BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Flight of Dragons

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    #2...or #1 movie of childhood

    If you love anything with magic, adventure, and mythical beasts, then you will love this! Warner NEEDS to put this out on DVD and VHS SOOOOOO bad! (don't remember age when first saw it.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Christmas and birthday all rolled in to one

    My mum taped this off the TV the year I was born. I've had that video ever since and even watching it now makes me (almost) cry with joy as it's amazing! I would love to find the original animation (the one I have recorded, as quality is almost gone). This film rocks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    A hard find....

    ...but something that everyone should have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2003

    A Masterpiece in Fantasy

    How rare to find an animated movie that brings together all the classic elements of fantasy and adventure into one brilliant film. It's those themes of heroism, of friendship, of overcoming seemingly insurmountable obstacles, magic, and love - that so endear it to the many fans worldwide. Perhaps the big 'W' (being Warner) is unsure of it's popularity, or thinks it cannot stand the test of time to be released on DVD. Not the case at all - although the animation sequences aren't so ''Advanced'' by today's standards, Every character is given life by excellent expression characterisation and very good voice acting...it's especially a bonus to hear James Earl Jones as the evil wizard. Well, fancy graphics and surround sound, a classic animated movie doth not make. Please smell the roses Warner. Wake up and release Flight of Dragons on DVD - like it well deserves to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    Flight Of Dragons

    WOW What a movie. AWSESOME Need this to be released on DVD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    Family traditions

    A classic fantasy tale told through animation. Flight of Dragons is the exact sort of film that parents sit down and watch with their chlidren, and will give any halfway repectable dragon fanatic some cold chills. Flight of Dragons is a brilliant blend of Peter Dickinsons theories from Flight of Dragons as well as incorporating Gordon Dickinsons novel from The dragon and George. This animated tale takes place in a time when man is turning from fantasy to science and logic, but three brothers of magic decide to consolidate whats left of there powers and create a last realm of magic with which they can live out there lives in the era of science, however their forth brother will not corporate as he has his own plan. In a bid to stop him the three brothers inspire a quest to claim his crown. If you like Dragons and evil wizards stop reading this and get buying you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    I Love this Film.

    I love this film and enjoy watching it with my kids. The message of humanity always needing magic even if it won't admit it is quite telling. The only negative part is the anti-bovine aspect. Of course a world of magic and goodness would have room for cows as well. Besides that, its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    I Like ''Flight of Dragons''

    One of the titles I would like to see on DVD is ''Flight of Dragons''!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Its Soooo Gooood

    I remember watching this as a kid recorded off tv on betamax, i recently saw it again on cartoon network and although i understood what the science part was all about this time round, the film had lost nothing since i last saw it. A must for anyone who loves cartoons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Please, we all need it on DVD. Do you listen, Warner?

    I´ve looking for this movie for 15 years, and I think Warner should comercialize it on DVD, ´cause a lot of people would thank to get it bilingual (I´m spaniard) and with digital quality. I think Warner could earn a lot of money if they listen carefully what people need. Ah, excuse my english, it´s not very good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Sad news...

    Like other people here, i'm looking for the movie DVD.. but as probably you all knows it is not available yet (probably never). I did some searches on Warner Home Video website and look for an VHS copy... even in VHS format, it doesn't return any hits. I first saw this movie i was 9 in 1984 when the movie came out. I'm 27 now and i'm still thinking that this movie has sort of magic in the story and characters.. I'm still listening the opening song / video of this movie but watching the entire movie is just a sweet moment that awakes the child in you. Many animations movies are better in quality but the music and the beauty of the story makes this movie... an immortal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Fantasy storytelling at it's best.

    If you like Dragons and fantasy adventure this movie will knock your socks off! I WANT DVD!!!!! I would kill to have this in widescreen format and I know DVD is the only way I'll ever get it. For those of you who don't know when they format a movie to fit your T.V you lose a third of the movie cause the way they make it fit your screen is they chop off the sides of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    DVD or New VHS needed

    A true family favourite. The use of language and imagery are wonderful. My children are 16 & 18 and after 12+ years have almost worn out the tape. A 2nd hand UK standard costs £25 we need a DVD or 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Where is the DVD?!?!?!

    The hero just happens to have the same name as my son, who has taken to the movie and is now the class Science Whiz. I would like to pass this on to my (someday) grandchildren - where's the DVD?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    When's it coming out on DVD?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    I always loved The Flight of Dragons, but I would love it even more if was on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    I agree with the others WHERES THE DVD????

    Fantastic film, One of the classics I put up there with Rikki, Last Unicorn an some of the Other Rankin Bass ventures. Kids programming is either too rough for todays kids or too docile. THis is right in the middle and teaches great lessons, My favorite movie for forevermore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    DVD Please

    This movie was my favorite growing up. I've long since grown up, but my love for the movie has never lessened. My husband won't buy a VCR just so I can watch this one movie, so I need it to come out on DVD if I ever want to see it again. I wish I could share this movie with my own children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    DVD?

    I loved this film as a kid and it took me ages to find it again after not remembering the title. But I found it on sky once and its still great. 10/10! But when is it coming on DVD?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    DVD

    I loved this movie as a kid and I still do but when is it going to come on DVD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2002

    Abosolutly fabulous

    This has got to be one of the best animated tales I have ever seen. I have loved this story even as a child it inspired my imagination, and when I saw this version I was worried that it would not stand up to my expections. But it did 10/10 to all involved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2