BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

THIS MOVIE IS EXTRAORDINARY!!!!

I watched this when my mother bought it the day that i came out and i think that the whole thing is very poetic. I've read some reviews that say that it is like the Titanic and Forrest Gump put together, but I'm okay with that because those are two other movies on my to...
I watched this when my mother bought it the day that i came out and i think that the whole thing is very poetic. I've read some reviews that say that it is like the Titanic and Forrest Gump put together, but I'm okay with that because those are two other movies on my top10 list. The emotional and physical challenges that Benjamin Button goes through are amazing. The whole story is very inspirational. My favorite part of the movie has to be how they incorporated the hummingbird into his story. Being the only bird that can fly backwards, it portrays how Benjamin can look back on his past by looking to the future.

posted by leyendo_aqui on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

way way too too long

This pic suffered from an endulgent editor. Much of the minor story points should have been dropped to the editor's fl. Being a huge fan of the director, D. Fincher - "Zodiac"; "Seven" and "Fight Club" (all exceptional flicks) - I feel like I'm betraying him and I've ...
This pic suffered from an endulgent editor. Much of the minor story points should have been dropped to the editor's fl. Being a huge fan of the director, D. Fincher - "Zodiac"; "Seven" and "Fight Club" (all exceptional flicks) - I feel like I'm betraying him and I've been betrayed simultaneously. This overlong opus was technically strong but, from an audience member's point of view, emotionally weak. Usually, his main characters explode from the screen with complex, conflicting dispositions. Although the performances here are strong, they lack any complex character arcs. It felt like a straight forward (no pun intended) love story. In the past, he has demonstrated strength by combining these disparate distinctions in order to accomplish a classic. This one doesn't have that edge that his other attempts possess. That said, it is a well assembled film with a thought provoking premise. Moreover, Fincher has once again (see above titles) proven that he can take a complex, semi-nonlinear storyline and and mold it into something anyone can enjoy. So, you may really love it but do you really like it?

posted by filmsontap on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS MOVIE IS EXTRAORDINARY!!!!

    I watched this when my mother bought it the day that i came out and i think that the whole thing is very poetic. I've read some reviews that say that it is like the Titanic and Forrest Gump put together, but I'm okay with that because those are two other movies on my top10 list. The emotional and physical challenges that Benjamin Button goes through are amazing. The whole story is very inspirational. My favorite part of the movie has to be how they incorporated the hummingbird into his story. Being the only bird that can fly backwards, it portrays how Benjamin can look back on his past by looking to the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite movies!

    To say I loved this movie is an understatement. It is not very often that I sit in a theater and constantly think how much I am enjoying something. This is a beautiful story about life. It reminds us of what is important - the people that weave in and out of our life's story. The attention to detail was extraordinary. I thought it was Brad Pitt's finest moment. Taraji P. Henson was wonderful. She is an actress to watch for in the future. As I was watching this movie I told my husband over and over I wanted to own this when it came out. This is not a movie for everyone - but if you love stories that bring out your emotions and touch your heart please see it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN!! MUST-WATCH

    This movie was the most splendid movie I have ever had the pleasure to watch. This was beautiful. The way the movie portrayed the different stages of Benjamin's life were seamless! The transitions from his life, the women he loved, the adventures he partook, all leading to his ultimate love for Daisy and life, in itself. The clock going backwards, and the hummingbird's presence and importance throughout the film was brilliant. The story seemed almost as a life's journey being told to you and Benjamin Button will capture your heart from the first, raisin-bodied time you see him on your television screen till the youthful blue eyes you see of him at the very end. I assure you, if you enjoy movies that will last a lifetime, Benjamin Button will be the best 2 hours and 45 minutes of escapism in all your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    way way too too long

    This pic suffered from an endulgent editor. Much of the minor story points should have been dropped to the editor's fl. Being a huge fan of the director, D. Fincher - "Zodiac"; "Seven" and "Fight Club" (all exceptional flicks) - I feel like I'm betraying him and I've been betrayed simultaneously. This overlong opus was technically strong but, from an audience member's point of view, emotionally weak. Usually, his main characters explode from the screen with complex, conflicting dispositions. Although the performances here are strong, they lack any complex character arcs. It felt like a straight forward (no pun intended) love story. In the past, he has demonstrated strength by combining these disparate distinctions in order to accomplish a classic. This one doesn't have that edge that his other attempts possess. That said, it is a well assembled film with a thought provoking premise. Moreover, Fincher has once again (see above titles) proven that he can take a complex, semi-nonlinear storyline and and mold it into something anyone can enjoy. So, you may really love it but do you really like it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    This movie ‘’The Curious Case of Benjamin Button&rsq

    This movie ‘’The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’’ contains cliff hangers at every moment the producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall put into it. This book/movie is about a boy who is born old and as he grows up he gets younger. He experiences love and hate. People judge him.The first criteria that makes this a good movie is cinematography. I especially liked all the angles the movie had. For example when Benjamin was playing with some toys the camera was right up in his face.The second criteria that makes this a good movie is the length. Even though the movie was 2 hrs. 45min. long every scene fit in and came together. The producers put in popular events and also some events that weren't really needed but came up in conversation.The third criteria that makes this a good movie is the makeup. When I first saw Ben as a old baby I definitely thought that he didn't have makeup on. It looked natural. If you're wondering to watch the movie first or read the book in my opinion it doesn't really matter. Although the movie gives off more information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I loved this film. Brad Pitt was wonderful in the title role. You could feel the anguish from Cate Blanchett in this movie, how she was so torn between her love for Benjamin and her daughter Caroline. This was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. The acting was great!

    The comparison of Benjamin Button to Forrest Gump is ridiculous. The only similar thing is that they're both films.

    Watch this movie and you be the judge. The story is by F. Scott Fitzgerald, a towering icon in the world of literature.

    The make-up was fabulous. Incredibly so. I wish that Julia Ormond would be in more movies because she is absolutely wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow this is an amazing movie i love you Brad Pitt!

    Brad Pitt was wonderful in this movie as being born an old amn and turing into a hansome young man the movie is a must see classic a real roamntic fim that is heartwarming and inspiring and Brad Pitt does it all as Benjamin Button and Cate Blanchett as Daisy was wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald

    Fitzgerald's brilliant idea is turned into an epic. Great acting by all. Superb direction. The New Orleans touch and the involvement of African-American characters, not in the original story, adds flavor and depth to what was an intellectual, imaginative story.
    When hurricane Katrina comes at the end of the movie and the Cate Blanchett character dies, it is like the old New Orleans. so beautifully portrayed in this film, dies also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Relative Film

    Excellent film. Fasinating subject matter. Very original epic love story made during the decade of the hollywood remake. Inspires discussions on many levels......including science & relativity.....besides being a truly beautiful movie.

    Wonderful performance, as usual, from Kate Blanchett. Brad Pitt at his best. Very impressive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Everyone did some wonderful work

    Director, David Fincher, tackles this complex, yet beautiful story with great confidence. Two characters have to age through out. One ages backwards, the other forwards.

    Along with actors Brad Pitt and Cate Blancher, Fincher steps up to the task.

    Though at first I was probably more interested in seeing how Pitt aged backwards, I was soon drawn into the story and it was very heartfelt to say the least.

    I liked this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just awful!

    The trailer for this film plays romantic music and shows very little of the ambience of the actual film. It was dark, both literally and emotionaly, depressing, and just plain weird. The first time in my life a movie actually made me feel upset to my stomach. Both my husband and myself gave it a try, but finally just took it out and never finished watching it. That's a first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Liked it Better as Forest Gump

    Not quite the same as Forest Gump, but many of the devices from that movie have been poorly reworked into Benjamin Button.

    Caution before reading. This may contain some spoilers.

    Same plot outline: Told in flashbacks and narrated by the main characters, pure-hearted, simple-minded, soft-spoken, southern accented, momma-boyed, slack-jawed wimps come into the world with disabilities (age/bad legs), which they eventually learn are not disabilities at all. The love interests go through the same arcs: loves the main characters, too self-absorbed to love the main characters, after a long delay falls on hard times and relies on the main characters.

    The main characters are tossed through events in history without making any real decisions. Colorful leaders enter, and come to depend on the the main characters' constant 70 bpm heart rate for some unknown reason. Macguffins (a weak plot device) such as the button business or shrimp business, give the characters financial independence.

    Aside from the dismal story telling, I found it difficult to get past the unconvincing makeup job. Old or young, Benjamin Button looked like Brad Pitt at 40 in makeup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My movie of the year!

    I absolutely loved this movie - it's not about time traveling backwards (etc..) but how true love survives all. Must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST SEE, MUST BUY! THE BEST LOVE STORY EVER! WHY? THERE HAS NEVER BEEN SUCH A FICTITIOUS MAKE BLIEVE FILM, WITH SELFDRENCHING FEELING AND REALLITY, WITH OVER THE TOP MEANING AND HEARTFELT STORY TELLING.

    WOW! It is an obvious Love Story, but insured with Drama and Epic proportion's. I was touched and gripped from start to finish. If U only like Romance Drama's or comedic Romance(The NoteBook, 27 Dresses[which I like]), U might not B into this one. This one demand's attention to Amazing Story Telling, so if U enjoy great storie's or Plot's, and Brilliant Production's, then this "Curious Case" will surely arouse you, and give you a taste of astounding fascination...I loved the mother's statement of Banjamin after he was born of "you sure are ugly," fitting perfectly into what we today semi quote, that "only a mother can love." And she(step mom)loved him. Also, From lover's love to motherly love, Cate's part in the story does what I was not sure would happen, but wanted to happen, in that Benjamin is taken care of as a baby(after he aged reversedly):I LOVED IT ! Julia Ormond's(daughter)reading the story at the hospital to a dying mother(the roll of Cate)from Pitt's own Diary, to Pitt bcoming a kid and child and forgetting his past, gave me what I want from all movies:a closure, but not complete. Please, watch this movie...Brad and Julia did another great movie together, "Legend's of the Fall," 1994.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    sweet story

    This was a very sweet story, but the movie was overrated. Clocking in at close to 3 hours long, I found myself watching the clock, waiting for Benjamin to turn into an old man baby and die. The special effects are amazing, though.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeper from Fincher and co.

    This film is a visual knockout, first of all. As Ben moves though time, David Fincher springs a terrific battle at sea, as well as intimate moments between the hero and his great love Daisy. Performances are adequate - Pitt is able to find the humanity and turmoil inside a man whose very existence is both miracle and curse. Criterion will make sure the movie stays around for a long time, which is a good thing. Below in recommendations are films dealing with the joy of life, characters disconnected from reality, and finally another film from Fincher that will relate to Button's length and visual style. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4