Customer Reviews for

The Butterfly Effect

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best go-back-and-fix-it scifi movies ever made. And it's not an

    Best go-back-and-fix-it scifi movies ever made. And it's not another
    ridiculous comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Stunning!!!!!

    I have never heard of this movie until my husband asked me to watch it with him one day. It was amazing! The plot and the story line was just out of this world. Also, adding in the Psychological inherited problem from his dad was just, WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    favorite movie

    This movie is perfect. The ending is genius. I love everything about it, it almost makes my cry when I watch it because it is so brilliantly written and every second is amazing. Watch this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    it was wierd to the fullest!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the butterfly effect

    The Butterfly Effect was okay. It had alot of weird stuff about Ashton Kutcher going back in time and his nose was bledding alot and died at the end but I didin't know how he died. Overall, I will give this movie a C with 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's sad, it's funny, it's good!

    This movie is the greatest. I thought that the whole 'going back in time' was cliched, but in this movie, it was good. Very good. The different times when he went back to the past, it made me cry. It was the end that really was sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME

    "The Butterfly Effect" is one the greatest pieces of work ever to appear on film. Ashton Kutcher delivers the most powerful perfomance I've ever since Halle Berry in "Gothika." I'm waiting for the sequel coming out sometime 2006/2007. Terrific movie, but I really was upset when Ashton chokes on his umbillical cord to save that chicks life. I nearly cried. Great movie. 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extremely profound and totally original

    In this masterful movie, the point is made that every action in this world, even what may seem like the smallest, can affect so much. The basic storyline is about a young boy who, whenever something bad happens to him, he just blacks out. He is encouraged by his psychologist to record these events. years later, he discovers that he can travel back to those times and actually change the past, but everything he does seems to ruin things even more, and he begins to wonder if all his effors are futile... If you're the thinking type of person you'll really enjoy this movie for its profound concepts and moral messages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    I love this movie. The ending makes me sad though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie..

    this movie is so intense and so amazing John Patrick Amedori is just so perfect (and hot) for this role... i'm telling you go out and see it.. really life changing. -k

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

    This movie was fecal matter(since apparently I have to use a euphemism). Don't even bother with the theatrical version, only the director's cut is slightly redeemable because the end makes sense. But, it's still awful, terrible acting, especially by idiot boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dunno...

    I kinda liked the story line...but the movie is dumb. The amount of naked girls is ridiculous. God, movies will do anything to get attention. Ashton Kutcher has an enormous ego and he kinda ruined it for the movie...along with the ditzy retarded girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best and original films i've seen in a while.

    Who would of thought that Ashton could act without comedy. Very original and clever. A great film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This movie is really good. It is extremely interesting and has many twists and turns. The ending was great. However, be warned! The Director's Cut of this movie has a completely different, and more bizarre, ending than that of the theatrical version...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!

    Evan Treborn discovers he is inexplicably transported back in time when he reads his childhood journals. With his present-day mind occupying his childhood body Evan purposely travels back in time, in an attempt 2 re-write history and un-do certain events. What he learns is that the slightest change of just one thing affects everthing that follows. I think this movie is awesome i wood give it 100 stars but i cant! I luv this movie i also luv john patrick amedori (13 yr.old evan) he is hott and cute!! u can go 2 that website 2 just 2 see what he looks like and a few pictures of him in butterfly effects. it is www.johnpatrickamedori.com And do me one favore WATCH THIS MOVIE MAYBEE 2 OR 3 TIMES GOD KNOWS I DID!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not a normal Kutcther movie

    The Butterfly Effect was a great movie about how do you change what has gone wrong. The main chacater faces memory loss and black outs as a child. He must write down everything he does everyday so he could remember everything a little better. But when him and a couple of friends kill a lady and her baby on addicet he faces the long term conuques as an adult. Six years later he reads a entry and discovers a new why to change what went wrong. After watching the real verison, you should watch the dirctors version which I think is much ending. But I must warn you, this is not a normal Kutcther moive!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Really Outstanding Film

    A new twist on an old sci-fi trick, this movie really delivers the goods. It was real nice to see Ashton Kutcher play a character other than the himbo or the lovable but stupid stoner/doofus that he usually portrays. I hope he makes more movies like this that expand his acting abilities. The rest of the cast also delivers fine performances. This is one movie that gives science fiction due credit as it doesn't dumb down its material or condescend to the viewer. I highly recommend the director's cut of this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2