Customer Reviews for

The Changeling

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    One of my favorite movies!

    One of my favorite movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Old School Scary

    I saw this movie a long time ago and just remembered it recently while talking with my wife about films that had me biting my nails. I saw this movie in a theater which enhanced my fear, nothing like seeing a good film on a big screen with great audio. The Changeling had me jumping out of my seat numerous times and I was relieved when it was over, this movie is frightening. Unlike flicks today they didn't rush the show, they didn't rely on fancy special effects to thrill the audience, they just employed good old story telling techniques to get the message across, they bring you in with an interesting story line and slowly begin to terrify you. See this movie in the dark and preferably with someone you can cling to for support during the scary parts, its worth the few dollars it cost to buy the DVD, enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The scariest movie I ever saw

    This movie will send chills down your spine and make the hair stand up on your arms & legs. There is no blood no gore - it doesn't need that. It will scare you from deep within. Do not watch it alone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The relatively unknown best ghost story movie

    I watched this movie for the first time in 1985 when I was 8yrs old. I thought it was very scary and buy that time the Friday the 13ths, and Nightmare on Elm Streets blood and guts shock you for the scare movies were all the rage. So even at that young age I could appreciate a great scary movie when I seen it. Later on, when I was 17 I tried to rent it at a video store and what a task it was just to find it. Three stores were required to finally locate it. I bought it at a video store a month ago. Another challenge. The Changeling is a great movie which can be appreciated by multiple generations, yet it is relatively unknown. On multiple occations when discussing my favorite movies, I have gotten the response, "The Changeling??, I have never heard of that movie". I love George C. Scott's performance. It would take a very strong nerves of steal type of person to explore and investigate sounds in the most remote locations of the scary house and he really pulls it off convincingly. Unlike most people who would run out of that house, he ran into the house, going deeper and deeper searching for the source and the truth behind the disturbances. Would you be able to walk up two large flights of stairs and beyond all alone in an enormous old house which is evidently haunted?? If you want to see someone with that strength and determination along with so many other great features of this classic, buy the movie and share it with your friends and family. Once you watch it for the first time you will be surprised why so many people have never heard of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    One of my very favorite films! The Changeling is truly a GHOST story and not just a horror movie; full of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ultimate suspense

    I first saw this movie about 20 years ago and thought it was the scariest movie ever! To this day, I still believe that it is one of the best "edge of your seat" movies ever written. This movie allows for your imagination to go wild which only makes it more suspenseful. I'm buying the DVD since it's not in movie stores. Enjoy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Old fashioned sit by the fire spine tingling/sad suspence - loved it !!

    the heading says it all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the BEST!!

    This is absolutely one of the best, if not THE best, ghost story/scary movie I have ever seen! George C. Scott is fabulous, the cinematography is gorgeous and that house is unbelievable. I highly recommend this movie for any ghost story enthusiast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely the best - Will stay in your head forever

    This is one of those movies that you see and never forget. George C. Scott is fantastic. The director succeeds mostly because the story is so well-fleshed out and because you can identify with the entire tragedy of the plot. I have never walked up a long stairwell in a house and not thought of this film. It will make you think twice before going into an old attic or down into a basement. In a sense, the house in the film is the strongest character of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Old-Fashion Scary!

    I remember watching this movie at a girls sleep over when i was about 9 years old. I am now 28 and it still scares the **** out of me. From the music, to the banging that he hears every morning, to the ball that keeps showing up....this is a must for EVERYONE. No blood, no gore, no make -up supernatural effects. This is a true classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest movie

    This is the scariest movie that I have watched tons of times. Every time I watch it, it still manages to scare the daylights out of me. One of the best horror movies ever made!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still spine chilling after 20 years.

    The year was 1981 and I was 11 years old when I first came upon the film by accident. I would love to see how the film ends but, just as when I was 12 (I am now 33) cannot bring myself to see the film again for 2 reasons. Firstly: the tape play back after the seance. But Secondly - one the still shocks the daylights out of me TO THIS DAY is: the lifeless face of the drowned boy in the bathtub! Enough Said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Creepy

    This is a solid, old-fashioned psychological ghost/haunted house story. George C. Scott is outstanding as a grief-stricken husband and father who rents the afore-mentioned haunted house. The story makes sense and there are really no unanswered questions at the end. There isn't really any outright terror, but just an element of creepiness that builds increasingly until the climax. Although it's over twenty years old, it still holds up really well. In fact, elements in two recent movies I've seen made me think immediately of ''The Changeling'', even though it's been years since I saw it. The first was Bruce Willis' audio-tape analysis sequence in ''The Sixth Sense''; the second was the seance at the end of ''The Others'' (another good haunted house movie), only there seen from the perspective of the dead rather than the living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the BEST SCARY MOVIE

    I love this movie. It has suspense that builds from the opening scene. The movie does not rely on blood and gore to frighten you, it merely weaves its way into your mind creating fear from the unseen. If you are looking for a movie with that ''lost art'' of suspense and horror you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Horror Films

    Best Horror Film I recomend All People to watch it This Fim Is more Scary Than Exorsist THIS film diplays the horror that uve been waiting for enjoy the film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One, if not THE Best Ghost story!

    I've now seen this film about 7-8 times over the years in the company of different groups of friends who never even heard of it before. After seeing it, they love it, and have nightmares about it! And these are people of varying age groups, proving the scare factor of the movie is timeless! The cinematography, music and feel are simply eerie because ghost believers might just think... This can really happen in a real haunting! If you need further evidence that this is a great movie, I give you three things: 1) The bouncing ball, 2) The tape playback, and 3) The wheelchair chase scene. I'm getting chills just remembering them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My review of ''The Changeling''.

    It´s actually some years ago that i first heard about this spinechilling movie. A friend of mine told me of how she´d been genuinely moved by it´s frightening theme. Since then i´ve been going on thinking one day i´ll get to see it myself. Certainly this urge became an obsession till once i finally looked it up on a rare VHS-copy. Well, belive me, all my expectations on this movie is totally fulfilled. It´s one hell of a scary ghost-movie. The Changeling has got all the right dark moods, the chilly atmosphere, the ghostly music-score. Everything. If you´re into movies like ''The Shining'', ''Omen (I)'' or ''Amityville (I)'' belive me - this IS the lost gem for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SCARY AS ALL GET OUT!!!

    THE CHANGELING WAS ONE OF THE VERY FIRST HORROR MOVIES I EVER SAW AND I WAS ABOUT 11 YRS OLD WHEN I SAW IT. IT WAS WITH OUT A DOUBT THE SCARIEST MOVIE I HAD EVER SEEN. IT SCARED ME. THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE TO SEE IF YOU LIKE TO BE SCARED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Chilling!!

    If you'd like to see a wonderfully crafted, postively spooky film that you will never tire of, this is it!! Every time I see it, I get chills. It isn't bloody, it is just a cleverly written, classic ghost story. An absolute must!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A really spooky movie!!

    This is a true masterpiece of a ghost story. There are thrills and (alot) of chills around every turn,This is I have to say this is the best ghost story ever in my opinion.I am a fan of ghost stories book verson and film verson and to me there is none better than ''The Changeling''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2