Customer Reviews for

The Bourne Identity

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robert Ludlum does it again.

    Matt Damon is the only person to play this part. I do believe one should read all the books in the series before watching the DVD. I've seen the whole series and love the excitment, I love Paris. It's like taking a trip to Europe without leaving the country. Great for both guys and gals.
    I'm a sucker for a good thriller mixed with a romantic ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie - Creates interest for the whole series

    The way things move from one country to other is pretty good.

    Editing of this movie has been well done.

    Performance of Matt Damon and team is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I like Matt Damon and Franka Potente.It was okay but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended

    This is a great movie and one of my personal favorites but if you are looking for something that follows Ludlum's masterpiece closely, you will not be satisfied with this motion picture. The writers did not portray some characters accurately and left the biggest antagonist out, Carlos. I will recommend this movie to anyone but someone who has read the book may be a little disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    James Bond with memory loss

    An all around good flick. Little Matt is lost without Ben and he can't recall where he lives but he wakes up in France which is a nitemire. Later he learns that by killing everyone he can gain back his memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Bourne Identity

    This movie is awesome and the car chases are so out there. Enjoyed this movie very much and it was entertaining too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than I realized

    When I first saw this after it came out on DVD, I was not impressed. Even though I thought Damon was well cast (indeed, seemed more able in this role than in some others he's played), my initial impression was that the screenplay was written primarily so that the director could simply string together the various action and special-effect scenes. In fact, from early into the movie that's exactly what is featured: car-chase and action scenes, distracting me enough to make the plot seem very confusing as well. I came away disappointed, thinking this was crafted for immediacy at the expense of a good story. About 9 months later, however, it was a selection on one of the Cable TV networks, and this time I watched a little more intently, trying to discern if there were any redeeming qualities. Wow! Second time around was apparently the charm for me: I got a chance to follow the events a little more carefully, and realized that this was a much better film than I first realized. At the same time, I also enjoyed the European locations which, this time, I could see provided more substance than I had initially allowed. Had I not been so quick to judge this originally on the first few scenes, I may have been more aware of its subtler aspects. Then again, perhaps it actually suffers from poor editing and requires more than one viewing. Whatever the case, after watching it again, I became a fan. While I still wouldn't place this in a 'classic' or 'great' category, I nonethless rank it as one of my recent favorites and now recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hooked on the film, even though different from the book.

    The movie definitely is not the author's version, but I must give it to the screenwriters...it is a fantastically done movie. Has it all, action, drama, suspense. I must admit, I'm hooked on Matt Damon's interpertation of Jason Bourne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great entertainment, spellbinding

    As someone who has not read the book, I found the movie to be absolutely great. It's lots of fun, and very well-acted, especially Matt Damon (who is one of my favorites). I reccomend it to anyone looking for some real good entertainment, with a great storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They never mentioned triplets.....

    After seeing this movie was glad I had. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it lacked technical work, maybe from the CIA's point of view. Most people don't know it, but these books are fantastic!! Wayyyy better than the silver screen did. There's a series of three books about Jason Bourne. If you'd like to read them, or more in this fashion, try looking under Robert Ludlum. He's usually listed in the bottom half of the green section at Barnes & Noble. There's a new one out just now as a matter of fact. And you'll read them, from front to back. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can It Get Any Worse?

    When I heard that The Bourne Identity was coming out, my teacher was making such a fuss about it, so I decided to see what's so delightful about it all and read the book. When I read the book, I was blown away by the plot, the characters, the events, everything. I was especially intrigued by the man named Carlos who's chasing after the guy the whole time. So, when I watched the movie, I was expecting the same moments, the characters, everything all put on-screen. Instead, what I got was a movie that hardly resembled the book at all. I would've found it all very confusing had I not read the book. The deep mysterious history behind Bourne is replaced by a simple explanation to why he became an agent and blah blah blah. I would have loved to see flashback scenes of him and his Vietnamese wife and his son, togetheri n Vietnam, I found that part of the book very touching, but no. And where is my Carlos?! I was looking forward to seeing him on screen so much. All in all, this movie was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    COOL*

    I think this movie was great. Matt Damon is hot in this flim. Really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    This is a movie you will want to watch again. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hold on to that cash

    Wait a minute, what movie did these other bozos watch. It could not have been Bourne Idenity. This is one of the most boring action films I have seen. If any one was on the edge of their seat, it was due to a hemorroid flare up, not the action. Ronin is a far, far better flick. While this movie is worth borrowing, I would not own it. Watch it once and no need to come back. The romance sucks, the action is second class. Save your DVD $$$ for something else unless you need a snooze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This has replaced my old favorite movie it was so great!

    I never thought that the popular Matt Damon would make an awesome secret agent/assassin. He proved me wrong and now ''The Bourne Identity'' has taken the place of my old favorite movie. I can't wait to see the upcoming sequels. I do recommend reading the book either before or after. I am buying this movie ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This movie is one of the best mystery movies I've every seen. It was definetly the best movie I saw last summer and the best rental! You gotta watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Similar to the Book in Name Only

    Larry D. Bohall, author of Martyr's Cry (ISBN 1591295327): My first exposure to The Bourne Identity was the Jaclyn Smith miniseries from the 80's. I then read the book (which was very good, but had a very high body count). I love the idea behind it--an amnesia victim who has millions of dollars and an incredible ability to fight his way out of any situation. Is he a high paid assassin? A spy under deep cover? Something else? It was a complicated plot, which translated well to the miniseries, and is basically abandoned in this extended chase scene. Why is all of this happening? Who is trying to kill Jason Bourne? Who IS Jason Bourne? Who cares? Not the director, screen writer or actor. We never really find out anything...we just get lots of bullets flying and cars crashing. At least, in the mini-series and the book, there was a reason for the heroine. She helped Bourne find out who he was and what was going on, and provided the love (real love) that helped ''heal'' him. In this version, she's there to give him a car. I was quite disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT!

    This is a great movie, very interesting and u just end up needing to know what happens! WATCH IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic twisted Secret agent Story.

    Matt Damon does it again with a great performance as the ultimate killing machine for the US government but loses his memory because of his last mission. I love the twists through out the story and how he discovers who he is and tries to go up against the big boss or his owners to get away. Matt Damon plays it so well just like he played in Good Will Hunting as him really making his character really believeable. The story was something else. Beautiful over all the movie and the way it was directed. Matt Damons talents really show here and his diversity of acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    great movie. im going to buy it the day it comes out. the idea of a superhero who can't has a condition where he can't remember anything before a couple of weeks before is really cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4