Customer Reviews for

The Day the Earth Stood Still

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Please watch this one and not the awful Keanu remake (which ruin

    Please watch this one and not the awful Keanu remake (which ruined the whole idea). Maybe the Biblical Carpenter will be pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT PLOT MICHEAL RENNIE GREAT ACTING

    ONE OF THE BEST SCI FI MOVIES MADE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is one of the best SciFi movies ever made. The idea is excellent, acting was great, special effects were good at that time. It was just a really good movie and I do recommend it. The remake probably sucked major butt, with Keanu Reeves' terrible acting. Watch the old one on cable and save a few bucks, it'll be worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic that will never lose it's luster

    One of the greatest sci fi movies ever made. A tremendous movie for it's day. The new one starring Keanu Reeves, regardless of how good it is, will never measure up to the original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    As a Sci Fi buff, this is a classic!!! The message Klatu delivered was poignant, and can easily compared to what is transpiring with current world affairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No, this is not a movie about aliens!

    Suprisingly, and refreshingly this film avoids all the UFO cliches in exchange for something more important. America's massive hysteria over UFO's is deflated and asked to be replaced with a much more reasonable scenario. The outcome is a movie that is compelling and engrossing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SUCH A CLASSIC

    My father forced me to watch this film when I was younger, and now even in my 20's I still thank him for it. Even when I was a child the graphics were outdated but it forces you to pay attention to the story. If possible have your children watch this film because to this day it still gives me a warm feeling to say to my father with a wink, "Gort, klaatu barrada nikto"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A sci-fi gem!!!

    Awsome, superior to a lot of other sci-fi films. Not as good as Forbidden Planet, but sooooooooo close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    50's Inconsistencies Aside

    I always found it strange that the military left just two boneheaded men to guard the ship and Gort. Then, when they get knocked out by Gort, guess what? STILL, only two are left to guard the most incredible event in human history. Alas, such was the state of 50's Scif-fi. Does this make it a bad movie? Not really. It gave new sensibilities to the way we looked at fantastic fiction and Sci-Fi. Still, the end result remains one of fascism, albeit for alturistic reasons. This theme has been sung many tunes over the years, but this film remains a cornerstone in forming a more enlightened, yet controversial esthetic. It truly is a classic. Klaatu Barada Nikto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A TRUE Classic!

    Performance by all actors was terrific! Clearly a Cold War film. I'm in my fifties and, unfortunately, the next youngest generation has NO idea what I mean by, 'Klatu, barrada, nicto!' I find that amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is a fake--read the story

    This movie was the prototypical 50's film. BUT the ending was ''unsuitable'' for a U.S. audience of the time. The studio then changed the ending to the OPPOSITE of the author's story. Why it continues to be a ''classic'' is a mystery. Maybe in the ''extra material'' they explain, but that doesn't save it. I read the story when it first came out (a long time ago), and when I saw the movie I was shocked to see what they had done. Love it at your own risk, because the author wrote a powerful story that was butchered for ''commercial'' reasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best sci fi ever

    This has to be one of the best sci-fi movies ever. I've always loved this movie. I've got it on VHS, and I've watched it so many times, I ''swear'' it's going to wear out....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Thinking Person's Sci Fi

    A true original in Sci Fi: good acting for the time, great story with intellect, and an alien that is a mix of ''Father Knows Best'' with ''It's a Wonderful Life''. While it was filmed in the formative years of Sci Fi with its limitations, it truly is one of my favorite movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Sci Fi film

    This is the best Sci Fi film ever made...other films may have more modern special effects...but this film is solid with a great cast and just the right amount of effects. Worth the watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE Classic Scf-Fi Movie

    I first saw this movie back in the 60's and have watched it repeatedly since then and have yet to tire of it. It is truly a movie to see over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Day Sci-Fi began

    First of the really good ones, with good acting and a serious moral to the story. A true Must Have for all collectors of ''The Essentials''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2