantasy

    I recieved this as a gift, having not seen it when it was on TV & loved it. It was so much fun to watch. The characters are likable, the villains dispicable & the tie-ins to your favorite fairy-tales are great. It is aimed at adults so it has some violence & the suggestion of sex, but is certainly tame enough for older children. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a little escapism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The 10th Kingdom

    I love this movie!! It brings the fairy tales of old to a whole new level!!! Entertaining for old and young alike!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A FUN FAMILY FILM!

    I first saw this several years ago and have been trying to get it ever since. After I bought it, the whole family sat down together to watch it. Good for all ages, My family ranges from 2-42! We all loved it! Great effects, good humor, suprise twist, and an all around good story. I highly recommend this movie for a rainy or cold weekend. At 7 hours long it definately takes most of the day to watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    overall a good movie

    i saw it as a child and finally found what movie/series i had vague remembrances off

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    I saw it on TV when it aired and I only recently purchased it. I absolutely love it! As a fairy tale fan, I found this movie ahead of its time (before Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings was cool). One of my favorites, great for watching again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this

    I was absolutely ecstatic to find that this was only about $12 and bought it immediately. It is a great blend of all your childhood fairytales, but with twists. They don't hesitate to show the darker side fairytales used to have. This is great for kids of any age (both my two ¿boy- and ten -girl- year olds love it) as well as adults. It certainly isn't boring but has plenty of action as well as well rounded characters and a few good twists. This is one of those movies that you can actually agree has something for everyone. Even guys tend too enjoy it - which is harder to find with fairytales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!

    My children 5yrs and 4yrs chose this video out of the childrens section of Barnes and Noble. They LOVE fairy tales! I am stunned that anyone would consider this a great movie for kids!!!! It has graphic depictions of killing,violence and brutality!!!It is also laden with sexual innuendo. It is very cleverly written and many adults would enjoy it, but it is definitly NOT a child's movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whimsically Entrancing

    Absolutely wonderful to watch! It draws you in and makes the whole experience well worth the time you spend watching it. I still love going back and re-watching this film often, and it's a great film to watch with kids! It's rumored that a sequel could be in the works! And from my perspective it's very highly anticipated!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who cares about length!

    So it's long, that just means its more bang for your buck. You can't beat 7 hours for only $15. And as for "objectional" material, only if you're paranoid about a very small amount of violence "never on screen, just referred to". This is a fantasy that kids will find delightful, and that adults will get drawn into remembering their own childhood. It has a perfectly set up romance, enough humour for kids and adults, and beautiful effects and settings. Pick this one up, and everyone will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    this movie was wonderful1 ppl always said that it was 2 long! i couldn't believe that i had found this movie, when i was younger (lyke 4th grade) i had sn a few of the shows from the series but had never gotten 2 finish it nor remember the title but the episodes i ahd watched had bn so engrained in my head that i never 4got it even 5 yrs later when i happened by it in the movie shop! great quirky characters you'll love with a solid plotline! literally stepping n2 the bros. grim bk!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Never Bought this item

    Sorry. I didn't buy it.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best movie ever made

    Even though this movie is long (6 and a half hours) it is one of the best that i have ever seen. The actors are absolutly terrific. and play the charactors as if they were created by the author her self. One of my personal favorite charactors was Wolf. The author should definitly think about writing another book so that they can make more movies. Then it could end up like Harry Potter. Any hooser i expect to definitly see another book and another movie veryyyy soon!!!!! GOTTA CATCH 'EM ALL!! POKEMON

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6