Customer Reviews for

The Big Lebowski

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    That's like... your opinion man....

    This has to be one of the most solidly constructed movies out there. Underrated when it originally hit theaters, it has since achieved cult status. The character development is excellent, the situational comedy - hilarious, and practically every line in the movie is quotable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    well there's no literal connection...

    arguably one of the funniest and most quotable movies of all time. i cannot count the number of times i've watched this, or the number of people i've shown it to. it may not be unreasonable to say that anyone who doesn't get this movie isn't worth knowing. donny, please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    really sets off the room

    this movie is fantastic. Jeff Bridges as the dude is amazing. It's a breathtakingly wacky and unpredicatable variation on a noir theme. John Goodman is...uh...oh, I lost my train of thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Donnie, you're out of your element!"

    This is such a great cult classic! Words can't even describe how much I crack up at this movie! I upgraded to Blu-Ray a while back, and so of course when this limited edition Blu-Ray came out, I was all over it! There is an awesome collectable booklet within, and several cool features. Probably my favorite of them is the Mark It Dude feature, which tallies up all of the dudes, Lebowski-isms, and F-bombs throught the movie, (and there are quite a few F-bombs, but the use of most of them are pretty funny). All in all, a great film. If you have never seen this movie and can tollerate the language, I highly recommend checking this out if you haven't already seen it! "The Dude abides!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Dude, far out.

    John Goodman's a riot in this movie. So many memorable quotes. Though it seems like in every scene there was swearing and it got a little annoying. Still, it was a good movie and hilarious and weird. Jeff Bridges as the Dude, was great in this movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite simply the finest movie ever made

    That's all I have to say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cult classic

    A film about love, friendship, money, power, and the loyalty of a bowling team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cohen brothers do it again!

    This is a HILARIOUS movie. Jeff Bridges, John Goodman, and Steve Buscemi are truely great. Kidnapping, bowling, nihilism, and bad porn-can it get much better? While Bridges carries the movie, I think Goodman has some of the best lines and the most interesting character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Over The Line

    It's a league game Smokey....My favorite movie of all time enjoy while drinking a nice White Russian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome movie

    This movie has to be in my top five comedies off all time. Jeff Bridges as "Dude" make you like him right off the bat with his antics... John Goodman with his "Nam" flashbacks and new holidays while bowling play well with the dudes laid back personality. Finally, Steve Buschemi who plays Donnie ties the trio together with his smarter than the other two attitude. Funny how when they bowl, Donnie always got strikes, until the end when he got nine pins down.....(just something to look for in the film)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not on the Rug, man!

    Upon first viewing this movie, I walked away wondering what the big deal was. And then I saw it a second time, and a third, and a 4th...and on, and on, and on. I can't count how many times I've seen it and I still laugh every time I see it. The characters are truly amazing. Jeff Bridges as 'The Dude' is a genius performance. If you've only seen this movie once, you haven't seen it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lebowski rolls on

    The 'DUDE' is what makes us all realize that WE, are all 'an accident.' He is the likeness of Duane Hubler, Kurt Vonnegut's anti hero from his novel, 'Breakfast of champions.' You need to see this movie, if not for the entertainment value, then for your own reality check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The chinaman is not the issue

    Very funny flick. A lot of cussing but stands out. One of the best soundtracks ever. One of my favorites. See what happens Larry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HANDS DOWN

    Top five comedies of all time. an instant classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''You dont know Walter?''

    my favorite movie of all time...my friends and i quote the movie non stop. two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is so ''Undude''

    I have to agree that this ranks in my top five comedies of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie of All Time

    The first few times i viewed this movie i never made it through the end of it. Some say that in order to finish it you must be faded and mellowed out. However, i kept watching it over and over. Donny, Walter, and The Dude portray in this video the ultimate life that every male enjoys. The soundtrack also portrays the theme of the movie excellently. If you like kickin back with the guys, and this is a guy movie, with a drink or two your going to love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funniest dark comedy ever

    Jeff Bridges turns in the best role he has ever played. HE is the perfect ''dude'' in this movie. I could watch it everyday and just ''take it easy''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing!

    this movie is great. possible up there with all time funniest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it!

    I loved this movie for the simple fact that it was silly and fun and unexpected. I will never think of Jeff Bridges the same again--he will forever be 'the dude' to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3