Customer Reviews for

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love Narnia!

    This movie is the best! I must have watched it 100 times. Although not as good as the book, this movie does "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" justice. I recommend it to everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Book to Movie Translations Ever Created

    I was truly taken aback by the quality of this production and consider it to be the best non-animated film that Disney has ever produced. The acting is incredible, the special effects are phenomenal, and the story is wonderfully compelling. It mirrors the book very closely, though does have some noticeable, though rather harmless differences. I would point these out, but I don't want to ruin this amazing movie for people who haven't seen it. In my opinion, the differences enhance the movie rather than detract from it. There are many Christian themes in it that I greatly enjoyed--such as forgiveness--that are very powerful. Even people who have no prior interest in movies with fantasy characters, such as my mother (who loved the movie), will most likely find the profoundness of the story more compelling than the strangeness of the creatures. If you are looking for a great movie that incorporates Christian themes into a truly unique and extraordinary story, look no farther than the Chronicles of Narnia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Faithful, Eye-Popping Rendering Of A Classic Story. Walt Disney Pictures Did The Book Justice...C.S. Lewis Would Have Been Proud. Anxiously Awaiting The Next Movie.

    For over 50 years, the epic seven-part series "The Chronicles Of Narnia" by C.S. Lewis has delighted children and adults alike. Now, Walt Disney Pictures and Walden Media have teamed up to bring the most popular of the stories, "The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe" to the silver screen. Awesome visual effects, classic story, the absence of objectionable material and an all-star voice cast (including Liam Neeson, of "Schindler's List" fame, as Aslan) all combine to make this first installment of the series a perfect family movie. This 2-Disc Special Collector's Edition is entirely indispensable for the die-hard movie buff. I highly recommend this first installment for classroom viewing. "Prince Caspian" is due in theaters next December. Rated PG for battle sequences and frightening moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    C.S. Lewis and Narnia: Beware

    Before you jump on the C.S. Lewis/Narnia bandwagon, take a look at an essay entitled "The Darkside of Narnia," by the prizewinning children's author, Philip Pullman. It may make you think twice about just what values Mr. Lewis is espousing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disney will you ever cease to amaze me?

    Shock and awe people, shock and awe. That's what this movie is. If you've read the books and the movie made in the eighty's didn't fit your standards then this is what you've been waiting for!. When I first saw the trailer in the theater I almost completly lost it. Skittles went flying and I beleive a dance number was preformed but I said to myself 'if they mess this up there'll be you know what to pay'. Thank goodness they didn't. Narnia is an excellent movie for all ages with morals, the value of friendship, and the improtance of family. Watch and prepare to be dazzeled. After all magic isn't too far away, it's just on the other side of the wardrobe!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Followed the Book Really Well

    If you are a fan of the Narnia books or just a fan of fantasy movies then this is a movie that you should see! The movie followed the book very well and the special affects were very good. This movie is a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Im am shocked

    i repect peoples' opinions but how can anyone give this movie lower than 5 stars!!!!!!!!! the special effects were amazing and the cast was unbelievable. this movie and book had a message and i hope you learn that message and if not then you obviously missed an important lesson. so all i have to say is that im shocked that you cannot see the message the goodnes and the amazing script and cast. so, please watch the movie again and maybe you'll see the impotance behind it not just the spiritual one but the joy of a child getting away to a fantasy world during a time of war and sadness. if you cannot see both of these messages then you cannot give this movie less then 5 stars for you didnot learn the message therefor you didnot see the movie and cannot give it such critcism.5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY WELL DONE!

    I have been an avid reader of the Narnia stories for years, so I was not sure when this movie came out how faithful it would be to the original idea. I was pleasantly surprised. It is much better done and more believable than the BBC vidoes done in the 80s. There are some story lines inserted into the script, but overall, the foundationl themes of betrayal and redemption come shining through. Lucy's character was especially good, and the Witch sent chills through me. I look forward to more Narnia movies, especially when/if they do the "Dawn Treader", which is my favorite Narnia book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous

    5 Stars to Disney for making such a fabulous adaptation of C.S. Lewis's book. Hopefully the success of this awesome film will lead to many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Expectations met

    I loved the movie the Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe since I knew and loved all books by C.S.Lewis. Good work. The movie comes close to my own imaginations. I highly recommened this movie. I‘m excited to let my grandchildren watch it, when they come to visit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alanna Doyle

    This Movie was great...anyone who says otherwise has most likely never read the book... I have and this movie was great...sure there were some things but its a movie you have to change it up somehow... C.S Lewis is the most awesome writer... He did an awesome job on the books and Hollywood did a good job on the movies! 20 out of 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It was OK

    I've seen different versions of this story so I guess I'm just a little more critical. But let me also state I haven't read the book, I'm just comparing to the other two movies. It wasn't bad I guess I was just hoping for something different or a little better than the other two I saw. But the special effects were pretty good. If this is your first time seeing a narnia movie you may really like this one, because the overall story is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Childhood Fantasy Come True

    I had read the book when I was young and I am so glad they finally made it into a movie. We took my grandsons to the movie with us and they were thrilled with the movie, as we were, and they couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I truly hope they make movies of the rest of the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie

    The plot felt rushed in places. I would've liked more time to flesh out the characters in Narnia before the end battle began. Maybe an additional 30 minutes would've sufficed. But regardless, this movie is still a decent one to pass an evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent Narnia

    "The Chronicles of Narnia" has to go down as one of the best, if not the very best, movie that Disney has ever made. It is a fantasy movie, but make no mistake: it is so much more than fantasy. May I be so bold as to say that if you don't have a basic understanding of the Bible, the story line will completely elude you. Narnia is positively loaded with scriptural symbolism, and to anyone watching that has little or no biblical knowledge, they'll leave the theater thinking it was a strange, disjointed yarn. But this movie is far from that. It is intricately interwoven with multiple biblical people, events, and concepts, resulting in a spectacular epic for the ages. In sum, I can define this biblically sound and enthralling story in one word: splendid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Family Favorite

    Our family has read the NARNIA books for years. Last summer for vacation the whole set went with us and the boys loved it. We had seen the original BBC series. All of us loved the new NARNIA movie. Some went to see it more than once. This movie is true to the original story by CS LEWIS. It did not disappoint us. All of us are looking forward to seeing it again next week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME MOVIE!

    Entranced from the first moment to the end. I left the theatre completely satisfied on every emotional level. This movie made me laugh, cry, hope... I highly recommend it.. regardless of your religious beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lives up to expectations!

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe has been one of my favorite books since I first read the entire series in 5th grade. I've read it several times since and read it to my children too. I was afraid the movie couldn't live up to my expectations. Thankfully, the movie is wonderful. I still recommend reading the book, since it's a different experience -- but I'm glad to say the movie is excellent. I know I'll be watching it many, many times over the coming years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not a Fan of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

    Could they be any more blunt that Aslan was Jesus?! It's supposed to be allegorical -- but not with Disney. The child actors were sub par which is a shame because they're the only ones that had to act in the whole movie. The animation of the lion was more alive than the real humans. Skip this movie, and get Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire -- you'll get your money's worth for that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tom Cruise - Wake up, and smell a good movie!

    I only saw two movies in the theater: The Passion of the Christ - and this one! normally I don't go, but I saw it with my family around Christmas time: I too wasn't sure what to expect boy, was I surprised! 'course, I really wasn't expecting to see trash, 'cause after all, it is Disney! I think this is one of Disney best live action Disney films, and probably one of the best action movies since Lord of the Rings! Not only is it a great movie, but it's outrageously funny: I mean Any body who don't like Mr. Beaver, needs a to by themselves a new personality! Sorry Tom, this is a winner in my book! I will agree with him on one thing though: I am ashamed of Hollywood. Why it didn't when any Oscars is a mystery to me! I think more movies should be made like this! This just proves that people wants to watch Christian related movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8