Customer Reviews for

The Count of Monte Cristo

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For once, a movie better than the book

    The movie adaptation is much better than the book. I usually never like the movie as well as the book, but in this case - big improvement. The movie whittles down all the convoluted second half of the book and makes some agreeable changes in plot. The scenery and music are great and so is the acting. My 9-year old son loves this movie and we have watched it many times as a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing like the book. But what did you expect?

    I find it hard to beleive that anyone who has read the full version of the Count of Monte Cristo would be surprised this movie left out large portions of the book. The book is far too large to turn into a 2-3 hour movie. The entire background story on Lugi Vampa alone could have been turned into a movie. So to could have been my favorite par of the book; the Valintine and Maxmillion love story. The film did manage to capture the main themes of the novel; revenge, betrayl and Dantes' transformation from a gullible, innocent sailor to a jaded count. Overall it is worth watching. But, if possible, watch the movie before you read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    The Count of Monte Cristo is known to be a classic, but overall

    The Count of Monte Cristo is known to be a classic, but overall I didn't really enjoy it. I mostly enjoy mystery and action books and this book seemed very slow paced. In some parts you just wanted the scene to end and in others it was pretty hard to comprehend. The story felt like it just dragged on. I feel like if the book was shorter the story would have been more interesting. I also thought that when the story ended there should have been a little more of an ending.
    Although I didn't like the book, I did think that the author created a well thought out story line and plot. I liked how you read about the time when Edmond Dantes had a perfect life and he was about to receive everything he always wanted. Then all of the sudden his friends turned to enemies and his perfect life was stripped away from him piece by piece. I also liked how during the time he was in jail, his anger built up more and more until he created a “map to revenge” in his mind. He escaped and he followed that “map to revenge” until he ruined the people’s lives who put him in the situation he was put in for the last 14 years. In conclusion he realized what he had done, but only regretted how he ruined the lives of the people who were not a part of his enemies’ conspiracy. It was a pretty creative story.
    I don’t think I would recommend this book to people that like the same kind of books as me, or people who don’t enjoy reading a lot, because it is a super long book. I would however recommend it to people who enjoy historical books of any kind. It is actually a pretty good book it is just not for me. Maybe now I should watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    This was one of the worst versions of the Count of Monte Cristo

    This was one of the worst versions of the Count of Monte Cristo that I have viewed....Hollywood ruined the storyline and destroyed Dumas' book...bad...bad...bad...JRVA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    the book was wonderful!

    the book was wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Highly recommended!!!

    Great movie.....full of suspense, romance, and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great version of classic story

    James Caviezel and Guy Pearce move you to feel the betrayal and desire for revenge in this story based on Dumas' novel. It is all too easy to imagine Dantes' deep hurt over the betrayal by his best friend. It's also fascinating to watch his intricate plan for revenge unfold. The sword fights are good too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Prefect!

    This is a great movie adaptation of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie has it all!

    This movie really does have it all! The cast was incredible! the costumes were amazing. I must say that my favorite part was the story. It is awesome! The story at first seems so simple, maybe about two men who are best friends and find a treasure. But oh is there so much more! The script has so many twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat! I think one of my favorite parts is when the priest teaches the count of monte cristo how to read, write, to think for himself, and to finally fight and defend himself. Everything you thought that was going to happen doesn't, or does, but in a different more awesome way. This movie makes you think. It's exciting, funny, and well unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent movie

    I love this movie. Even my grandaughter who is almost 9 likes to watch this. The acting is very good and so is the story. I highly recommend this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good moral

    Don¿t know if it was because I became religious a short time before this movie came out but it¿s got ALOT of deep meanings in it from what I got. But very well written and done movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    It was okay but not great.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Deep and some great acting

    I saw this movie before the the passion of the Christ and when I saw this movie I was in wonderment how a great movie like this is underappreciated. The Count of Monte Cristo has everything. Love, Friendship, Revenge and has a good moral to the story. I absolutley loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alright

    This was a good movie-for a movie. It completly butchered the book, left out many of the most important characters, and distorted the plot. The old version of this movie was more accurate. Overall, this movie was alright.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite movies!!!

    This was a great movie!! I never saw a movie that left you hanging about what was going to happen next until i saw this one. I watched it on ABC family now im buying it. It is wonderful I enjoyed every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    I agree with the other reviews. This is a great film. No, this is not the book, but it makes you want to get it and read it! I am not one to buy movies after I've seen them, but this one is a keeper. Richard Harris does a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    God this movie rocks

    This movie is one of the best sword fighting movies next to the princess bride and the homemade ones my dad makes of my sisters fencing competitions its awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my all time favorites!!

    This movie is really good. It is a little long, but it is totally worth it. It's exciting, emotional, dramatic, and captivating. Everyone should see this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Usually Prefer the Book. Not this time...

    This is an excellent film. No, the movie does not mirror the book which inspired it. It does not matter in the least; the movie had me on the edge of my seat many times, and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BUTCHERED

    Alexandre Dumas is rolling over in his grave. If you have ever read his masterpiece, spare yourself the agony of watching this movie, I doubt you'll have the will-power to finish it, I'm surprised I did. It is an absolute joke that this film bears the same name as the book. Dumas has every right to seek out twice the revenge that Edmond Dantes did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4