Customer Reviews for

The Dresden Files - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

SciFi should have picked up this series

I have not read Jim Butcher's books, but I do know an engaging and entertaining TV series when I see one. Dresden Files was just such a series that showed a lot of promise until prematurely terminated in mid-season. The series relies on acting instead of CG-graphics (...
I have not read Jim Butcher's books, but I do know an engaging and entertaining TV series when I see one. Dresden Files was just such a series that showed a lot of promise until prematurely terminated in mid-season. The series relies on acting instead of CG-graphics (although there are some reasonably good special effects). The acting is good and the actors and their characters connect with the viewer early in this half season run. I've watched the entire series three times (not counting the first airing on the SciFi Channel). I scratch my head every time wondering why this wasn't extended at least for a full season - too much actual acting? not "cartoony" enough? Oh, well . . . at least I've got it on DVD, eh?

posted by 145856 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If You're Into the Books, You'll be Disappointed

As a fan of Jim Butcher, I had hoped for the same flavor. It didn't really happen. The story lines are okay, but not gripping. The characters are just off enough from the books to jangle your nerves. And there's not a lot of kaboom magic. All in all, if you're tr...
As a fan of Jim Butcher, I had hoped for the same flavor. It didn't really happen. The story lines are okay, but not gripping. The characters are just off enough from the books to jangle your nerves. And there's not a lot of kaboom magic. All in all, if you're trying Dresden Files for the first time, you may want to choose between the books and the show. You probably won't like both.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SciFi should have picked up this series

    I have not read Jim Butcher's books, but I do know an engaging and entertaining TV series when I see one. Dresden Files was just such a series that showed a lot of promise until prematurely terminated in mid-season. The series relies on acting instead of CG-graphics (although there are some reasonably good special effects). The acting is good and the actors and their characters connect with the viewer early in this half season run. I've watched the entire series three times (not counting the first airing on the SciFi Channel). I scratch my head every time wondering why this wasn't extended at least for a full season - too much actual acting? not "cartoony" enough? Oh, well . . . at least I've got it on DVD, eh?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointing

    To say that the show is a let down on the cinematic promise of the books may be a bit of an understatment, as the show seems intent with stripping itself of everything that seemed to seperate the dresden files characters and setting apart. The show opts instead to take what was a fun and unique supernatural spin on the noir mysteries of phillip marlow, and mold it into an Angel/buffy "me too". Now dont let my review stop you from taking a look at this dvd, it's clear that the cast is trying to do the best with what they've got, with most of the real problems coming from a studio/producer directive. I do really hope that this show is not the last time the dresden stories are put to film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If You're Into the Books, You'll be Disappointed

    As a fan of Jim Butcher, I had hoped for the same flavor. It didn't really happen. The story lines are okay, but not gripping. The characters are just off enough from the books to jangle your nerves. And there's not a lot of kaboom magic. All in all, if you're trying Dresden Files for the first time, you may want to choose between the books and the show. You probably won't like both.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I saw the series online and am now buying the dvds.  I liked the

    I saw the series online and am now buying the dvds.  I liked the series so much I'm reading the books.  I think you can like both.  If you haven't seen either I would watch the dvds first. 
    Fans of the books need to realize that tv/film is a different medium, so there will be differences from the book just as there are difference between a painting (brush strokes) and a picture (color variation and no brush strokes.)  Bob in the books is a talking skull - on tv a talking head is to be avoided, a skull that cannot show expression would be worse, not to mention the budget hit that doing a CGI skull would cost.  The Blue Bug is cute in the book, but seeing a tall guy wrestle his way in and out on tv would slow the pace and in reality the Blue Bug looks pretty clownish.  Not sure about why he isn't wearing a duster, cowboy boots and shirt other than you just don't see those in Chicago.  Love this series, wish CW would pick it up with the rest of its supernatural lineup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    So...why did this show get canceled?

    The Dresden Files is a pretty good show about a guy that's a wizard and helps solve cases that have to do with the supernatural while a cop doesn't quite believe him but finds herself in the middle of these strange cases. A premise like that has been done before but this is one of those exceptions. I never read the books but have heard of them a little. Having watched the show, I just might give the books a read. Bob was hilarious. The acting's good not that great but not bad either. Also does the actor that plays Dresden remind anyone a little bit of Billy Bob Thornton? Anyway, check this series out. Wish it got at least another season or something. Hate it when that happens to good shows that have something going and before you know it, they're canceled. Not cool, not cool at all. Like the theme song and some of the special effects were alright. If you like supernatural dramas then you'll like Supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great series

    Too bad they didn't continue the series ... I would have purchased Season 2, and beyond! I have all of the books, in fact re-purchased (~8 paperbacks) in hardcover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best New TV Shows Sci-Fi Ever Had

    I discovered this series completely by accident, and fell in love with it instantly. Yes, I know there are more plot holes in the episodes than swiss cheese, but the awesomely fantastic acting more than makes up for it. b Paul Blackthorne is a fantastic Harry, a bit more down to earth than his book counterpart, but he's also a little bit more innocent than the Harry Dresden in the book series. That in turn balances out the more hard-boiled Detective Murphy of the tv show. Murphy from the book series is definitely more laid back than her tv double, but TV!Murphy has taken some harder knocks from the normal world than Book!Murphy. TV!Murphy is also a lot less open minded about magic than her book twin, but when you take the TV series as a whole, the whole no nonsense "aka no magic" thing really fits in with her character. My favourite character by far is Bob. In the show, Bob "Hrothbert the Ghost" is very different from the air spirit of the books, but I wouldn't trade Terry for the world. He's the perfect combination of serious and snark and the banter between him and Harry will leave you breathless with laughter. Morgan, Mai and the rest of the High "aka White" Council are pretty much themselves, with a few minor changes, but as a whole, they balance well with TV!Harry and give more meaning to Harry's "The good guy's bad guy" thing. I personally enjoyed the TV Series more than the books, but if you can accept the idea that the Books and the Show are two entirely different things, you'll be able to enjoy them both, rather than liking one and hating the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter, as a grown up ... almost.

    This terrific show premiered on SciFi Channel this winter, inspired by the popular book series about a wizard who helps the Chicago police solve crimes. Imagine Harry Potter as an adult, but not really all that grown up. Harry Dresden lives in a Boho-cool storefront loft in Chicago, typically under threat of romantic havoc and often broke, despite the detective work – when the going gets weird, they call in the pro. Much the reluctant hero, Harry is constantly drawn into all stripes of supernatural mayhem: sexy vampires, restless ghosts, criminals using black magic, and villains who won’t stay dead. And like young Mr. Potter, Harry Dresden has his own family demons, plus an uneasy relationship with an underground hierarchy of spectral characters, who help or interfere, at will and with imperial caprice. Paul Blackthorne is terrific so is Terrence Mann as his ghostly sidekick Bob. Add an outstanding support cast of characters and some intriguing story arcs for some real fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Urban fantasy meets film noir in this fantastic and woefully under-promoted supernatural detective series from SciFi Channel. The Chandleresque hero, wizard detective Harry Dresden "Paul Blackthorne", works as a consultant with a not-so-favored branch of the Chicago police on crimes with methods, perps or victims that don't fit into the non-magical view of reality. You'll find vivid, memorable characters, superb writing, wonderful dialogue, great acting, solid and complex plots. Watching the show may also leave you panting for more, and get you addicted to the book series by Jim Butcher, upon which this is based. "Yes, there are differences between the books and the TV show, but the differences do not detract from the quality in either case. Both series are magnificent." An undiscovered gem of a show. You'll be delighted you found it. I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heart and meaning, style and grace

    The Dresden Files have style and grace and morality of the caliber of M. Night Shyamalan or Stephen King. There's always something else to notice- some nuance, or head shift, or gesture that shifts the frame of reference and leads you to consider events from a different perspective. It is a joy to watch again and again to discover the different aspects of the story line. The acting is amazing. Paul Blackthorne is Harry Dresden and he, Terrence Mann, and Valerie Cruz make up a triumvirate the likes of which has not graced the airways since a spaceship known as Enterprise set out to boldly go where no man had gone before. Along with Conrad Coates and Raoul Bhaneja, these actors are unequivocally talented in transforming Jim Butcher's complex characters from the page to life. The Dresden Files has heart and meaning– Harry is one man fighting against incredible odds and standing in the face of death, willing to go down fighting to defend the people he sets out to protect. He is also fighting his personal demons, and not letting them make his choices for him. He’s tired and scared and hurt, but he still gets up every morning and starts again. In a world of gray and black, he is a beacon of hope and light. He is someone I wouldn’t mind having as a friend, scars and all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Fun and well worth the viewing

    For those who, like me, are huge fans of the Jim Butcher books upon which this show is based, I have a word of advice: lighten up. YES, there are differences between the books and the tv series, the greatest of which is the representation of Bob. Since a discorporeal spirit really doesn't work in a visual medium, it was pretty necessary for us to actually SEE him, and see Harry interact with him. I do love the idea of his wand being a drum stick, and his staff a hockey stick -- again, it's a fabulous visual. As someone above said, both series are highly entertaining, both deserve your attention, and there is a high degree of creativity all the way around. Re the tv offering -- atmospheric sets, good storylines, terrific acting "ok, I can confess here, I have a huge crush on Terrence Mann's Bob, with his natty wardrobe, Tim Curryesque manner, and old world gallantry toward the ladies", and great sense of humor. And I'm sure there are times the Chicago PD had someone like Harry on retainer! Check these out, check out the books, and enter a world both very like and totally unlike the one around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Magical Little Series

    Quite possibly the best supernatural series the Sci-Fi Channel has ever put out since Farscape. This series has something for everyone from Wizards for moonlight as detectives providing a great storyline to things that go bump in the night. Everyone should check it out at least once. The series may start off a little slow, but you will soon find yourself hooked. And if tv series aren't your thing, check out the books by Jim Butcher they are just as intriging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2