Customer Reviews for

The Covenant

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Movie!

    Such a good movie! I personally liked it a lot, but it's not really one of my favorites. Of course, with hot guys and the use of magic, it's pretty close =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbinding

    If you like magic and hott guys you'll love this movie. Steven Strait is a great actor. The fighting is awesome! Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I thought it was a great genre movie

    I thought that The Covenant was pure escapism but with a slick style that took a novel approach to an old theme. I liked the way they dealt with the conundrum of having this super power but by using it you lost a piece of yourself. It makes you think about the consequences of your actions and how they impact others as well as yourself. The lighting, set, special effects and the model good looks of the whole cast made for a fantastic visual throughout. Great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Little Bit of Magic to go, Please.

    This movie explores the possibilities and mysteries of magic that is not for children. Growing up I loved movies such as Hocus Pocus, Escape to Witch Mountain, Witches, Teen Witch, etc... Now that I am an adult it is nice to watch a movie with a similar theme without watching a movie made for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie!!!

    The first time i saw this movie i fell in love with it , my eyes were glued to the screen . My favorite is caleb , he's Hot!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The first time I saw this movie I was in love! It's easy to follow, kept my attention and was very interesting. The guys were all hot, but my fav is the guy who plays Caleb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love this movie!!!

    When I first heard of it, I heard it on YouTube, and from my friend. So I went to a Barnes&Noble and purchesed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the covenant

    kept hearing about this movie and the whole oh it sucked or ohhh steven strait!!! anyway, i first heard about in a magazine and thought it was a show lol, the movie was alright and the plot was interesting but yes it could of been better, and i wondered what if caleb was the baddie instead? fave out of the four is of course caleb and pogue i don't know why reminds me of a young johnny depp back in his early days as an actor or something. and caleb so cute and a def jacob black from the twilight series especially new moon and eclipse and once again looks so much like josh hartnett just with black hair but love love steven's smile. this is like one of those movies where it kinda sucks but you can't help at least watch once and remember "that guy from that movie" where you know the face but not the name kind of that of thing. the others were cool too especially reid with the harry potter and dreamcatcher comment. in the final scene you know you're reminded of dragon ball z. why is it always the guy falls for blonde chick all the time and not like the black haired or brown or even red? it was an alright movie but a little weird at times little cliche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    someone

    great. funny in some parts and creepy in others makes it a great movie to watch if you're anything like me. although i do disagree that it is an action/thriller/horror film. its more of a movie that has supernatual feel that can keep you on edge for some of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It might be overused, but...

    Okay so I agree that the plot of the movie might be the same old boys have powers, and one misuses it. But I'm a fan of the same old. It's great to see how other people portray things. Some people might not like it, but I would reccommend it. This might be Steven Strait's best role yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Same old formula

    This movie is a good one to pass an evening, but it's still the same old formula of boys have power and one wants to mis-use it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Witch Hunting in the 21st Century: Hunky Molochs!

    THE COVENANT is not a great film by any definition but it is worth seeing for the cast of characters doomed to portray the rather shoddy script: the live Abercrombie & Fitch appearing models make up for allure in screen presence what they may lack in a solid story. In the 1600s, during the witch trials, there were five families who secretly survived, holding 'The Power', to send their descendents into the future. It is now present time and four of the families are represented by young hunks, the Ipswich Guys, who are attending a private school in autumnal Massachusetts, careful to keep their Power hidden for the most part: the Power is the ability to do fantastic feats of force and sorcery which, if it is used to much carries the punishment of aging the body quickly... The four lads are Caleb (20-year old stud model Steven Strait), Pogue (sculpted body man Taylor Kitsch), Tyler (Chace Crawford), and Reid (Toby Hemingway) and aside from Caleb and Pogue the other two are pretty much set decoration, so minimal are their lines and involvement. Into this setting comes one Chase Collins (Sebastian Stan, a handsome lad from 'The Architect') who just happens to be the surviving member of the fifth family and who is greedy for Power beyond his own abilities. A series of confrontations results in Caleb facing Chase in a showdown, but not before the girls involved with the good guys - Caleb's girlfriend Sarah (Laura Ramsey) and Pogue's girlfriend Kate (Jessica Lucas), equally as beautiful as their partners are handsome - critically enter the picture. There is, of course, a showdown in an old ancestral barn during the requisite thunder and lightning storm background which serves as a stage for the silly computer generated graphics that throw Caleb and Chase around with jellyfish balls and the like. The ending makes it very clear that a sequel (probably more than one) is planned and if that means more exposure for this attractive young cast of actors, bring it on. Director Renny Harlin and writer J.S. Cardone know they have a kitschy formula movie and seem to have a great time making it as fun and creepy as possible - good music, great lighting and camera work, and a penchant for locker room shower scenes that guarantee success with the intended audience. THE COVENANT is often silly but it is a good escapist movie and may just be the springboard for some new faces! Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2