Customer Reviews for

The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eighth Dimension

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Either you get it, or you don't

    Tom Swift meets the Marx Brothers, with a dash of James Bond AND Maxwell Smart -- this defies any easy description. Any Jame Retief fans should enjoy this movie. Just relax and enjoy the ride, and remember that this is movie is true to life -- some things just don't make sense if you analyze to closely. And remember &amp amp amp quot History is made at night. Character is what you are in the dark.&amp amp amp quot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A guilty pleasure

    This is the quintessential Saturday afternoon movie. Pop some popcorn, put your feet up and just enjoy. Convoluted plot, sharp satire, cute guys and Jeff Golblum in chaps! It just doesn't get much better than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous Movie

    Way before its time and never fully appreciated. It's like ''Saturday Night Live'', good and bad at times but the good is better than what you may find anywhere else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of its genre. Period.

    You'll either love this flick (as I do) or hate it. I don't watch it very often, but every time I do, I see layers that I'd missed before. It's the best, most deftly executed film parody I have ever seen--so fast-paced & rich that half the time on first viewing, it's hard to tell what's going on. A serious movie? Not by any means! A lark? You betcha!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies from the 80s

    Incomprehensible plot? OK, a genius neurosurgeon / rock star / nuclear physicist invents a truck that can, thanks to the Oscillation Overthruster, drive through solid matter by way of the 8th Dimension. When the evil Red Lectroids, banished to the 8th Dimension by the Black Lectroids, learn of the Oscillation Overthruster, they try to steal it so that they can return to their homeworld, Planet 10. The Black Lectroids threaten to attack the Soviet Union if Buckaroo can't stop the Red Lectroids. This attack would appear to come from the US, and thus would cause a counterstrike which would effectively destroy the world. SO, Buckaroo Banzai aong with his friends / colleagues / bandmates (The Hong Kong Cavaliers) have to stop the mad scientist who is possessed by the Red Lectroid leader to save the Earth, and Buckaroo's dead wife's long lost twin sister. See? Is that so tough to follow?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Over the top!

    Remarkable that so many can consume so much of the Harry Potter sort of stuff that is churned out nowadays--and not appreciate something else so outright enjoyable. This movie is a lot of fun no matter how many times you see it. And Peter Weller, John Lithgow and Jeff Goldblum are terrific. So watch it at least once. Twice would be better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Frank from SF has no clue

    This is a true cult classic-'The deuce you say'! Frank from SF just must not get it. An all-star cast and some great lines-'Laugh while you can' and 'Wherever you go, there you are', 'If it was a snake it would have bit me'. Nice soundtrack too! Dr. Emilio Lizardo (Lithgow) lives! Orson Welles was right after all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT IF YOU DARE!!

    Peter ''Robocop'' Weller, Jeff ''The Fly'' Goldblum, John ''Third Rock'' Lithgow, Ellen ''Sea of Love'' Barkin, and on and on. If you love parody, satire and just plain FUN on the screen, this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of 10 worst movies ever made

    Really. This movie is that bad. If B&N had allowed negative stars, I would have awarded them. It's right up there with Plan 9 from Outer Space and Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. Incomprehensible plot, unfunny jokes, Jeff Goldblum in the dorkiest cowboy outfit ever, and John Lithgow as the most irritating mad scientist ever portrayed. I disliked this movie so much that it permanently soured me on Goldblum and Lithgow. I'll walk miles to avoid a movie with either of those two. And I have never seen a single episode of Third Rock from the Sun, thank God. Save your money. Avoid this movie at all costs.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    At Last!

    Yeah it's a doofus movie, but it's classic doofus! I mean John Lithgow, way before Third Rock, chewing up the scerary, spitting it out and chewing it up again. (And don't forget Lewis Smith as Perfect Tommy.) This is the Saturday morning cartoon for grownups.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1