Customer Reviews for

The Final Countdown

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So Glad to Find

    This is a hard movie to find. Hubby loved his surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Just the possibility

    This is a great movie if you are open to the possibility that the movie suggests. What would the world be like now if only . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning Visual Flight Scenes

    Effects way before their time; awesome flight scenes between F-16's/F-15's and Japanese Zeros; great plot; movie makes you think "what if?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Philadelphia experiment

    The title has always been The final countdown, the Philadelphia experiment is a totally different movie, obviously Ed was seriously mistaken. Both movies are great, the only complaint i have is in the extra features where the director seems to want to lay blame on actors where there was no need to air out dirty laundry. It did cast a shadow over the movie. i suggest not watching the extra features and just enjoy the movie for what it is, A great movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS NOT THE ORIGINAL TITLE

    This movie was released as, The Philadelphia Experiment. Yes, that's right. The title was changed during the early years of the Bush administration. Why? Could it be that its portrayal of the US government using members of the Armed Forces as guinea pigs is too realistic?Also, it is no longer re-run on TV. I have also noticed that since Bush's Machiavellian rise to power, certain movies that have run for years on the AMC channel unedited, have now been edited/censored, i.e. - Papillon, et al. What is going on? The movie industry is supposed to be a bastion of free thought. Something really stinks here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic 'Must See' Movie

    I have always loved this movie. From the movie screen to TV and now VHS. I have been searching for this movie. This movie is never shown on regular TV and I don't have cable. It really makes you think of how things could have been so different, if only ????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The FINALally on DVD

    I have been on the lookout for this one on DVD ever since I saw it in the movies. A superb story with excellent sound and cinematography. The flight seens were out of this world. A very interesting story through time. Douglas and Sheen were very thoughtful provacative characters. The final twist ending was so awesome. You'll actually think you took the trip with them. The question is did they actually go back in time because that is the way it was suppose to happen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blue Underground Thank You!

    BU's High Definition transfer from original is fantastic. Captures the movie just like viewing in the theater. Sound Great! Loved the second bonus disk with Jolly Rogers Navy pilots who told interesting tales of their work on the movie. Great personal glimpses of the reality of filming this movie. The Final Countdown is a classic tale for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FINALLY!!!!!!!!!

    If only...I had a hundred dollars for every time I searched for this movie. See! Dreams do come true! It's well worth it just for the scene where the F-14s take on the Zeros and...wait, that would be telling :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome!!!!!!!

    A real almost true feeling sci-fi movie. Kinda makes you wish it could turn back time.Imagine if it happened?? The U.S.S. Arizona might be docked next to the U.S.S. Missouri in Honolulu.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally this classic of Carrier Aviation is on DVD!

    In my personal opinion, not only is this a superb performance from both Kirk Douglas and Martin Sheen, but has carrier aviation footage of a caliber seen only in movies like Top Gun and Flight of the Intruder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hallelujah.. Just saw this was on DVD... I couldnt wait for this movie to come out

    I saw this movie when it was first out in 1980... What an awesome movie... I loved the plot and the actors... the twists are great... If you like adventure/war movies... you can't help but love this one. I give it two thumbs up... five stars... and a big RIGHT ON!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    there is a god....

    i waited a long time for the release of this movie on DVD. saw this movie when i was a young boy and fell in love with it. awsome all star cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finial Count Down

    After seeing this movie on TV several years ago I have been trying to locate it to buy for my husband and I could not. This movie was very good movie about the history to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exciting 'What If' Movie

    Even with a personal connection with the USS Nimitz, this movie kept me engrossed until the surprise ending. Amazing photography! Intriging! Makes your imagination kick into full throttle with 'what ifs'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do We, Or Do We Not?

    This is a very powerful movie for it's time. A sci-fi? Maybe. A Drama? Yes. A fantastic, unusal look at WHAT IF factor? Most assuredly. Great perfomances from all the characters, including the dog. LOL A must see, must addition to anyones collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    I saw the movie in the eighties and thought is was great. Taped it from TV. Someone finally thought of releasing it on DVD. My pray has been answered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the finest science fiction/time travel movies ever made

    I first saw this movie when it was released in 1979. I was 9 years old and I was captivated, This movie was great fun. I remember everyone in the theater cheering as two f-14 tomcats duked it out in a dogfight over the Pacific Ocean with WWII Mitsubishi Zeros. Perhaps the greatest thing about the film however are the very human and believable characters. You won't miss the CGI a bit as the well told and expertly photographed story draws you in. The final plot twists will leave your head spinning & you'll have to watch the movie again just to see how they set the whole story line (and you) up for the climax. Fortunately you won't have to wait for a tape to rewind on the DVD format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2