Customer Reviews for

The Bishop's Wife

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Be Careful What You Ask For........

    One of my favorite holiday movies, and not just because Cary Grant is in it. David Niven, as the bishop, is wonderful. His scene, ''stuck'' in a chair, is a classic. The lesser actors in this movie are all standouts. James Gleason, Elsa Lanchester, Gladys Cooper, Monty Wooley, and Regis Toomey all help make this a terrific movie. What can I say about Cary Grant but ''Wow!'' He's highly believable as Dudley the angel. This is a definite ''must see'' every Christmas!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See

    Not only are the characters wonderful, but the storyline is absolutely the best. I never tire of watching this movie...it is one of my all time favorites. It leaves you with a warm feeling of hope, peace, love and good cheer. That's what Christmas is all about. It brings us back to the reality of what Christmas is suppose to be...and remember that is why Christ came in the first place. If we all could see this a few times a year it would keep us in that Christmas ''spirit'' all year through. Watch it this season with your family...we do every year. It has become a family tradition, and that I believe is a wonderful reason to bring us all together. No matter how many times I see it, I cry... so have a box of kleenex handy! Hope you enjoy it as well as we do. Have a Blessed Holiday Season and a Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect Christmas Movie!

    This movie truly touches your heart and makes you really think about the true meaning of Christmas and appreciating the important people in your life. This is a Christmas movie I can truly say I'll never get tired of watching! Watch this movie!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Christmas MUST SEE movie

    Suffice it to say that this is a "perfect" Christmas movie whose story slowly unfolds and draws you in. It will touch even the most jaded person who take the time to sit quietly and watch it. I consider it a MUST have for any complete Christmas movie collection. If you haven't seen it, this is the year to do so. What are you waiting for??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This is a wonderful christmas movie. I look forward to the holiday seasons just so i can watch this movie!!! We curl up on the sofa with hot cocoa on a cold day and make a day out of watching this and It's a wonderful life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    THIS IS ONE OF THE OVERLOOKED CLASSICS. A WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS STORY WITH A MESSAGE. WONDERFUL CHARACTERS AND A TERRIFIC STORY. WE LIKE IT AS MUCH OR MORE THAN IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE. MANY PEOPLE HAVE NOT SEEN IT AND ARE MISSING A FUN EXPERIENCE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic for all time

    My wife and I have always loved this movie, and we are fortunate to now have it in our personal dvd library to view whenever we want. There is a magic in the movie that just draws you to it, and even though you know the outcome, you are fascinated to watch it over and over. Great video.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Bishop's Wife

    Wonderful Movie! Cary Grant's angelic character makes the Bishop realize how important his family life should be and how lucky he is to have his beautiful wife and daughter. Success takes a back seat to family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Holiday Favorite!

    Love love love this movie. It's not Christmas without it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating movie!

    This movie captivated me from the first scenes. I love all of the main and supporting characters. It's very easy to fall for Cary Grant as he's so charismatic, gentlemanly, and attentive to Loretta Young's character. Boy, do they possess the chemistry! Alas, he is an angel and not to be had. David Niven's character is transformed by his eventual self-awareness and restored faith. All seems just right when Cary Grant ends up not getting the girl this time. I love this movie and watch it many times a year and especially at Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Christmas Classic

    The characters wonderful! The storyline is absolutely the best. I never tire of watching this movie. It leaves you feeling full of hope, peace, love and good cheer. That's what Christmas is all about! This is truly a touching movie that will leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loveda it.

    My in-laws recommended this movie at Christmas - the whole family loved it. It is now a seasonal favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An all-time holiday classic!

    They just don't make 'em like they used to. This is by far one of the most engaging holiday classics in film history. The characters are both lovable and intelligent. The story has a "Pollyanna" feel to it, showing how one person can affect the lives of so many others. How the "good" in mankind is contagious. Don't miss it. It's a family favorite of ours. Definitely appeals to every generation! Carey Grant at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    A Holiday Delight

    The Bishop's Wife. This beautifully directed 1940's black and white Christmas movie is charming and heartwarming. Church Bishop Henry Brougham (David Niven) wants to build a new and bigger church in the worst way. He is even willing to kowtow to rich demanding congregation members to get funding. Loretta Young as his lovely and somewhat neglected wife Julia, understands how badly her husband wants his new church but she doesn't want him to forget why he became a Bishop and to remember where his real duties lie. In desperation Henry prays for help and guidance. Help comes to him in form of a handsome, debonair and somewhat irreverent angel named Dudley, played superbly by Cary Grant. Grant arrives and immediately steals the heart of Henry's young daughter as well as the hearts of his secretary, maid and wife. When Henry cancels an appointment to hear young members in his congregation sing, Dudley goes instead. Dudley also encourages Julia to buy a rakish hat she admires, he takes her dining and dancing and wins over the disapproving church members who see them together. It seems that angel Dudley can do no wrong, everyone loves him, except Henry who starts to wonder if Dudley really is an angel and what is his real purpose here. David Niven as the somewhat uptight Bishop was the right choice for this role. There are so many wonderful scenes in this movie. Dudley magically types letters and stuffs envelopes so Henry's secretary can leave the office early to do Christmas shopping; he decorates the tree that the fluttering maid (a very young Elsa Lanchester) has just started to trim; and he has taxi driver, James Gleason, ice skating like an Olympic champion. When the boys won't let Julia's daughter play catch because she throws like a girl, Dudley steps in to give her a good pitching arm. Monty Woolley as the Professor who suspects that Dudley is a VERY special person is simply wonderful. This is the perfect story for all faiths. Vannie(~.~)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see xmas flick

    One of the best Xmas movie ever if not the best!!A good one while triming the tree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THERE 'IS' MAGIC AT CHRISTMAS TIME.

    This is one of those films that captures the essence, the 'wonderment' and the magical 'something' that touches something deep inside of you. The special effects are nothing spectacular compared to today's standards, but for the time period in which this original B&W film was made they capture your attention make you double-take with amazement... and if you dare to let go and loose yourself in this film you will marvel and believe that angels do walk amongst us, and that seemingly normal occurances in our lives today often do reflect the magic of Christmastime as well as those odd inexplicable occurances of everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    A heartwarming classic!

    This wonderful film stars Cary Grant as an angel named Dudley, who¿s sent to help a frustrated bishop (David Niven) raise money for a new church. This excellent film also stars the pretty Loretta Young as the bishop's kind but neglected wife. This is a marvelous movie that is funny and touching all at once. Cary Grant, Loretta Young and David Niven are all in top form. This is a super film to watch during the holidays or any time of the year! Film also stars Elsa Lanchester, Monty Woolley and Gladys Cooper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2