Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Blasphemous! 

    Blasphemous! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    highly recommend

    Really nice movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    =

    =

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bloodline Exists

    Did the Knights Templar hide the Holy Grail in the Louvre? Is Roselyn Chapel a Templar shrine with hidden secrets carved on its chapel columns and roof? Could Mary Magdalene be the Holy Grail and her crypt hold clues to the past? Yes! ~~ if you believe the essence of the tale. A provoking film that, if viewed with clear mind & thoughtful conscience, persuades that these long~veiled historical footnotes are true. Delightful in its telling; provoking in it's historical and religious premise, "Da Vinci Code' is superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent movie

    I watched this in the theater, after reading the book. The movie very closely follows the book and was easy to follow the plot and characters. Very thought provoking, even though it is fiction. Definitely recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BRAVO!

    the time that this movie would be in theater i'm so excited to see it with my eyes..i'm getting more curious what's this movie all about! when time i'd got a chance to watch this movie i'm so amaze and in every line they speak, every word they deliver i ask myself about my faith..though i'm a roman catholic but of course i'm human being who are presently living here on earth but don't know how people appear, any living creature here on earth.How does people have different raises?different cultures? how thus things made... there are too many qurstions, speculations in any way...

    JUST SEE THIS MOVIE! AND JUDGE IT BY YOURSELF!!...


    Bravo...i love this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Holy Grail

    Did the Knights Templar hide the Holy Grail in the Louvre? Is Roselyn Chapel a Templar shrine with hidden secrets carved on its chapel columns and roof? Could Mary Magdalene be the Holy Grail and her crypt hold clues to the past? Yes! ~~ if you believe the essence of the tale. A provoking film that, if viewed with clear mind, intelligence, imagination & thoughtful conscience, persuades that these long~veiled historical footnotes are true. Delightful in its telling; provoking in it's historical and religious premise, "Da Vinci Code' is superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great symbolism

    you have to see this movie atleast 3 times to really appreciate it for all it's worth. everytime I watched it I learned something new. must have for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Read the book and rent National Treasure instead

    I was on a date the first time I saw the 2006 movie ¿The Da Vinci Code.¿ It was in a movie theater, and at the time I was much more focused on the girl I was with than on the movie. <BR/>I had not read the world famous book of the same title, and the movie didn¿t hold too much appeal, but at the time it seemed like the best movie theater option to take a girl to, so I went. Literally, the very next day I couldn¿t remember many, if any, of the plot details, but that could have been because, like I said, my attention was diverted. <BR/>Two years later I was browsing a bookstore, when I stumbled across The Da Vinci Code book, which was written by Dan Brown and published in 2003. Having nothing else to read at the time, I decided to buy a copy so I could see for myself what all the fuss was about. <BR/>I finished the nearly 500 page book in less than a week. Needless to say, it was a page-turner. <BR/>After finishing the book, I decided to watch the movie for a second time. This time I would actually pay attention, so I could see if the film version could visually depict the countless twists and turns of the book in a way that would give me the same number of goose bumps as the written version had. <BR/>I know it is rare for a film adaptation of a popular book to live up to its written counterpart, but the producers of ¿The Da Vinci Code¿ movie obviously had spent some bucks and pulled out all the stops to make the movie good, or at least to make it a blockbuster. <BR/>Ron Howard, the director of such great films as ¿Apollo 13¿ signed on to direct, and universally loved Academy Award winning actor Tom Hanks was cast as the lead, Harvard professor turned Holy Grail hunter Robert Langdon. <BR/>I popped the DVD into my computer and strapped myself to the couch in preparation for a thrill around every corner. I fell asleep about 45 minutes in. When I woke up I reluctantly powered through the rest of the movie. <BR/>I concluded the movie version of ¿The Da Vinci Code¿ was basically a poor man¿s ¿National Treasure,¿ a film with a similar historically based treasure-hunting premise starring Nicholas Cage. <BR/>¿The Da Vinci Code¿s¿ main problem was that the filmmakers tried to squeeze all of the details of the 500-page book into a two and a half hour movie. None of the twists were fully developed or focused on, and consequently, many of the lines seemed like they were forced in for additional exposition. <BR/>Even with these extra lines, however, the movie was convoluted and hard to follow at times. And I had read the book. I can¿t imagine trying to follow the story without reading the book. <BR/>Tom Hanks was exceptional in the movie, and Audrey Tautou, who played Langdon¿s love interest, Sophie Neveu was good as well, despite seeming like a knock off version of Catherine Zeta-Jones. <BR/>Overall the film wasn¿t terrible, and it remained fairly true to the book, but I would not recommend it. I would, however, recommend reading the book and renting the movie, ¿National Treasure¿ instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Davinci code

    The Davinci Code is a captivating story of long lived legendary secrets held by the priory of Sion and how Christianity and the bible had been covered up with lies for ages. From a Christian standpoint, I thought it was extremely interesting story because of the way that they twisted the Bible and Christian faith to actually work out in favor of the legendary cult. It completely changed my understanding of the Bible, and to think that people actually believe this type of stuff is astounding. The way that author Dan Brown could manipulate the Bible and make connections with symbols and famous artifacts such as the Holy Grail, blew my mind. It was a phenomenal book that kept my interest and made me finished this book quicker than almost any book I have ever read. It was two thumbs up and a great read that will make you think deep into your ethics. The things that really hooked me were the plot twists, and the main character. Robert Langdon was a genius in this book. Not just in the sense of book smart, but also in his quick thinking and wittiness. He used all resources around him to full advantage and could solve and riddle you put in front of him. I was on the edge of my seat every second of this book. Everything was focused around the pursuit of the Holy Grail, which you might think is a cup, is otherwise. Every other chapter there was a plot twist and the alliances were changed. You never knew who to trust in the book. One of Robert Langdon&#8217 s most trustworthy teachers, Sir Leigh Teabing, was actually the notorious &#8220 Teacher&#8221 who was the mastermind of it all, eventually turning on Robert to gain ownership of the &#8220 Cup&#8221 . I never knew who to believe and didn&#8217 t know what was going to happen next. No wonder it was on the world wide best selling list and has been translated into forty-four different languages. this book will compel you and make finishing this book one of the top priorities in your daily life. I have only one piece of advice to help you through this book&#8230 Don&#8217 t trust anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SUPERB!

    This movie lives up to the book and will keep you on the edge of your seat. Casting was perfect even though I had reservations about Tom as our hero it turned out that he was smashing in the part. Audrey Tautou (Amalie) is beautiful and supremely talented and is exceptional as Sophie. Jean Reno (Leon the Professional) as the evil Captain was splendid as always, and there could be no better choice for the creepy Silas than Paul Bettany (Master and Commander). The incomparable Ian McKellen and Alfred Molina round out the impeccable cast in this incredible fast moving film. I'm one of those people who believe that Jesus was in fact married. If you study history you would know that in the time of Jesus a grown man who chose not to marry was an outcast. One did not flout this tradition. And logic asks why wouldn't he be married? There is much the church doesn't tell you as it is in their best interest for the &quot believers&quot not to know. Anyway, If you haven't seen it it's a show-stopper the religious aspects notwithstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We're getting there!!!

    I applaud Ron Howard for taking the risk of putting visuals to an already controversial subject - The Holy Grail. Of course, Tom Hanks is the perfect person to get this job done, but the content had quite of bit of people shifting in their seats - particularly The Vatican. Funny how whenever there are secrets about to be revealed or mysteries about to be solved, The Vatican has their finger on the pulse of it all. The truth will set us ALL free. We're not quite there yet, but we're getting there! Excellent movie - as was &amp amp quot Stigmata&amp amp quot .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Depends on your viewpoint, of course

    The previous reviews say a lot of different things, which is what you can say about this movie, depending on your viewpoint. As you all know, there was a lot of disagreement, and therefore hype, about the book due to Brown's position that Jesus was married. (In the book Tom Hanks' character states that position, while in the movie it's set forth by the antagonist Teabing, making him the &quot bad guy&quot ). This position upset committed Christians, as it goes against church teachings. As one of the reviews pointed out, Holy Blood Holy Grail, and some other biblical scholars, contend that there is a probability Jesus was married. My viewpoint is that I don't think it makes Jesus any less of a spiritual man, an incredible healer, teacher and preacher, whether he was married or not. Nor can his marriage be proven either way, so we'll just have to live with all of us having our own opinions on that matter. That's the essense of &quot religious freedom&quot , which is our First Amendment right. But I digress. As far as this movie goes, I agree with many of the reviews as far as the movie being confusing if you didn't read the book. I found Tom Hanks to be weird casting for that character, not that he doesn't do an admirable job, as always, with what he's given. The other major roles (Silas, Teabing, the Bishop) also played well. The actress who plays Sophie is only okay. Overall, most reviews are right re the book vs. the movie, the acting etc. I'm writing from the viewpoint of not only an avid movie watcher and book reader, but also from the viewpoint of someone who says that this type of book/movie touches tender emotional spots in people with firm religious beliefs (those who believe Jesus could not have been married) vs. people who think he could have been. My viewpoint is that we must all respect other people's emotional/religious beliefs and that this movie and the book touched a sore spot for some, but might have opened up the eyes of others. Some reviews say it's all fiction so to lighten up, but to many people religion/spirituality and Jesus (who is, by the way, an actual historical person) are very real and personal/emotional things and should be respected. Even if it's not the way you live your life, other people do and in this country we do, or should, try to respect other peoples's way of life and religious beliefs. After all, we did resent when a bunch of guys flew planes into our World Trade buildings cuz we, allegedly, didn't respect theirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Poor

    I think I represent my whole family, when I say that the movie did NOT live up to the book. I read the book in three days, which was extremely rare for me to do. The book was amazing and I'm thinking about going back and reading it again. But I must say, it was extremely hard for me to watch. I could not watch this movie. It was extremely bad and I would've been much happier if I had just not seen the movie at all. I give credit to all the people who put hard work into making the movie, especially Paul Bettany. Although, I also thought the cast was a little off, at least for me. But that is my opinion. In all, I think the movie is almost a disgrace to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I fell in love with the book...it was amazing but I feel that the movie did the book no justice. All the important parts went by so quickly, not giving the audience enough time to appreciate the meanings of those parts. I had much higher expectations for this movie and it truly could have bit a huge hit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mission Impossible 3- mission accomplished!!!!!

    this is the best action movie ever!!! you need to see it. it is just as good as the first. It has great special effects. it far outstrips Indiana Jones. if you see only one movie this year, make it mission impossible 3. You won’t regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    [3.5]-Books adapted to films are the hardest to please.

    After finally viewing this film last night I thought it was alright. Movies such as this seem to be a great challenge for directors. This story been read by so many and I know the film is almost 2.5 hours long, but this could, and should have been a bit longer or expanded in the correct places. The first 200 pages of Dan Brown's book are adapted into about 20 minutes. All of the anagrams, the Fache (Jean Reno) stuff, investigating the crime scene. ALL of that goes by in an incredibly rushed 20 minutes. You have to give those 20 minutes your full, undivided attention or you'll miss important details. Langdon being Fache's number 1 suspect isn't the least bit surprising. You had just been introduced to both characters 2 minutes beforehand. The film finally decides to slow down and take it's time once we meet Ian Mckellen's character, Leigh Teabing. They should have added at least 30 minutes to the first 20 minutes, and probably put some of those extra minutes into the irksome flashy flashback sequences. The acting is pretty good. Tom Hanks has his weak points in the film, but he's given such little time to react to things, I don't blame him. He gets better as the film goes along. The same can be said about Audrey Tautou. If the film wasn't so swift, I'm sure they'd give great performances. Paul Bettany, Jean Reno, Ian Mckellen and Alfred Molina all gave good performance. I'm not surprised that Dan Brown had Jean Reno in mind for Fache when he was writing the book. Ian Mckellen is great as the lovable and humble old man, Teabing. In my opinion, he has the best lines in the film. And Paul Bettany stands out as the albino monk, Silas. I think he gave the best performance in the film. Ron Howard does a good job in the directing chair but if he hadn’t rushed and gave more respect to the first 200 pages of Dan Brown's novel I'd probably give this film a higher rating. I do recommend this film but it’s better to read it before you see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not great.

    This movie wasn't that great. I've never read the book, but the story was ok. The actual movie was extremely boring and hard to follow. As much as some people believe this not a "theory," in all actuallity, it could be one. I wasn't actually there when Jesus was around. Anyways, this movie just needs more energy and a better plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I going to give credit where credit is due.

    I have to say that they did a decent job pulling of this movie like they did especially because the book was obviously is more complicated than any would make out of a movie. However, if you never read the book do not watch this as a substitute. Its not a great movie overall and sadly this isnt Tom Hanks best role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4