Customer Reviews for

The Day the Earth Stood Still (2008)

Average Rating 2.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Review of Day the Earth Stood Still

    Decent movie, could have been better with a more detailed focus on the origin of the lifeforms but overall a good movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insulting

    If you think a squid has more value than a human being, if you think a bureaucratic busybody alien should solve all of our "problems", if think that anyone in a uniform is a dunderheaded moron, if you think that crabgrass is more valuable than a baseball diamond, if you think remakes are just gee swell mister, if you think any movie is improved with a wooden lead and a whiney, disrespectful, ungrateful brat, then this movie is for you, you pathetic spongebrained drone. Kathy Bates, James Hong, and John Cleese I love you dearly, but never do this again, or I will look upon you like I do Steve Martin after his Pink Panther foray. This film is an abject failure on every level, and an embarrassment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hey, Hollywood, is this how it goes?

    I can only speculate that something like this is the thought process behind remaking classic movies: "Hey guys, I just saw a GREAT old movie I think we should revisit. It's called 'The Day the Earth Stood Still.' What's that? Never heard of it. Neither have I. But it's great. What's that? Oh, I don't really remember what it's about, but I remember the DVD cover. There is this robot guy, and he shoots lasers! FRICKIN LASERS! It is so hardcore. What's that? No, theres more to it. There is this other guy, who is NOT a robot, but hes from space. And theres a lot of talking, and stuff. What? Yeah, yeah, the robot blows stuff up. But here's what I'm thinking. The guy right, not the robot, he's an alien, right? So let's cast a soul-less cardboard mannequin to stand there looking all brooding and serious. Then the robot, ok, let's make him EXTREME. Like, instead of being vaguely human like, he turns into a giant swarm of robot bugs. And instead of the movie having a poignant message about man's inevitable path towards self-annihilation, we'll just destroy stuff! Yeah! Like the alien bug robot guy just flies around, wiping things out, and shooting evil lasers, and causing a ruckus! Oh, yeah, yeah, sure...of COURSE there will be a hard rockin' soundtrack and some product tie ins. THIS IS GOING TO BE HUGE!"

    I hate Hollywood.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    The Overview on this pages is for the original film, not the rem

    The Overview on this pages is for the original film, not the remake released in 2008 (which the cover/director/cast listing is for).

    I enjoyed this movie very much, and found it thought-provoking and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    SCI FI AT IT'S BEST

    This was a great movie in many ways. I had to add it to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reeves is great

    The movie remake is great. The portrayal of Klatu by reeves is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Day My Life Stood Still

    I have a 6 letter review for this movie: BORING. And I haven't even seen the supposedly amazing original to compare it to. Keanu Reaves is just retarted in this movie and just got paid a butt-load of money for playing a role that any nut-job off the street could have pulled off. And my apologies, but Will Smith's son was annoying as heck (I will hold out that he was just cast into a roll that wasn't meant for him - or, Dad just needs to help develope his acting skills). The only things that at least tried to save this bland movie were Kathy Bates, John Cleese, and even Jennifer Connley. And the couple of special effects shots there were made you wonder if they really made it in 1996 and decided after twelve years to just release the darn thing. Still, when the movie was over, I turned to my wife and all I could say was, "That felt like I just ate a sugarless cookie without frosting."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    KEANU REEVES IS BACK

    AGIAN KEANU REEVES IS BACK WITH ONE THE BEST SCI-FI THE WAY HE CAME TO EARTH WAS A+ THE ACTION IS UNTHER STORY WITH BODY GARD WITH THE POWER THAT HI HAS THE END IS UNTHER STORY ALSO
    ANY ONE WANT TO SEE SCI-FI ACT FOR KEANU REEVES SEE THIS MOVIE
    I THINK THE PRESIDENT TAKE ACTUION BY HIME SELF IT'S A LIFE OF ALL HUMEN
    AND NEED STRONG ARMY,BUT STILL A+ MOVIE TO ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Bravo to Alfeetoe

    Sorry, but that review was not only accurate, but more entertaining then this movie. Thus movie gets 1 star, but that review gets 5 stars. LoL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hope the two extra discs hold something special

    This remake turned a classic movie in a trainwreck of a random plot with terrible scripting. I honestly hope those extra two discs include something magical to make it worth the purchase for anyone who makes the mistake of buying it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What's deadlier? The aliens or the boredom?

    I am one of Keanu's biggest fans, and I walked in to this film wanting badly to like it, critics be damned!

    By the time the film finished, I realized that Klaatu's red laser beam was a highly concentrated form of boredom so powerful it would slay the characters in the film and my fellow audience members.

    If you really want to see this film, get the $1 rental at Redbox instead, or just buy the (way, way, waaaay) better original!

    On a personal note ... are there no other iconic cities on this planet of ours other than New York? The idea of destroying New York in another "disaster" movie is about as creative as another New York-set LAW AND ORDER series!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2