Customer Reviews for

The Biggest Loser: The Workout - Cardio Max

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've only done this once so far, so this may not be the most helpful review, but this workout DVD is HARD! I read somewhere else that it seems like instead of putting the easiest workout first, they put the hardest first. I truly hope this is the case because I could no...
I've only done this once so far, so this may not be the most helpful review, but this workout DVD is HARD! I read somewhere else that it seems like instead of putting the easiest workout first, they put the hardest first. I truly hope this is the case because I could not handle anything harder than the first section! I'd consider myself pretty fit in the cardio department (do about an hour on the elliptical at the gym), but this required more than just cardio fitness. You also need a lot of leg strength because there are a TON of lunge exercises. Too much, IMO. But, this is coming from someone that doesn't do lunges. I barely made it through the 20 minutes, but I was amazed at how much of a workout you can get in such a short amount of time. It really wore me out. I love how the trainer acts though, he was very motivational. He made me feel better about not being about to keep up by saying stuff like 'If you can't do this, just do something, just keep moving!' Anyway, I did the workout 3 days ago and my legs are still very very sore. If you're in poor shape, this may be too much for you to start off with. But, otherwise I can definitely see this helping me shed some pounds!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For the Fitness Challenged ONLY!

Caution: this review may ruffle some feathers. If you are physically fit and/or enjoy the pursuit of perfection, then DO NOT get this video. I am an avid athlete and bought the video based on other reviews that claim the workout is both challengin and inspiring. I sw...
Caution: this review may ruffle some feathers. If you are physically fit and/or enjoy the pursuit of perfection, then DO NOT get this video. I am an avid athlete and bought the video based on other reviews that claim the workout is both challengin and inspiring. I sweat a lot yet hardly broke a sweat with this workout. Additionally the camera focuses on some the biggest looser contestants, who deserve high-fives for getting into better shape. However, they are all a far cry from the precise movement execution that I seek at my fitness level. I found that I had to turn away from the screen and only listen to the instructor (who is great)in order to maintain my focus and to have a good mind-body workout. I highly recommend David Kirsh's New York Body Plan workout -- it really kicks butt and emphases good form (w/o sounding annoying or repititious). Happy exercising.

posted by BlueWater310 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I've only done this once so far, so this may not be the most helpful review, but this workout DVD is HARD! I read somewhere else that it seems like instead of putting the easiest workout first, they put the hardest first. I truly hope this is the case because I could not handle anything harder than the first section! I'd consider myself pretty fit in the cardio department (do about an hour on the elliptical at the gym), but this required more than just cardio fitness. You also need a lot of leg strength because there are a TON of lunge exercises. Too much, IMO. But, this is coming from someone that doesn't do lunges. I barely made it through the 20 minutes, but I was amazed at how much of a workout you can get in such a short amount of time. It really wore me out. I love how the trainer acts though, he was very motivational. He made me feel better about not being about to keep up by saying stuff like 'If you can't do this, just do something, just keep moving!' Anyway, I did the workout 3 days ago and my legs are still very very sore. If you're in poor shape, this may be too much for you to start off with. But, otherwise I can definitely see this helping me shed some pounds!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    For the Fitness Challenged ONLY!

    Caution: this review may ruffle some feathers. If you are physically fit and/or enjoy the pursuit of perfection, then DO NOT get this video. I am an avid athlete and bought the video based on other reviews that claim the workout is both challengin and inspiring. I sweat a lot yet hardly broke a sweat with this workout. Additionally the camera focuses on some the biggest looser contestants, who deserve high-fives for getting into better shape. However, they are all a far cry from the precise movement execution that I seek at my fitness level. I found that I had to turn away from the screen and only listen to the instructor (who is great)in order to maintain my focus and to have a good mind-body workout. I highly recommend David Kirsh's New York Body Plan workout -- it really kicks butt and emphases good form (w/o sounding annoying or repititious). Happy exercising.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Seen results in one week!!

    I love this dvd. The first couple of times I did the workout my legs felt like they were going to fall off, and I could hardly set down. After four times or more the pain went away and I started seeing results. I have lost five pounds in one week! I will keep doing this dvd and I can't wait to see more results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cardio Max

    Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    great exercise dvd

    i was never one to work out with an exercise with a dvd. i never thought i can keep up with it. but i can't pay, at this time of my life, to go to the gym and i love watching the "biggest looser" show on TV, and so i have decided to buy this dvd.
    i have been working out for a few weeks now, i can see&feel the results, i get compliments on getting slimmer. it's not an easy exercise dvd, but it's worth it. after every time i do it, i feel good with myself sweating,jumping,etc.
    i recommend it with all my heart for loosing weight,sculpting your body and just being healthy doing it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Workout!

    I have been working out for years, taking step classes and weight training classes. Cardio Max is an awesome workout! I feel it's definitely for the fitness experienced. Even level one is challenging for those that workout often. All the Biggest Loser DVDs are good, but this one really works you hard! I really like how Biggest Loser workouts work the entire body in one workout. Get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kicked my Butt

    The first time I did the workout I didn't even finish level 1. Now I love it. I'm so tired and sore once I'm finished, but I feel better when I'm done. I haven't finished level 2 yet but I am encouraged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Kicks Butt! :-)

    This program is kicking my butt into shape...I have screamed at it as well as laughed along with the contestants and trainers. I love that you can program which segments you will complete for your workout (completely customizeable) and you can even choose if you want the trainer talking or just listen to music. 2 Thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even better than the others!

    I have the Bigges Loser 1 and 2 and this one is even more difficult than some of the stuff they have in those. Great workout right from the start and the cool down really helps bring your heart rate down. I did level one last night and I can feel it today, first time in a while I've felt my workout the next day so that's a great thing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This video will kick your butt!!

    I have been a regular exerciser for over 10 years, but this workout worked me hard. I was sore in my abs and legs, but I felt like I had a great workout. I have yet to add the level 3 cardio to my workout. Can't wait to see how challenging it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!

    This is my absolute favorite Biggest Loser Workout DVD. I love the fact that real people are working out with you. Not just the fitness gurus. It's nice to see them struggling too. If you do the whole 52 minute workout you will feel amazing!! The cast does a great job of pushing you and keeping your heart rate up. It's a very doable workout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Workout

    This will make you sweat. I couldn't believe how fast the time went doing this video. I have done a few different one and this is one fo my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    tough but works

    When I purchased this work out I had been living a very sedentary lifestyle. This work out was very difficult for me to get through, and even after weeks of doing it I still have to rest a little during the workout. But, this program is doing its job. I have lost inches and 14 pounds after about four weeks and I am still losing weight. I feel better and can see that I am tightening up my legs and stomach. I recommend this work out to anybody looking to get in better shape. Just remember if you can't do it all its okay to rest for a minute - but keep going after that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great workout

    This DVD kicked my behind. Its a great cardio workout. You will feel the burn right away. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great workout!

    This DVD is a great workout. It really gets your heart rate up. I like the "customizable" aspect of the workouts. I agree with other reviews that the trainers are very encouraging, "just keep moving". I've only done levels 1 & 2 so far, but I enjoy this a lot. Good investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Workout

    Bob does a great job, good workout

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST WORKOUT EVER!

    This workout is absolutely the greatest thing i have yet to come across! I LOVE IT i am always looking for something to help me work out like really work out not like those 10 min abs or 10 min buns i wanted something that could make me sweat i know thats gross but this video does exactly what i wanted! I recommend this to anyone looking to drop pounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2