Customer Reviews for

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is one seriously amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great for adults, teens AND kids

    What a fantastical 2 hour journey! Our beloved cast from the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe is back, alone with the newly crowned King Caspian from the chronicle Prince Caspian. Throw in fast paced seafaring adventures, scene-stealing funny moments from an award nominated new actor playing cousin Eustace, utterly gorgeous, breathtaking cinematography filled with kaleidescope sunsets, majestic mountain ranges,and deep blue seas , a stirring score, dragons and sea serpents and you are utterly swept away from your troubles and into a magical land, filled with color and excitement. Lots of action, characters you know and love, and an ending that will leave a lump in your throat. AAAAhhhhhhh, finally, a movie that leaves you feeling GOOD. I recommend wholeheartedly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    "Takes the audience back into the magic, wonder, adventure, and inspired genius that is the world of Narnia."

    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is the third installment of the TCON (The Chronicles of Narnia) movies released by Disney, Walden Media, & 20th Century Fox. The first movie, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was a hit, making way for it's sequel, Prince Caspian, which received a fair amount of positive and critical feedback from it's fans. The latest film, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, seemed to promise much when I first came across the previews - a surge of excitement at finally being able to see the magic brought to life in another blockbuster film. However, was it successful?

    Overview & Speculation:

    Unlike my opinion with Prince Caspian, I believe The Dawn Treader is well accomplished. Although some areas of the movie differ from the book, I could recall a plethora of scenes that I remembered were in the book (when I read it sometime around 2004). The end even serves to make way for the next two books in the storyline, The Silver Chair and The Final Battle. Though the Final Battle will most likely be the only option, as it appears the Dawn Treader film has already taken many scenes from The Silver Chair.

    The movie is filled with amazing effects, beautifully accomplished animation, all-around design, and a fitting cast. It returns with the same feel that was brought about by The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, taking the audience back into the magic, wonder, adventure, and inspired genius that is the world of Narnia.

    As for the basic storyline:

    It has been a year since the events of Prince Caspian, and Edmond and Lucy find themselves in a terrible situation - as the war persists, they must live with their Aunt and Uncle. along with their cousin, Eustace Scrubb, who takes an immediate disliking to the Pevensie children and their Narnia non-sense, and finds no trouble, in his odious manner, in expressing his aversion. As in most stories as this, the boy is bound to become a believer. But how, one may ask? Why, being sucked into a painting! The room fills with the water, once a mere beauty to admire in the painting, now a torrent which violently tosses them back into a sudden reunion with Narnia, and onto one of their greatest adventures yet. Evil has shrouded the land of Narnia once again and Prince Caspian, accompanied by his royal castaways (Edmund and Lucy), must gather the Seven Swords of the Seven Lords (that's a mouthful.) and set them on Aslan's Table, which will vanquish the darkness if they succeed.

    Many characters reappear from the previous movies, including one of my personal favorites: Reepicheep (beside my top favorite Aslan.)

    It's a terrific movie fit for the whole family - although there are some elements which may be unsuitable to younger audiences [Rated PG].

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You cannot go wrong using kids in a movie or a commercial. (I w

    You cannot go wrong using kids in a movie or a commercial. (I was a kid a long long long time ago, I think, or am I having a Senior Moment?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    i love this movie!!!

    i love this movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great DVD.

    If you are an entertainment seeker, you will probably enjoy this DVD. **Violence, action, and adventure all for you to enjoy. **Maybe "scary" for some youth under thirteen. *A grand voyage. *Quality entertainment. *Great special effects. *Great script and scenery. *Encourages viewers to remain hope-filled and follow the destiny chosen for you and avoid evil and temptation.
    If you enjoy this DVD, you will most likely enjoy reading the entire Narnia book series as well as seeing the other Narnia movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A very nice third sequel!

    An awesome movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Adventure

    While I still say The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe is the best of these Narnia movie adaptions thus far, this one was certainly still enjoyable. Other than the beloved Asland of course, when he shows up, I would have to say that I was quite taken with the rat, Reepicheep, who was voiced by the ever funny Simon Pegg. I have always liked that guy. He's in some great stuff. Overall though, quite an enjoyable movie. C.S. Lewis was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1