Customer Reviews for

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    While the movie was a little long, the acting was good, especially the music and cinematography. Long title though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect

    I thought this movie was flat out perfect.
    It is a slow-paced, inward, contemplative film.
    Beutifully shot, the visuals are perfect, and give the film a special touch, a mood that is also set by the narrative in the beginning. As if it was always late in the afternoon, and the world was about to end.
    It really is a poetic movie, with heroic dimensions.The actors are, what more could I say, perfect. Brad Pitt is amazing,truly embodying the failin Jesse James, and Casey Affleck is such a great actor, and he plays the coward James Ford very well.

    I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jesse James is stunning

    I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed this film. One of the few DVD's I bought without seeing first. I've watched it a dozen times since purchasing. It is nicely paced, thoughtful adaptation of Hansen's novel. Brad Pitt plays James not as dime store novel hero but as a ruthless, suspicious outlaw who doesn't trust anyone. Casey Affleck as Robert Ford is the young man who looks up to James, emulates him and finally shoots him. The supoorting cast, especialy Sam Rockwell are fantastic. The music by Nick Cave and the photography are outstanding. A really fine film which gets better with each viewing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing film, very UNDERRATED

    This film is filled with nothing but beauty. The acting is incredible including Brad Pitt (which im not personally a fan of). Brad Pitt does an amazing job at making the characters (and the audience) uncomfortable and nervous, remaining always one step ahead of everyone and knowing your every move. Casey Affleck is very underrated, being the better of the afflecks, he portrayed a cowardess and weak character, yet, yearning and oblivious to it's precision. You hate what he does in the movie, but at the end, you wanna feel sorry for him.alot of my love goes to the score composed by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis. It's amazing! If you didnt enjoy the movie, the soundtrack will move you at least (note the scene where they actually kill jesse james, amazing cinematography with the perfect score) dont go into expecting a western and violence. Expect a character study of obsession and greed (robert ford), and of depression and insanity (Jesse James).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A suprisingly good western Drama.

    not really what i expected, when i wathed this i was really suprised by how good it was.
    The acting is great, the characters are dynamic, and everything about this film just draws you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very overrated

    I went into this film with high expectations, all of which were let down. Long, plodding, poorly paced, and beat you over the head with its way too obvious themes. Bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most best and most underrated films of the year.

    I was really disappointed that this film didnt do better than it did. Casey Affleck in particular gave the performance of a lifetime. I read somewhere that at times it seemed like he was hating Jesse with one eye and loving him with the other, and its absolutely true. Considering that you know how the movie is going to end, the level of tension he and the director create is truly remarkaable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Homage to Western History in a Moody Daguerreotype Style

    THE ASSASSINATION OF JESSE JAMES BY THE COWARD ROBERT FORD is one of the finer films about the history of the Old West 'heroes' such as Jesse James. It is difficult to describe the degree of high quality of the way in which this film has been created: the script (adapted by Andrew Dominick from Ron Hansen's novel) is as poetic as it is gritty and flows like a Shakespearean tragedy both in narration and in dialog the exceptionally fine cinematography by Roger Deakins captures the flavor of the times, shot in subtle lighting whether in darkly intimate interiors or on the vast plains at times heightened by snowlight, but always in the feeling of the quality of daguerreotypes the musical score by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis is strangely apropos without seeming to borrow from any previous source and the cast of fine actors play the film as a true ensemble work. Director Andrew Dominik has accomplished a masterpiece. The story begins subtly in the last year of the James gang at the final train robbery in 1881. Jesse James (Brad Pitt) and his brother Frank (Sam Shepard) have gathered remnant criminals to bolster their decimated gang - Dick Liddel (Paul Schneider), Ed Miller (Garret Dillahunt), and Wood Hite (Jeremy Renner) among them. The Ford brothers want to ride with Jesse: 19-year old Robert (Casey Affleck) idolizes Jesse and his older brother Charley (Sam Rockwell) enjoys the attention of the gang's fame. Jesse James, at only age 34, is at the end of his career, content to be at home with his wife Zee (Mary Louise Parker) and children. But Robert's adoration results in a chain of events that slowly dissembles the gang and results in Robert's obsessive revenge for Jesse's murder of one of the members fired by the promise of reward for the capture of Jesse James, dead or alive. History and the title of the film tell the plot so there are no surprises here. It is the inevitable unfolding of the drama and the tension of the interplay of the actors that drives the mood of the story. The film does not stop with the killing of Jesse James but instead follows the descent of the lives of Robert (now wealthy and in love a stripper - Zooey Deschanel) and the progressing insanity of Charley to an end that fades like the proverbial sunset on a time in our history we will never forget. Each of the actors is exceptional, and despite the glory of having big name stars associated with the cast, the effect is one of pure ensemble work. The 160 minute running time of the film never seems too long, so well timed is the pacing of the story and the pauses for understanding the interior aspects of each character's mind. This is a haunting film, unusually fine in every detail. It deserves, and demands, attention. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1