Customer Reviews for

The 16-Ton Monty Python Megaset™

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stop that! It's silly!

Finally, collected in one place for the first time for the last time, in this special executive shrink-wrapped non-leather-bound boxed set are all 45 episodes of the classic BBC comedy series ''Monty Python's Flying Circus.'' All your favorite sketches are here, along w...
Finally, collected in one place for the first time for the last time, in this special executive shrink-wrapped non-leather-bound boxed set are all 45 episodes of the classic BBC comedy series ''Monty Python's Flying Circus.'' All your favorite sketches are here, along with the bonus features ''Monty Python Live at the Hollywood Bowl,'' the reunion special ''Live at Aspen,'' and the first of their two ''Fliegender Zirkus'' specials for German TV. Definitely worth every penny!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

less entertaining than remembered

I watched the series when a teen and enjoyed it late on a Saturday night without parental supervision: now, I am the parent and wanted to laugh at TV with my kids... I had forgotten all of the scantily clad women "cut-outs" (not like magazine pics) and the like... Am ...
I watched the series when a teen and enjoyed it late on a Saturday night without parental supervision: now, I am the parent and wanted to laugh at TV with my kids... I had forgotten all of the scantily clad women "cut-outs" (not like magazine pics) and the like... Am embarassed to be in the room when some things come onscreen and my 18-year-old son is also present. Suggest to others that they expect to show only to adults as my memory did not remeber it to be less than family fare.

posted by Smiley-in-the-Sunshine on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stop that! It's silly!

    Finally, collected in one place for the first time for the last time, in this special executive shrink-wrapped non-leather-bound boxed set are all 45 episodes of the classic BBC comedy series ''Monty Python's Flying Circus.'' All your favorite sketches are here, along with the bonus features ''Monty Python Live at the Hollywood Bowl,'' the reunion special ''Live at Aspen,'' and the first of their two ''Fliegender Zirkus'' specials for German TV. Definitely worth every penny!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A 16-Ton DVD Collection Of Monty Python? RIGHT!!!

    The Lumberjack Song. The Ministry Of Silly Walks. The Piranha Brothers. How Not To Be Seen. Hell's Grannies. The Dead Parrot. Self-Defense With Fresh Fruit. Adolf Hilter And Heinrich Bimmler. The Spanish Inquisition. The Funniest Joke In The World. The Upper Class Twit Of The Year. Nudge Nudge. Blackmail. Mr. Gumby.

    All you have to do is mention these things and you know that we're talking about Monty Python's Flying Circus. Clearly the funniest British television show ever made, this series has managed to be funnier, better written and better acted than "SCTV" or "Saturday Night Live". Though it was only on the air for five years, the success of its stars---John Cleese, Michael Palin, Terry Jones, Eric Idle, animator Terry Gilliam and the late Graham Chapman---proves what a groundbreaking show it was.

    A&E Home Video has assembled the entire series in what is called a "16 Ton DVD Edition". Watching the series from beginning to end, I noticed something I never knew before. In the first two or three episodes, it was as if the audience didn't know what to make of the series. It was silly, yes. It was also rude and irrelevant. It was almost as if people knew all this but were afraid to laugh at it. By the time the first season was over, you can sense that the audience is enjoying it and perhaps even encouraging it.

    Aside from the fact that Monty Python was so hilarious was the way it played with our conventional wisdom and challenged us on what we expect from TV shows. Here was program that played its theme fifteen or twenty minutes into the show. Sometimes it didn't play its theme at all! Skits come and go and blend into one another like a great Fireside Theater album. Cartoons that look like they were animated by Salvador Dali pop up. The guys plays girls. And the girls, well...they're gorgeous.
    Even when John Cleese left the series before the fifth and final season, The Pythons still came up with hilarious routines such as Mr. Neutron and The Bike Ride.

    In addition to the entire series, there are two other discs of extra material, including a retrospective, a German episode they did in 1971 and an appearance at The Hollywood Bowl in the mid-1980's to a much appreciative crowd. After all these years, Monty Python is still the benchmark of subversive hilarity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Monty Python Never Gets Old

    I bought this set for each of my two kids. They had been watching reruns on BBC TV and were thrilled to have the whole series to watch and share whenever they like.

    Great Bargain Too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you hadn't watched this, then you're no fun anymore!

    "Monty Python's Flying Circus" truly has some hilarious sketches and characters. Along with this, my collection includes "Holy Grail" DVD and Michael Palin's "Diaries 1969-1979." My only complaint from this box set was in the "Summarize Proust Competition" sketch, they cut out a little section where a contestant was asked what his hobbies are. His reply was "Strangling animals, golf, and masturbating." After he said golf, they cut to another shot but you can hear a little bit of the huge laugh it got. I'm sure it'll leave some viewers confused, although I know the story of how the group have fought the BBC to keep the masturbating in.

    Other than that, this is must own collection for any Python fan. My favorite sketches include "The Spanish Inquisition," "The Cheese Shop" "Argument Clinic" and some others as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Timeless

    Wonderful set. What's to say. Monty Python is fabulous and there's always someone you can introduce to MP.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!

    JUST AWESOME!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic for Python Enthusiasts

    When PBS first brought Monty Python to these shores, I became an instant fan of the show and later the movies. That was 35 years ago and I can still be counted as a great fan and this is the essential collection for any enthusiast. Though finding individual skits and such is daunting, the body of work is impressive and one of the cornerstones of my video collection. Arguably not for anyone, I still continue to laugh and find things I have missed before--they're still silly, witty, odd, and quotable. A must for any Pythonophile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Silly Walk Back In Time

    This is a must have for all fans of Monty Python. Remember the first time you saw an old man crawl toward you and say .... "It's".... Visit the Larch, Polly the Resting Parrot, the Lumberjack, the Comfy Chair (the forerunner of waterboarding), and of course the Spam that you want in your in-box (bloody vikings). All the episodes when you need a laugh..not when the networks want you to laugh. A boxed set to be savored ... like a cup of tea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun gift box set!

    I was so exited when I saw this for sale, I ended up buying it as a holiday gift. It is a humorous DVD box set and great for those people in your life that grew up watching this kind of satirical humor...it's a little slap stick and you gotta love the accents! It's all good fun- who doesn't mind a rambunctious sword fight at the old bridge? Nothing better than fake blood and limbs flying off in every direction to go along with that brittish banter...it's definateley a fun gift for anyone that watched the show/movies from the Monty Python series. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have

    If you love Monty Python, then you must have this set. Every episode is here is one place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Monty Python

    This was a Christmas present to my brother who was completly thrilled with the gift. He has always been a fan and the 16 disk set was a complete success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    FUNNY-FUNNY-FUNNY

    I am old enough to say that I watched Monty Python's Flying Circus when first televised, here in the U.S. It remains sharply current, funny and very insightful of "human behavior" and foibles. When we can poke fun at ourselves in this way, we are better human beings as a result.

    The_Flying_Foot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2