Customer Reviews for

The Fall

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpectedly amazing

    Let's face it, the Cell, the previous film by one-named director Tarsem, was a travesty. But after seeing the Fall, one could argue that it was the studio influence that ruined the J-lo centric escapade. The Fall, by comparison, is the Salvador Dali to the Cell's Bob Ross. That is to say, the Fall is amazing. Completely, undeniably amazing. If I were to completly ignore the fact that all the locations in the film were ACTUAL locations, it would STILL be amazing. Lee Pace, of Wonderfalls and Pushing Daisies fame, is great as the down and out Roy. But the real star is little miss Cantinca Untaru. She is, bar none, the cutest, most convincing, and hauntingly graceful child actor I have even seen. Yeah, you heard me: Dakota Fanning and Abigail Breslin are no talent hacks in comparison. The sets, the costumes, the choreography, the art direction...it's all stunning. But the best part is that the story is not convoluted or hefty, though some of the plot points are lost in Alexandria's imaginative translation. The real-world/fantasy parallels are pulled straight from the Wizard of Oz, but in an almost completely finale-centric way. I could go on and on, but I will leave you with this: buy this movie and treasure it forever, because it is very much the timeless fairy tale of old, but with a vibrant and imaginative facelift.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So freakin' great!!

    Very very impressive. The acting(especially from the two main characters) is incredible, the visuals are amazing(very limited CG, all sets are actual places which will astonish you to no end), the comedy is weaved in seemlesssly, but above all else the story is crazy and beautiful. I mean that in the best way. Think a darker(storywise) version of The Princess Bride set to bursting colors, and meshed with 1920's reality. Awesome.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    absolutely amazing

    This movie is unlike any I have ever seen. The closest comparisons I have are Pan's Labyrinth and Big Fish... combined. The artistic and fantasy feel of Pan's Labyrinth, but the more lighthearted [Pan's is pretty dark!] and artistic nature of Big Fish. Really an incredible movie, I was blown away by it's beautiful artistic nature and a really great story. This movie took 4 years to shoot! I think it was definitely worth the time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Astonishing Piece of Filmmaking I Have Ever Seen

    This film has got to be one of, if not the most amazing and visually stunning pieces in the modern cinema that I have ever seen. Not only is the story heart-felt, exciting and engaging, but the locations where the film was shot were absolutely stunning and proves that you do not need fancy CGI to make a good film. The way in which the story is told by switching back and forth from the fantasy and the reality so effortlessly and humorously that it makes the film that much better. With the acting talents of Lee Pace and Catinca Untaru at the helm of the story, Tarsem delivers an outstanding film.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Stunning Treat for the Eyes and the Imagination

    Lee Pace, the man we have all come to know and love as 'Pushing Daisies' Ned the Piemaker, outdoes himself in a role completely different from his usual. Pace proves himself one of the finest and most underrated new actors of our day. Catinca is a gem, and delivers one of the finest child performances in recent memory, but most of all applause goes to the cinematography. With little to no reliance on CGI, Tarsem Singh takes the viewer to some of the most breathtaking spots on the planet, places you only thought existed in novels. A visual masterpiece for those of us who may have grown up physically, but still imagine and dream like children.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece.

    What a stunning movie! Everything about this film is beautiful, from the costumes, to the locations and even Lee Pace! The breakout star here is darling little Catinca. Her interactions with Lee are amazing! Her abilities are to be envied by all child actors. Tarsem has created a masterpiece here, a film filled with passion, adventure and above all, human connection. I absolutely loved this film.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie has spoiled me for every movie I've watched since.

    The plot of this movie is rather simplistic. No psychological twist that punches your brain, no heart pounding fractures to your ribcage suspense. It doesn't need that. The delivery of the movie will gratify your brain with copious gifts of eye candy; enough to fill all the sweet pockets of your brain, even the ones you didn't know you had. A previous review mentions Dali, which is spot on. Imagine Dali's "Narcissus" color canvas on steroids, oozing out of your screen to engulf you in a fantasy world seen through the eyes of a little girl. Contrasted perfectly color-wise is the banal (though beautiful of its own accord) scenes of the rehab center where the two main characters stay.

    The relationship that transpires between Lee Pace's Roy and Catinca Untaru's Alexandria is a paragon of beauty and compulsion. During a scene where Roy and Alexandria exchange some youthful banter, Roy asks, "Are you trying to save my soul?" This becomes the quintessence of their relationship over the movie, framing Alexandria as the heroine. She achieves this status through her decorous acts of incorrupt mannerisms, yet her status remains unbeknownst to her. The man that Roy encompasses grasps one who is on an edge loitering between a human who is confident and broken; both consumed by his tragedy. The story that results from the crossroads of Roy and Alexandria is that of a weathered man seen through an innocent eye.

    I have told many of my friends to watch this movie, lent out my copy, to which all returned with agreeable commentary. I try to tell people not to watch the previews as I feel it tarnishes some of the stun of the visual aspects. Regardless, I viewed the previews multiple times before I watched it and was still bewildered. I LOVE this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Complicated Way to Tell a Simple Story

    One person affecting another in a relationship of opposites is the basic premise of the "The Fall." The visuals are stunning, but don't overwhelm the story because they are used to depict the story going on in the mind of the storyteller and little girl. The joy of the story's visuals is that they represent a disconnect between what the storyteller is saying and what the girl understands. We also see the real people and images that populate the fictional landscape of the girl's mind. As the story evolves, the fictional story becomes more and more disrupted by what is going on in the real world and the emotions of the two main characters. Even though this movie has an R rating, under parental supervision, this can be seen by children as young as 10 or 12 depending on their maturity level. Charles Darwin as a member of the fictional hero's band is one of the most original ideas.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Visual Fantasy

    I can't recommend this movie to enough people. I've watched with all of my family and I get something different from it each time. This movie definatley falls under the heading of "artsy" and if you're not used to being intuitive with where a movie is going, it may be hard to follow.

    The actress that portrays Alexandra is extremely genuine (so much so that you have to wonder if she even knows she's being filmed for parts of the dialog with Lee Pace!) and Lee does a great job of interacting with her in a sweet but also scary way.

    As their relationship develops, the sinister plot lines become clear but you'll find yourself dying to know how the story ends - both the real-life story and the one he's making up for her.

    Filmed over 4 years and in several differnt countries, the artistic effect of the movie is extravagant and the iconic images are sprinkled throughout. It can often be difficult to determine what time period the story takes place in but not knowing for sure adds to the mystery.

    Very enjoyable!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Seeds of Scheherazade

    THE FALL is one of the more stunningly beautiful cinematic works to be created in recent years. Vibrant young director Tarsem Singh, born in India and trained at the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, CA, produced, directed and wrote (with Dan Gilroy, Nico Soultanakis, and Valery Petrov) this magical tale that blends fantasy, illusion, dreams, and altered reality with one of the more touching stories imaginable. The film takes many risks and for this viewer they all work. With only one other film ('The Cell') in his bag, this splendid work signals the arrival of a new Dali/Fellini/Bunuel figure in cinema.

    The setting is a hospital in Los Angeles sometime in the 1920s where a little immigrant girl Alexandria (the amazing Romanian child actress Catinca Untaru) is recovering from a broken arm. She waders the hospital looking for something to help her while away the hours and comes upon a kind patient Roy Walker (Lee Pace) who has been through numerous operations and is addicted to morphine. The two form a friendship through Roy's willingness to weave stories for Alexandria (much in the same vein as Scheherazade) and in Roy's stories the various patients and personnel of the hospital take on fantasy roles: there are five men (including Roy as the Blue Bandit) who are attempting to kill Governor Odious (Daniel Caltagirone) including Darwin (Leo Bill), the Mystic (Julian Bleach), Otta Benga (Marcus Wesley) and other fascinating characters. How the stories intertwine with Roy and Alexandria as friends and as victim of morphine abuse and supplier of the drug makes for a complex, multifaceted adventure that takes place in beautiful, strange locales throughout the world. How the relationship between Roy and Alexandria develops amidst all the surreal tales is the focus of the film.

    The cinematography (Colin Wilkinson), costumes (Eiko Ishioka) and musical score (Krishna Levy) enhance the beauty of the film, as does the transition into the creation of silent movies that opens and closes the film. There is more in this little film than one viewing could ever completely reveal. Visit it once and become as addicted to the magic as was the king to Scheherazade's endless tales. Grady Harp

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely beautiful

    One of my favorites - it has a gorgeous visual style and great performances. Watch this if you love a good story and movies that are thoughtful and well-made!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Ubeleivable Film

    My god, I have never seen a more visually or emotionally stunning movie in my entire life. The Fall changed the way I look at movies, and real life as well! It's the best thing to come out of Cinema since Caseblanca, and in my mind, it overwhelms even that.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2