Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    =

    =

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Depends on your viewpoint, of course

    The previous reviews say a lot of different things, which is what you can say about this movie, depending on your viewpoint. As you all know, there was a lot of disagreement, and therefore hype, about the book due to Brown's position that Jesus was married. (In the book Tom Hanks' character states that position, while in the movie it's set forth by the antagonist Teabing, making him the &quot bad guy&quot ). This position upset committed Christians, as it goes against church teachings. As one of the reviews pointed out, Holy Blood Holy Grail, and some other biblical scholars, contend that there is a probability Jesus was married. My viewpoint is that I don't think it makes Jesus any less of a spiritual man, an incredible healer, teacher and preacher, whether he was married or not. Nor can his marriage be proven either way, so we'll just have to live with all of us having our own opinions on that matter. That's the essense of &quot religious freedom&quot , which is our First Amendment right. But I digress. As far as this movie goes, I agree with many of the reviews as far as the movie being confusing if you didn't read the book. I found Tom Hanks to be weird casting for that character, not that he doesn't do an admirable job, as always, with what he's given. The other major roles (Silas, Teabing, the Bishop) also played well. The actress who plays Sophie is only okay. Overall, most reviews are right re the book vs. the movie, the acting etc. I'm writing from the viewpoint of not only an avid movie watcher and book reader, but also from the viewpoint of someone who says that this type of book/movie touches tender emotional spots in people with firm religious beliefs (those who believe Jesus could not have been married) vs. people who think he could have been. My viewpoint is that we must all respect other people's emotional/religious beliefs and that this movie and the book touched a sore spot for some, but might have opened up the eyes of others. Some reviews say it's all fiction so to lighten up, but to many people religion/spirituality and Jesus (who is, by the way, an actual historical person) are very real and personal/emotional things and should be respected. Even if it's not the way you live your life, other people do and in this country we do, or should, try to respect other peoples's way of life and religious beliefs. After all, we did resent when a bunch of guys flew planes into our World Trade buildings cuz we, allegedly, didn't respect theirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    [3.5]-Books adapted to films are the hardest to please.

    After finally viewing this film last night I thought it was alright. Movies such as this seem to be a great challenge for directors. This story been read by so many and I know the film is almost 2.5 hours long, but this could, and should have been a bit longer or expanded in the correct places. The first 200 pages of Dan Brown's book are adapted into about 20 minutes. All of the anagrams, the Fache (Jean Reno) stuff, investigating the crime scene. ALL of that goes by in an incredibly rushed 20 minutes. You have to give those 20 minutes your full, undivided attention or you'll miss important details. Langdon being Fache's number 1 suspect isn't the least bit surprising. You had just been introduced to both characters 2 minutes beforehand. The film finally decides to slow down and take it's time once we meet Ian Mckellen's character, Leigh Teabing. They should have added at least 30 minutes to the first 20 minutes, and probably put some of those extra minutes into the irksome flashy flashback sequences. The acting is pretty good. Tom Hanks has his weak points in the film, but he's given such little time to react to things, I don't blame him. He gets better as the film goes along. The same can be said about Audrey Tautou. If the film wasn't so swift, I'm sure they'd give great performances. Paul Bettany, Jean Reno, Ian Mckellen and Alfred Molina all gave good performance. I'm not surprised that Dan Brown had Jean Reno in mind for Fache when he was writing the book. Ian Mckellen is great as the lovable and humble old man, Teabing. In my opinion, he has the best lines in the film. And Paul Bettany stands out as the albino monk, Silas. I think he gave the best performance in the film. Ron Howard does a good job in the directing chair but if he hadn’t rushed and gave more respect to the first 200 pages of Dan Brown's novel I'd probably give this film a higher rating. I do recommend this film but it’s better to read it before you see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I going to give credit where credit is due.

    I have to say that they did a decent job pulling of this movie like they did especially because the book was obviously is more complicated than any would make out of a movie. However, if you never read the book do not watch this as a substitute. Its not a great movie overall and sadly this isnt Tom Hanks best role.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not His Best Work...

    I am a fan of both Ron Howard and Tom Hanks. They are each incredibly talented directors and actors. They always seem to choose very diverse scripts and fascinating story lines. Unfortunately, I think this movie fell short for both of them. EVERYONE heard so much about this movie due to the book arriving on the scene first. Talk about giving away the ending first...There was nothing new, fresh, or interesting when the time came to view this over-hyped movie. The location and scene shots were great but, the story line, plot and end result fell flat. I didn't feel Tom Hanks had any passion for the movie either - first roll I had seen him ever UNDERPLAY - think back to Philadelphia, Apollo 13, Saving Private Ryan - he knocked these rolls out of the ballpark...yet in this movie he was lack luster. Wonder why? Had the movie come out first, then the book...well, there you might have had one of the best selling moviews of all time. They got it wrong and so, the final numbers were good, but not spectacular. Clearly, the story line itself is pure fiction and nothing based in real facts and historical data, but many in today's world are so unknowledgable about history and so hungry for any answer that fills a void for them that they latch onto books and movies like this as the "real truth". We can't be upset or worried about such people, they are harmless at best and unhinged at worst. Read the book if you choose, see the movie if you choose...just keep real life in perspective. This is one to see but, not one to keep and remember. Three stars for who they are but, not what they did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Da Vinci Code

    You must have heard and read the book by now, after learning about the movie as well. The title tells it all that starts off with a murder and then misunderstanding involving the message the victim lefts behind and thus begins an adventure of a lifetime for Langdon, Neveau and others that are hot on their trail for the truth to the long hidden secret confusing our reality of what is right and wrong from the very beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hard to please audience

    I enjoyed the movie very much and like others have stated that trying to turn a book into a movie is very hard to do especially this one being so complex and hard to do and while this cannot be taken for fact

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1